We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
East Cowes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Excellent room. Extremely clean. Efficient and pleasant staff.
Did not have a chance to try the breakfast.
My room was a 'basic' at just £25.00 including breakfast
First class value, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenceH1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    1,234
    1,277
    981
    2,210
See reviews for
1,362
3,035
151
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Didnt expect a lot, cheap and cheerful i thought. Certainly not cheap, cheerful, well you could have a good laugh at the abysmal food they had the cheek to call dinner. It was cold, tasteless and my school dinners were great compared to this. Breakfast no better the safest bet was the toast. Even the corn flakes were salty. I was really looking forward to visiting Yorkshire, we will go again but it certainly wont be to the Grand. The Macdonalds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Josie M,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

The Grand Hotel is a 2 star resort hotel, it is advertised as such, and our prices reflect our star rating. We appreciate that all of our guests' expectations vary, I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet yours. I only wish you had taken the time to share your complaints with a member of the management team, as I am sure we could have found a way to swiftly deal with the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. But I have to say this short break with a pal was a delight. OK so some of the décor could use a make over, but all in all a great 3 day break.
The staff were helpful and friendly, The evening entertainment was good and the food was varied and plentiful. The beer was cold and the beds were warm. Don't know what more you could ask for.
I suppose I could say that the bathroom was a little small, but then I wasn't looking to hold a dance in there. The view out to sea was to die for and at £40 half board per night who could ask for more. Would definitely try another of the groups hotels.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Dodger11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of the Grand Hotel Scarborough.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading some reviews I didnt know what to expect but we had a great time. We had booked online for two nights away and checked in to a standard double room which was very clean the bed was comfy, it had the usual wardrobe, dressing table,tv,hairdryer and kettle. and a veiw of the opposite street.
The evening meal and breakfast offered a good choice and the dining room had a great view of the bay and the staff was very friendly.
The entertainment on both nights was bingo and a girl singer one night and a male singer another there was also a quiz we really enjoyed it and the bar staff were great fun. We would book again when we next visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANYBABYWINSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear JanyBabyWinston,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the Grand Hotel with the tripadvisor community. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. We pride ourselves on offering the warmest of welcomes, I am pleased to read that you experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just had a couple of nights here, after reading the review I was a little concerned, as it turned out we had a great time, the room complete with spa bath was great. The food was plentiful with a great choice. I just wonder what people expect for their money. It,s a 3star hotel so don't expect 5star. many thanks to all the staff that made our short stay so enjoyable. Will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lammyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Lammyman1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand with the Tripadvisor community. The staff here work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay, it is nice to get some recognition on Tripadvisor for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

If you want a 5* hotel on a 3* budget then you will be disappointed with The Grand. If you want to stay in a pleasant budget hotel then this is for you. We stayed there from 6th - 8th May 2011. After reading some of the reviews on here we weren't expecting the place to be upto much. We were expecting a delapidated wreck but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and looked like it was in the process of being done up. It was very busy when we went but we were quickly seen to and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't one of the ones that had been redecorated but it was very clean and comfortable. The bar prices were very reasonable and again the staff were friendly even though they were extremely busy. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package as part of a National Holidays coach trip. The dining area has a lovely sea view. It was a serve yourself arrangement which we liked and there was a good selection of food - both hot and cold. It was very well cooked and tasted lovely. Ok, it's not posh nosh, but for what you pay to stay there it was excellent value for money. The evening entertainment was much better than we expected too. We would definitely be happy to stay there again and we have already recommended it to some friends who took our advice and also thought it was great value for money. I can honestly say I don't know why this place has had so many bad reviews as we were completely happy with our stay at The Grand. It's in a fab location, with good food, friendly staff and comfortable clean rooms. What more can you ask for from a 3* hotel?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Kittyfingers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the Grand. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow, Middlesex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I booked a last minute three night weekend stay with my partner and my mother and uncle & aunt. I have never been to Yorkshire before and we were very fortunate with the exceptional weather we had. The Grand is a very impressive building and although somewhat tired, it is still a delight. Our room was at the front with a fanatstic sea view and the sunrise in the mornings was spectacular. The room was very spacious with table & chairs and a settee so was happy to spend time in the room relaxing and watching TV. The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus and the shower more than adequate. The breakfast was plentiful and with a huge variety of choice. The cooked food was somewhat school dinnerish in style but no real complaints and if you did not like thhe look of it you still had yoghurt, fruit, toast, porridge & cereals to choose from so complaints I think are grossly unfair. As for the staff at breakfast, I think they did amazing considering the amount of guests they are catering for and I think they did a marvellous job. The view from the restaurant again is stunning and we could have sat there for hours with just tea & toast and been satisfied.
Where do these people live that say the price of the drinks was extortionate??? We were amazed at the value and rather than find a pub in the eveninig we were more than happy to return to the hotel for drinks in the bar as they were cheaper than anywhere I know near us, a glass of wine was just £2.50!
This hotel is geared up for the older guest but found a varied age with some families with smaller children too, so dont let that put you off as the location is great.
Downsides were not enough to put me off returning but I will list them all the same,the plumbing in the rooms was noisy and every time the loo was flushed or a bath emptied above us we had the sound of running water in the pipes that were boxed in the corner of our room. there was also a noisy party on the bar terrace late one evening and as we had our windows open it did wake us up. There was a function on two of the nights we were there so the bar was pretty busy and there was always quite a queue for drinks so they could have had more bar staff on. The car parking is a bit of an issue. Even with a disabled blue badge we were unable to park on the street but when we returned back to the hotel after our days out we alwasy found a spot in the paying car park opposite and the rates were reasonable as you only had to pay up unitl 6pm then from 9am the next day and the ticket machines allowed you to pay for say three hours at 5pm and that covered you up to 11am the next day for about £3. Another point for blue badge holders is that all the car parks we used in Yorkshire do not give you free parking so make sure you check carefully before you leave your car anywhere, we asked a traffic warden and he said it is usually only free on the public roads!
All in all we all had a really enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to return.
I do hope that in the future they do manage to restore more of this hotel to its finer glory but having said that I probably wouldnt be able to afford to stay there then!

Room Tip: Pay the extra is need be to stay in one of the rooms at the front overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Caroliet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the Grand. It is great to get the recognition that all the staff work hard for here for.

We welcome your constructive criticism, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing