We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded Grandeur - ok for price and location but let down by food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Faded Grandeur - ok for price and location but let down by food”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We needed a quick one night stop near Whitby due to family emergency and found this the evening before we travelled. The photos made it look lovey and the location was ideal being a central location. I booked at last minute deal through the hotel website for £80 for the family of four for DBB. This was comparable for us against the two nearby 'branded' chains, where I could get a cheaper room but would have cost almost double to feed us for two meals. We booked a Premier Family room - which after reading these reviews was a wise option - allows you access to a smaller and less hectic dinning room rather than the larger one. We also got a free hour at the bar - take your glass back to get another one - you were given a set time for this.

I then read the revriews on here and was aprehensive about what I had booked us into - a family with a 9 and 4 year old. We arrived, parked with ease, obtained a parking pass from the hotel - £6 and went to our room - 114 on the first floor - sea view family room.

The hotel seems to be well used by the coach companies and as such the average age of the clientele is old. There were several other families like ourselves, but we did stand out a bit as not being the norm!

The room was massive - high ceilings and two large windows that opened onto a balcony. Shame about the bird netting but due to the number of seagulls - was necessary. No complaints about the room - plenty of space - enormous bed - must have been a super king size with four posts, and room for the children. The bathroom was dated but was clean. The towels were poor - small and thin, but they were clean. The room was clean and fresh with accent cushions - looked like a fairly new carpet and furniture.

Facilities in the hotel were ok - several bars with plenty of seating, not too expensive. Access to a games room and a quiet room (if without kids!) and access onto a verandah where people smoked. Great views across the bay. Plenty of areas where you could sit and have a drink - on the first floor there were five or six tables with seating / couches.

Rooms were warm and quiet at night - was a bit worried as we were close to the Cabaret Ballroom where entertainment was, but did not hear a peep. (Cant say that about the seagulls though)

I have deliberately left the food to last. We were in the Premier Restaurant which I cannot fault for cleanliness, but the staff seemed overworked and did not even tell us what to do - its a self service restauraunt - no drinks were offered apart from tea and coffee and jugs of water. We had a three course carvery meal - there was a random selection of 'starters' - all a bit 70's syle - prawns, salmon, bits of salad and halved hard boiled eggs. The 'mains' were turkey, some fish or a beef casserole. They did produce burger and chips for my youngest when asked - I suspect it came from the main restaurant downstairs. Dessert was a variety of gateaux or a hot pud or cheese and crackers. The quality of the food was poor - reminded me of school dinners nearly 25 to 30 years ago. It was edible and was ok for the price and you could have seconds (well we werent stopped) but I wouldnt have paid extra for it. Breakfast was similar quality - cereals, hot eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, etc, toast and fruit juices - again all a bit like the cheaper ranges from the caterers - no fresh fruit bowl - all tinned, etc. Suspect it is all heat up and serve style stuff - nothing appeared to be fresly cooked.

When we left we saw the boxes of food being brought in by Brakes and 3663 - two great lorries full of frozen food and non-frozen food.

In summary - great location, price suited us - you definately get what you pay for - for one night it was acceptable, but we heard of people who were there for 3 to 4 nights. Easy access to the town centre and the beach, plently of areas to take an early evening stroll.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for Premier and ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Booked 7 nights half-board for the second time. Most helpful and efficient reception staff. Generously sized economy basement room had no window (as advertised) and this, of course, was reflected in the bargain price. Air-conditioning effective and quiet in operation. Hydro-massage bath and very powerful shower installed in fully modernised bathroom. No shortage of hot water! Housekeeping excellent, towels changed each day. Restaurant provided plenty of choices. The incredible quantities consumed by many guests (including OAP's) would indicate that the very busy chef & kitchen staff must have been doing a good job.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFugitive276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My friend and I have just returned from a weekend at the Grand. After reading the reviews it is clear that everyone seems to have a different experience. So this is ours. Firstly this is a beautiful building and one can imagine that it was indeed grand in its day. now it is a bit 'tired'. We had single rooms on the 5th floor which could be a bit inconvenient as there are only 2 small lifts serving the whole hotel so if you can't tackle the stairs, be prepared to queue for the lift.

Our rooms were small but prefectly adequate and clean. My bathroom was large, clean, had been refurbished and had a spa bath. There was an unpleasant smell for the first day but this disappeared. My only complaint about the room was that it was very warm, and as it was in a sheltered spot, there was no breeze coming in the open window to help cool it down. A fan in the room helped a bit.

The dining room was like a huge canteen and the meals were a bit school dinnerish. the quality was a bit hit and miss but there was plenty of choice and we always managed to find something that was ok.

One of the two lifts was out of order when we were checking out so we had to carry our luggage down the stairs from the 5th floor but I'm sure staff would have helped if we asked.
Any staff we spoke to were pleasant and helpful.

So this hotel is basic but fine if you're not looking for 4 star quality (or some would say 3). We spoke to some people who were not happy with their room and were moved to another which was more acceptable. So if you're unhappy, ask.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This hotel has fantastic potential but it is such a shame that none of the staff seemed happy in the jobs. Several members of the breakfast staff were rude, the food was terrible and not regularly checked and stocked. (even my 4 year old daughter refused to eat it) she couldnt even eat the cardboard toast and I couldnt even cut it up for her! The family room was very spacious but is in need of updating! The bathroom had no shower or even shower head! The windows rattled and therefore we had to buy a newspaper and pack them closed! There was no telephone in the room or hairdryer or iron which these days are basics. There are 3 lifts for 365 rooms and each lift generally fits 3 people in. We asked for a sea view room-not given. When we asked if we could pay for a late check out of 12pm it cost £15 and it seemed to be a huge problem!! The hotel also has hand gel dispensers everywhere which could be seen as worrying. Needless to say we wont be staying here again! Needs some major TLC and upgrading.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments
We offer affordable accommodation in an iconic Victorian building with a great location and self service buffet food, plus the added bonus of nightyl entertainment. All our rooms do vary in shape and size, some with baths, some with showers, most with both. Our accommodation is basis and we do not have telephones in any of the bedrooms and our lift system is limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The majority of staff need training in customer service and relations . Yes this hotel is star rated 2 , however unfortunately the star rating also applies to the majority of staff . Quality of food very poor, vegetarian options had to ask, the same choice on both nights . Not impressed with this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pefko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Due to the volumes of guests we cater for we offer buffet style food which is not to everyones "cup of tea". We have recently employed a new Head chef whos main task is to ensure a balanced menu which is consistently hot and well presented.
There is no excuse for poor customer care and will use the guests comments in conjunction with further team training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I appreciate that we had a very cheap deal but that shouldnot compromise the quality. How on earth this hotel gets a three star rating beats me. The only reasonable thing about the hotel was the entertainment.. We had a room with no window in the basement with just basic furniture. The cleanliness of the restaurant was appalling and we refused to eat in the main restaurant and were given a free upgrade to the upstairs restaurant but unfortunately there was little difference there. In the downstairs restaurant we found cereals on the floor, dirty food trays and filthy tables with stained cutlery. It was quite clear that the restaurant staff on duty were overworked and under resourced, but there again what example do they have to look up to when the duty manager was stood outside smoking with his colleagues and admitted that he had no idea what state the restaurant was in. We have stayed in many hotels in the UK, Ireland and across Europe and never have we seen such filth and total apathy towards the customer. If cleanliness is next to godliness then the management at the Grand will surely not go to heaven.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yonner_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
Thank you for your comments.
We cater for 700plus guests on a daily basis and at certain times the restaurant can become hectic and queues may form. This is why we try and allocate times for large groups, but I do not agree that the restaurant is dirty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We've just spent two nights half board at The Grand in a premier family room with sea views cost £135 half board. The room was clean & tidy & a good size, we didn't feel like we were cramped in as is usual in some hotel family rooms. Staff were friendly & courteous. We ate in the premier restaurant which was lovely & the food was very good. Serve yourself breakfast of ceral, fruit & full english. A good choice of food for the evening meal including starter & dessert. Our kids aged 10 & 7 loved the hotel & so did we, it's got character & charm, unlike your bog standard 'every room the same' hotels. It was also very quiet once you were in your room which helped when it was time for the kids to sleep. A very pleasant stay & I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haztob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing