We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT Grand anymore” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
“NOT Grand anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed for a weekend reunion and was not impressed at all. Knew about the carparking so went by train.
Room had damp patches on walls, bathroom was so small the taps were in the middle of the side you get out and the toilet was at one end so you had to carefully climb over the taps! had a nice jacuzzi, and was clean, the rest of the room needed a good clean!
Food well if you can call it that for breakfast stuck to fruit juice and toast - made yourself. Dinner - well chicken in some form everynight so stayed away from that. Had a special reunion dinner that we paid extra for and most walked out without eating it, we were given a refund of the extra paid.The best meal was local fish and chips in the sea front cafe. Drinks expensive - take your own! All in all would not stay again, expensive let down.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Ronda N,

I am sorry to read that you were unimpressed by your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. Here at the Grand we offer keenly priced holidays in a spectacular Victorian building.

Due to the historic nature of the building our rooms vary in shape and size. When built, the hotel did not have en suite bathrooms. We have since made every room en suite, and (I have to admit) that some bathrooms are on the small side.

Bar charges compare favourably to other hotels in the town, and are only a few pence over the national average.

Finally, you are correct, those attending the gala were offered a full refund. I had hoped that that was the end of the matter.

We are very much looking forward to when your party returns next year, you all brought a good deal of joy to the place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    1,202
    1,234
    935
    2,115
See reviews for
1,285
2,922
146
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

premier rooms for the money fantastic
close to town centre
lovely views of the harbour
sun rise through your window
excellent premier dining
reasonable bar prices

Room Tip: go for a premier room and premier dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickapea28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Chickapea28,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I will pass on your compliments to all of the staff. I hope you will visit again soon, the lobby looks lovely when decked with holly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

having read a number of negative reports on this site, i ensured my room had windows, it did a sea view so clean tidy basic and needs updating, heard many complaints of rooms with no windows noise and smell, breakfast was a wow as ive never experienced such for decades possibly my scouting days it was appalling sausages i wouldnt give them to my dog bacon awful, preserves tipped out of a large 3/4 kilo container and dumped in a bowl, coffee i had to leave it, spoke to guests on same table who foolishly stayed for evening meal, tinned potatoes with the rest to match,
to be positve, i needed an extension due to lack of sockets and it appeared in less than 10 minutes, end of positives. Drinks very expensive when you got served, a full hotel and 1 bar staff with trainee on a saturday night, would i stay there again, never.
come on the grand do something great location, once great hotel now an utter disaster

Room Tip: definately request a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear johnshols,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with the tripadvisor community. At the Grand Hotel Scarborough we offer keenly priced holidays in an historic building. I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

That said, I am surprised to read some of your comments. We do encourage open and honest feedback through the medium of tripadvisor, but I have to say that some of the comments made in this review seem a little unfair.

The hotel is not an 'utter disaster', the Grand welcomes around 700 guests most evenings, many guests choose to visit numerous times every year.

All of our rooms are regularly visited by Visit Britain, and meet the requirements for our grade of hotel.

We have recently raise our bar prices to £3.30 a pint for continental lagers, this is considerably less than many hotels in the area and only a few pence more than the national average.

I hope you will take the time to revisit the Grand; learn more about its history, relax in the grandeur of its public rooms, and be entertained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel Scarborough.We paid a little extra to upgrade to premier but well worth it. All the staff work extremely hard ,especially Neil and the lovely girls who provided the entertainment.The food was plentiful and varied so no complaints at all .Would we go back? No and these two words say it all CAR PARKING. If you could find a space could you afford it! That is the only reason we will not be returning to the Grand.

Room Tip: Just pay that little bit extra to upgrade we had room with sea view and a less crowded restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briantalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Briantalbot,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

I appreciate that for many the parking situation can seem complex, for this we have Cuthbert Broderick (the Grand Hotel's architect) to blame! This said, there is a good deal of on street car parking within 5-10 mins of the hotel. Permits are available at a cost of £6 for 24 hours.

I hope that this issue does not deter you from revisiting the Grand. If you require any further assistance, do not hesitate to contact us. Hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enville DY7 5HA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just had three days at this hotel and it was awful,the food was appalling,we paid extra for a gala dinner for our reunion party,three quarters of an hour befor the starters arrived,another half hour they brought out the meat portion half hour later they brought the vegs which were cold,hard,undercooked and by which time the meat was stone cold,we did not get any gravy and the whole thing was a disaster and to cap it all we discoverd they had raised the prices of drinks at the bar for our visit,Kirsty the barmaid was wonderful,nice,polite and very efficient and an asset.At 9.55am knock on the bedroom door woman said you leave today yes? out please out please out room 10 oclock.NEVER NEVER again.After complain they did give a refund

Room Tip: Dont bother None of our party said they had a good room as far as I am aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Grand interiors make up for the B&B style rooms which are a little dated. Standard Rooms were resonably clean and beds comfortable. Bathrooms could be cleaner and a dusting of skirting boards wouldn't go a miss. Doors into rooms had paint splashes on perhaps need a better decorator! as 1st impressions count! Food was really good and the dining room with panoramic views was a treat to eat in. All public areas were beautiful and this is were the GRAND comes into the hotels name, really stunning and whilst there we witnessed a bride having her photo's done on the grand staircase and the room set out for the wedding party was beautiful.
Would I go back ? Yes but would upgrade to premire rooms

Room Tip: upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear kellyfamilyGateshead

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We booked this hotel with National holidays for a live Elvis Tribute show, Elvis was grand but I'm afraid that the Hotel wasn't. Their were four of us in our party and booked two rooms, but they left a lot to be desired. One of the rooms smelled terribly and there were brown stains on the ceiling and in the bathroom, also on the shower curtain. Our room faired a little bit better because it didn't smell, but there were brown stains everywhere, and the toilet seat was well worn. We complained and were told that the Hotel was full and that there were No rooms left until we insisted and they soon came up with two more rooms after we insisted that we would not be staying. Our NEW rooms were better, but they were down in the Dungeon so to speak on minus floor 2 with no windows and NO telephone to call for help if it would be needed. Dinner was another anti climax, as the food was terrible. It was very bland and as we were in the first sitting at 5.30pm, the food must have been cooked hours beforehand and stuck in the baymarie under lights to cook some more (we couldn't even try breakfast after that!! We sat in the auditorium for the show to start but were informed much later that the show would be in the ballroom and guess what, it was full by the time we got there. There was a large group of people outside of the room trying to get in, and some of them were not National Holiday customers and shouldn't have even been ther, as this show was exlusive for our holiday company. After much complaining we were finally given seats to take into the ballroom where the show was about to start, only to suffer a tirade of abuse by certain arrogant people because we put our chairs in front to see the show. I might add that these same peple were sitting in front of other people themselves. There was only ONE bar open all day and in the evening and the queue's were horrendous. Off to bed but we had to keep the fan going ALL night as it was boiling hot with no windows in the room to circulate any fresh air. All in all, a dissapointing night in this once Grand Hotel. WE WILL NOT!!! be going back to this hotel ever again. Try the Beiderbeckes just up the road, it's much nicer.... Harry T

Room Tip: Keep complaining
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louie-Mackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Dear Louie-Mackem,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay at the Grand Hotel did not live up to your expectations. At the Grand Hotel we offer keenly priced holidays in a landmark Victorian hotel.

I openly admit that the Elvis theme evening did not go as smoothly as we might have liked. However, some of the problems were caused by factors outside of our control.

Those guests who raised their concerns at the time were advised of the correct channels to complain, I am sorry that you did not take the time to raise your concerns at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,520 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing