We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel in a great seaside resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
mummybelle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel in a great seaside resort”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

just spent 3 nights at the grand hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast break with my 15year old son. upon arrivel checked in within 10mins we got lovely free upgrade to seaview twin room in the terrace rooms. all members of staff were friendly,helpful and nothing was too much trouble. food was plentiful at breakfast and in evening and was hot and very tasty. the entertainment is really good every evening we really enjoyed our stay. the grand hotel is very old and lots of the decor in reception show this the staircase is beautiful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone we had a fabulous stay and cant wait to return. this is my 2nd time at the grand this year.dont listen to the negative comments

Room Tip: the terrace rooms have seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear MummyBelle,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Grand Hotel. I am encouraged by your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    1,232
    1,277
    978
    2,204
See reviews for
1,361
3,027
150
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I recently spent 5 nights at the grand, I was a bit wary because of some of the bad reviews but was pleasantly surprised to be proved wrong, ok my room was a bit tired but for what I paid I didn't expect to be staying in the Hilton!!, it was clean and had a nice view that's all that mattered. We went for breakfast at approx 9 am and didn't have to que at all so I don't know what everyone else is complaining about. Car parking is a bit of an issue but other hotels in the area seem to have the same problem so you can't blame the grand for that one, I found if you came back to the hotel around four there were normally one or two spaces available from day trippers going home. I found the location of the hotel perfect and overall great value for money and I had a really pleasant stay :-) - chris/manchester

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nico0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Nico0702,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds in uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

just spent the last 2 nts at the grand and as per usual cant criticise any points at all.From check in to check out the young lady on reception whose name escapes me at the moment (i know she used to work at the crown) was pleasant courteous and very friendly allways smiling under difficulft times with certain guests.Had a great room for what we paid (room 626).Breakfast was the usual buffet style english which was filling and tasty.Evening meals was very tasty with plenty of choice.The bar staff were friendly and helpful and all staff i came into contact with were the same.If i was to be picky i could find one fault and thats the coffee in the flasks at breakfast time has to be the worst tasting stuff ive ever tasted in my life.Only been home an hour and allready booked for November for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatboynoslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Fatboynoslim,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Hotel with the Tripadvisor community.. It is always pleasant to be complimented, it makes all the hard work worthwhile!

It's especially rewarding to get such a good review from someone so well travelled!

We look forward to seeing you again in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

stayed here 21st-24th oct, could not find one single fault, had a basement room with 2 single beds and fab shower,and spa bath. tv,kettle & hairdryer. room was cleaned every day, and all staff was very pleasant and obliging. we had breakfast and evening meal throughout our stay, food was good hot and plentiful, it was well worth the price we paid and i would definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Trumper1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the Grand Hotel. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

family decided to have a 2 day stay via national holidays to stay at the grand hotel booking 3 separate double rooms. So.... where to begin this break-down of pointers. Firstly if they are going to have a full floor of rooms then realistically they need to make all the rooms identical out of the 3 rooms we were given on the same floor within 4 doors.not one had the same dimensions not one had the same size bed not one had the same size telly. although to lighten this pointer up the one thing that did remain the same was the seaguls Secondly .upon noticing the luxurious bath i got giddy and thought Ooooh im gonna give that a go, just to find that after having to wait 20 mins for the hot water to flow i also needed to ask for a straw all because the jacuzzi lost is uzzi, and having to balance ever so riskily on the bath plug to keep water in i then got out to find id be branded decided to get a shower to find that when you want to have a nice relaxing hot shower the controls decide to go Oh Nooooo your getting cold water. Thirdly for anyone wishing for a peaceful nights kip buy ear-plugs because between the beds creaking , the busy hallways and the flying squadron doing their 20 min fly-bys then knocking for nibbles beware this is not a likely thing to have. Fourthly despite this hotel been dog friendly i would suggest if you dont want harrassing by the seaguls take a cat that should cure the fly-bys and the knocking for treats if all else fails open the window let it in and shut it quickly and let the cat have a new toy. but on a brighter note the eat all the you buffet was a improvement on the overall stay.also the views from the rooms weren't anything to brag about also.

Room Tip: book else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear JohnWray,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with the tripadvisor community.

You are correct, the rooms in the hotel do vary in shape and size. This is to be expected of an historic building, especially one with such a varied history.

To enjoy some of the most impressive views of Scarborough, guests should upgrade to a Premier room.

I cannot fully understand all of your review, but I understand you experienced some problems with the bath. I only wish you had raised this issue at the time as our in house team can quickly fix any problems of this nature.

I do hope you return to the Grand Hotel, I believe that it is a wonderful place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here for the Weekend, in a budget room. We knew in advance that we would be in a windowless room. This suited us very well, the room was dark and quiet, the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We had two good nights sleep here. The only downside was the flooring in the bathroom, it was laid very haphazardouly! No big deal, the zacuzzi bath made up for it!
The food was ok, nothing special, but the staff worked hard and the places were cleared and relaid very quickly.
I would recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a good sleep, choose basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123olly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear 123Olly,

Thanks for sharing your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel Scarborough with the Tripadvisor community.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cowes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Excellent room. Extremely clean. Efficient and pleasant staff.
Did not have a chance to try the breakfast.
My room was a 'basic' at just £25.00 including breakfast
First class value, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenceH1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing