We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here for the Weekend, in a budget room. We knew in advance that we would be in a windowless room. This suited us very well, the room was dark and quiet, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We had two good nights sleep here. The only downside was the flooring in the bathroom, it was laid very haphazardouly! No big deal, the zacuzzi bath made up for it!
The food was ok, nothing special, but the staff worked hard and the places were cleared and relaid very quickly.
I would recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep, choose basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123olly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear 123Olly,

Thanks for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel Scarborough with the Tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,597 - 5,603 of 6,648 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Excellent room. Extremely clean. Efficient and pleasant staff.
Did not have a chance to try the breakfast.
My room was a 'basic' at just £25.00 including breakfast
First class value, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurenceH1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Didnt expect a lot, cheap and cheerful i thought. Certainly not cheap, cheerful, well you could have a good laugh at the abysmal food they had the cheek to call dinner. It was cold, tasteless and my school dinners were great compared to this. Breakfast no better the safest bet was the toast. Even the corn flakes were salty. I was really looking forward to visiting Yorkshire, we will go again but it certainly wont be to the Grand. The Macdonalds.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

Dear Josie M,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

The Grand Hotel is a 2 star resort hotel, it is advertised as such, and our prices reflect our star rating. We appreciate that all of our guests' expectations vary, I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet yours. I only wish you had taken the time to share your complaints with a member of the management team, as I am sure we could have found a way to swiftly deal with the problems you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. But I have to say this short break with a pal was a delight. OK so some of the décor could use a make over, but all in all a great 3 day break.
The staff were helpful and friendly, The evening entertainment was good and the food was varied and plentiful. The beer was cold and the beds were warm. Don't know what more you could ask for.
I suppose I could say that the bathroom was a little small, but then I wasn't looking to hold a dance in there. The view out to sea was to die for and at £40 half board per night who could ask for more. Would definitely try another of the groups hotels.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear Dodger11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of the Grand Hotel Scarborough.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading some reviews I didnt know what to expect but we had a great time. We had booked online for two nights away and checked in to a standard double room which was very clean the bed was comfy, it had the usual wardrobe, dressing table,tv,hairdryer and kettle. and a veiw of the opposite street.
The evening meal and breakfast offered a good choice and the dining room had a great view of the bay and the staff was very friendly.
The entertainment on both nights was bingo and a girl singer one night and a male singer another there was also a quiz we really enjoyed it and the bar staff were great fun. We would book again when we next visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANYBABYWINSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear JanyBabyWinston,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the Grand Hotel with the tripadvisor community. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. We pride ourselves on offering the warmest of welcomes, I am pleased to read that you experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just had a couple of nights here, after reading the review I was a little concerned, as it turned out we had a great time, the room complete with spa bath was great. The food was plentiful with a great choice. I just wonder what people expect for their money. It,s a 3star hotel so don't expect 5star. many thanks to all the staff that made our short stay so enjoyable. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lammyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear Lammyman1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand with the Tripadvisor community. The staff here work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay, it is nice to get some recognition on Tripadvisor for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

If you want a 5* hotel on a 3* budget then you will be disappointed with The Grand. If you want to stay in a pleasant budget hotel then this is for you. We stayed there from 6th - 8th May 2011. After reading some of the reviews on here we weren't expecting the place to be upto much. We were expecting a delapidated wreck but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean and looked like it was in the process of being done up. It was very busy when we went but we were quickly seen to and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't one of the ones that had been redecorated but it was very clean and comfortable. The bar prices were very reasonable and again the staff were friendly even though they were extremely busy. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast package as part of a National Holidays coach trip. The dining area has a lovely sea view. It was a serve yourself arrangement which we liked and there was a good selection of food - both hot and cold. It was very well cooked and tasted lovely. Ok, it's not posh nosh, but for what you pay to stay there it was excellent value for money. The evening entertainment was much better than we expected too. We would definitely be happy to stay there again and we have already recommended it to some friends who took our advice and also thought it was great value for money. I can honestly say I don't know why this place has had so many bad reviews as we were completely happy with our stay at The Grand. It's in a fab location, with good food, friendly staff and comfortable clean rooms. What more can you ask for from a 3* hotel?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2011

Dear Kittyfingers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the Grand. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £33 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing