We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things that go Bump in the night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Things that go Bump in the night.”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

family decided to have a 2 day stay via national holidays to stay at the grand hotel booking 3 separate double rooms. So.... where to begin this break-down of pointers. Firstly if they are going to have a full floor of rooms then realistically they need to make all the rooms identical out of the 3 rooms we were given on the same floor within 4 doors.not one had the same dimensions not one had the same size bed not one had the same size telly. although to lighten this pointer up the one thing that did remain the same was the seaguls Secondly .upon noticing the luxurious bath i got giddy and thought Ooooh im gonna give that a go, just to find that after having to wait 20 mins for the hot water to flow i also needed to ask for a straw all because the jacuzzi lost is uzzi, and having to balance ever so riskily on the bath plug to keep water in i then got out to find id be branded decided to get a shower to find that when you want to have a nice relaxing hot shower the controls decide to go Oh Nooooo your getting cold water. Thirdly for anyone wishing for a peaceful nights kip buy ear-plugs because between the beds creaking , the busy hallways and the flying squadron doing their 20 min fly-bys then knocking for nibbles beware this is not a likely thing to have. Fourthly despite this hotel been dog friendly i would suggest if you dont want harrassing by the seaguls take a cat that should cure the fly-bys and the knocking for treats if all else fails open the window let it in and shut it quickly and let the cat have a new toy. but on a brighter note the eat all the you buffet was a improvement on the overall stay.also the views from the rooms weren't anything to brag about also.

Room Tip: book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear JohnWray,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with the tripadvisor community.

You are correct, the rooms in the hotel do vary in shape and size. This is to be expected of an historic building, especially one with such a varied history.

To enjoy some of the most impressive views of Scarborough, guests should upgrade to a Premier room.

I cannot fully understand all of your review, but I understand you experienced some problems with the bath. I only wish you had raised this issue at the time as our in house team can quickly fix any problems of this nature.

I do hope you return to the Grand Hotel, I believe that it is a wonderful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    999
    2,253
See reviews for
1,378
3,080
152
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here for the Weekend, in a budget room. We knew in advance that we would be in a windowless room. This suited us very well, the room was dark and quiet, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We had two good nights sleep here. The only downside was the flooring in the bathroom, it was laid very haphazardouly! No big deal, the zacuzzi bath made up for it!
The food was ok, nothing special, but the staff worked hard and the places were cleared and relaid very quickly.
I would recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep, choose basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123olly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear 123Olly,

Thanks for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel Scarborough with the Tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cowes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Excellent room. Extremely clean. Efficient and pleasant staff.
Did not have a chance to try the breakfast.
My room was a 'basic' at just £25.00 including breakfast
First class value, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenceH1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Didnt expect a lot, cheap and cheerful i thought. Certainly not cheap, cheerful, well you could have a good laugh at the abysmal food they had the cheek to call dinner. It was cold, tasteless and my school dinners were great compared to this. Breakfast no better the safest bet was the toast. Even the corn flakes were salty. I was really looking forward to visiting Yorkshire, we will go again but it certainly wont be to the Grand. The Macdonalds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Josie M,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

The Grand Hotel is a 2 star resort hotel, it is advertised as such, and our prices reflect our star rating. We appreciate that all of our guests' expectations vary, I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet yours. I only wish you had taken the time to share your complaints with a member of the management team, as I am sure we could have found a way to swiftly deal with the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lytham St Annes
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. But I have to say this short break with a pal was a delight. OK so some of the décor could use a make over, but all in all a great 3 day break.
The staff were helpful and friendly, The evening entertainment was good and the food was varied and plentiful. The beer was cold and the beds were warm. Don't know what more you could ask for.
I suppose I could say that the bathroom was a little small, but then I wasn't looking to hold a dance in there. The view out to sea was to die for and at £40 half board per night who could ask for more. Would definitely try another of the groups hotels.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for one when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Dodger11,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of the Grand Hotel Scarborough.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

After reading some reviews I didnt know what to expect but we had a great time. We had booked online for two nights away and checked in to a standard double room which was very clean the bed was comfy, it had the usual wardrobe, dressing table,tv,hairdryer and kettle. and a veiw of the opposite street.
The evening meal and breakfast offered a good choice and the dining room had a great view of the bay and the staff was very friendly.
The entertainment on both nights was bingo and a girl singer one night and a male singer another there was also a quiz we really enjoyed it and the bar staff were great fun. We would book again when we next visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANYBABYWINSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear JanyBabyWinston,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the Grand Hotel with the tripadvisor community. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. We pride ourselves on offering the warmest of welcomes, I am pleased to read that you experienced this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Just had a couple of nights here, after reading the review I was a little concerned, as it turned out we had a great time, the room complete with spa bath was great. The food was plentiful with a great choice. I just wonder what people expect for their money. It,s a 3star hotel so don't expect 5star. many thanks to all the staff that made our short stay so enjoyable. Will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lammyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Lammyman1,

Thank you for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand with the Tripadvisor community. The staff here work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay, it is nice to get some recognition on Tripadvisor for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing