We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotel was booked for a family reunion,6 rooms in all. Five of the rooms were awful,the sixth was slightly better but only because it was bigger. Decor and furniture were poor, bathrooms very dated and food low cost and low quality. We have stayed at far superior hotels for less money. The public areas are tired and in need of a tasteful,co-ordinated update. Hotel exterior is impressive and there are lovely sea views from the terrace. I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear PamL730

At the Grand Hotel we offer keenly priced holidays in a landmark Victorian hotel. Our public areas have recently undergone a scheme of redevelopment, including the reinstatement of original features. I am sorry that this redevelopment is not to your taste.

In conclusion, we know that our guests’ expectations vary and I am sorry that we did not meet yours on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,715 - 5,721 of 6,748 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We had booked in to stay on Sun Oct 2.But we would just like to say how disappointed we were that we couldn't stay at your hotel the Grand.We were given room 2017 which had no window and the temperature in the room was around 35degrees.There was a fan but that only circulated the warm air around the room.Even with the doors open the corridors were just as hot.We returned to the reception to see if we could update or change.We were told all rooms are full and thats what you paid for at £40 what do you expect.Now being ashamatic and suffering from accute leuchamia i need plenty of oxygen in my blood.I tried to explain this to the receptionist in charge but he didn't want to know and said that i wouldn't get my money back.My reply to him was that i could not sleep in that room and gave him my key back and come home.I didn't expect my money back just a room i could sleep and breath in.Now our room had been booked for over a fortnight so they couldn't blame the sudden rush of bookings with the weather.We have often over the years been a regular visitor to this hotel but never again.
On returning home i checked on internet and they were still taking bookings for the said night so the receptionist was wrong they had more rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not below ground floor in the dungeons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dennis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear 348dennisc

I have taken the time to look into the specifics of your booking and can confirm that on this occasion, you chose to book a Saver Rate, this is a special promotional rate that (as described on the website) is applicable to our internal rooms only.

You can appreciate that in a busy hotel, we are unable to offer free of charge upgrades to guests if this means down-grading other guests.

I encourage you to book again, and if unwilling to sleep in an internal room refrain from booking a saver rate. In the event of rebooking, please do not hesitate to contact me and we can do our very best to make provisions for any additional health requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

stayed at the grand on the 1st and 2nd of october for my husbands birthday i requested a room with a seaview and most definitely not a room with no window, i also read all the previous reviews and found them very off putting. on our arrival we were pleased to find ourselves in a room with a sea view, small but nice and clean. i have to say we had a superb weekend the food was good we also had half board, the staff were friendly and helpfull, the hotel it self is very victorian and stunning. we would definitely stay again and would recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Susanp190,

Thank you for your kind words, it is always great to help our guests celebrate special occasions. We look forward to welcoming you again on the next birthday (if not before).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We arrived at the hotel at 4.pm on Saturday 1st October.Men were sat in the lounge in just swimming shorts drinkjing beer. I am disabled but ther is no disabled parking and all the bays around the hotel were full. In the hotel lobby people were returning from the beach covered in sand in swimsuits with just towels around them. We had booked a delux Twin room with sea views and Jaccuzi. Although the room was large made to look even more so with a lack of furniture.. Twin beds one beside table one tiny cheap wardrope and dressing table, one tiny round table and two chairs,a television that looked like one of the first invented. The windows only opened a few inches and there were nets to stop the birds on the out side. The window sills were covered in bird poo. When we returned that evening at just gone 8,30pm there was a 50's revival event with loud music going on something we were not advised on.booking Screaming children running everywere. We had a drink and went to bed. Yes you've guesed our room was over the ballroom. There was no way we could sleep and asked to be moved . We were told there were no rooms available. So why did they put us in such a low floor if we wernt in on the 50's package. We were informed by the manager it would stop at midnight when infact it went on until 1am we were told if we didnt like the noise to go into the bar and drink until the band finished as the people in the group had as much right as us to make a noise which they duely did at 1pm by moving onto the terrace under our room untill 3am. My husband went down at 2am and asked if something could be done as it WAS a Sunday morning.... Nothing., then came the people up to their rooms until 5am. knocking on doors. At breakfast which was self sevice the containers holding the baked beans spilled all over the surface of the counter, the scrambled eggs floated in liguid and the fried eggs were dried offerings.. We were offered no compensation.. Would I rate this hotel .yes Diabolical

Room Tip: Dont even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear BrendaC14

Given the historic nature of the building our rooms do vary in size, I am sorry that you feel that you room was too large, and sparsely furnished. We offer good value holidays, and our rooms do represent that.

Often, when it is stipulated on bookings that a guest is disabled (or has limited mobility) we try to allocate rooms on low floors, I am sorry that on this occasion our attempts to accommodate you comfortably did not work out.

The hotel (like many in the town) does not have its own car park. There is on street car parking at the front of the hotel, for blue badge holders this is free. There is a dedicated bay for disabled drivers within 100 yards of the hotel.

We run an hotel with over 700 guests most nights; some individuals stay up late talking on the terraces and at times, children do make noise. However, we do our best to maintain a pleasant environment for all our guests.

On reading your review, it would seem that there were elements of your stay with which you were unhappy. It is a pity that you did not express these at the time as it is impossible to rectify any problems so far after your stay. This said, we hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again, and the chance to show you what a warm and welcoming experience we offer at the Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

stayed from 30th sept until 2nd oct the room was in the basement and had no window but we new this before we booked travelled with travelstlye coaches. the room was fine for a weekend but would be no good for any longer as we had no wardrobe only coat hooks and hangers , but the room thou very small was clean with fresh towels daily the basement rooms look like they have been revamped recently. The corridors were well lit and did not seem fusty. we are in our forties and all ages seem to be staying here. our breakfast was 7.30 but we asked if we could change lady in harbor lights restaurant Susan driver was not helpful but James a guy who works on reception was extremely nice and let us have our breakfast 9am so some staff our very pleasant but some need to smile more. The breakfast was nice also the evening meal was fine.the weather was great you can sit out on a large balcony with fantastic sea views and have a drink bar prices are as expected ,went into Scarborough at night but hotel entertainment looked ok bingo dancing shows etc. The hotel does cater for a lot of people and some reviews are a bit unfair but the building is so nice just go and enjoy like we did.

Room Tip: upgrade to a window room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsfuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear MrsFuninthesun,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and (if I remember correctly) some time away from work/the kids. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

on arrival I was given my key, so off we went to the basement, which looked dirty with linen trolleys everywhere, put my key in the door. only to find another couple in my room, off we went to reception, another key, off we go to the 6th floor, opened the door to a rabbit hutch with a shower, at this point i need to bring to your attention this was my 50th Birthday present off my partner, who had booked a room with a bath, got me a bottle of bubbley and chocolates, not the same in a shower really is it,
the place is dirty, shabby, unkept, and very dissapointing, but most of all a let down,
the bar closed at 10pm, please some of us are only 50 and like to stay up when we get some time,
i have sent several email and had no reply
thank you for spoiling my 50th birthday :(
please, please, please reply £75 is alot of money for one night in a rabbit hutch, when coach trips get the best rooms for less

Room Tip: ask for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear GinaH332,

We know that our guests’ expectations vary and I am sorry that we did not meet yours on this occasion. Firstly, I apologise that you were sent to an occupied room, for this there is no excuse.

While rooms are being serviced, linens are stored in corridors

We have 3 bars in total at the Grand Hotel, one of which remains open until around midnight (dependent on demand). To my memory, the bar did not close earlier than 11pm throughout September.

I will check through our email inboxes . Unfortunately it is impossible for us to contact those who write anonymous reviews online. This said, you are welcome to contact reception and we will do our best to deal with your complaint promptly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

First stayed at the grand hotel in scarborough with my husband back in 2004, the whole experience then was quite a different story to what its like now , we paid £260.00 for our two night break premier , when we arrived the lift was broke as it was another 4 times during our stay, couldnt complain about the room beautiful sea view and to be honest thats all i wanted , out side of of our widow was 2 dead seagulls trapped in the mesh that covers the window ledge. Then came bath time lovely spa bath that hadnt been cleaned properly plenty of hair and fluff trapped in the water inlet for the spa , decided to go for tea at 6.30 had to wait to be seated in the premier restaurant but after 10 mins we were still stood there looking like right lemons so decided to take a seat ourselves, when the waitress came over and asked to see our card that we had to show before we could eat, food was a disgrace , and there was even no jugs of water to collect from the self service, when i did eventually get some it was warm. they have a wine menu but ur not offered off any of the staff if u would like a drink . Breakfast seemed fine although tables werent cleared for new diners to seat and eat , the restaurant was always untidy ,young staff that walked round miserable . evening meal the second night was a disgrace and breakfast what was our last meal before departure was like leather when they brought the toast my husband was about to butter it until i told hin it was green with mould , utter disgrace . this hotel has drastically gone down hill for the service u recieve , beautiful old building that needs a lot of tlc which brittania dont think worthy .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear ClareL182,

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Grand Hotel Scarborough.

I can assure you that Britannia have invested millions of pounds in the Grand Hotel, given the size/age of the building, and the years of neglect gone before, the renovation is ongoing.

It would seem that there were other elements of your stay with which you were unhappy. It is a pity that you did not express these at the time as I am sure that they could have been quickly remedied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £27 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing