We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrendous..........” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“horrendous..........”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

got excited when i saw a night for £40 for 2 with breakfast so bought it for my husband.
The room was in the bowels of the hotel with no ventilation or windows.
But we love Scarborough and had a great time shopping eating out and having a beer in the town.
The breakfast was Baaaaaaaaaaaadddddddddddd!!!
The food was congealed and cold .
The staff were so unwelcoming at breakfast, however the reception staff were great.
What a motley crew the breakfast staff were, the most miserable people i've ever met. Just as breakfast was about to finish the staff turned up from everywhere piling food for themselves on plates and stacking them up with lids on under the heat lamps.
I can honestly say i've never seen anything like it. What a shame because the hotel has great potential..........never again!!!
There was also a screwed up macdonalds bag under the bed (we didn't have a macdonalds!!)

Room Tip: the sea view rooms looked great maybe i should have paid more for one of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sargentoasis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
As much as we welcome the freedom that Tripadvisor brings, this review seems incredibly unfair, inaccurate, and at times offensive.

In any hotel mistakes are made, and standards must be upheld; to this end, I would've hoped that this reviewer might have raised his complaints with a member of our management team. Weeks after the guest has departed there is little that we can do to make amends for any fault on our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    1,200
    1,232
    933
    2,110
See reviews for
1,281
2,916
146
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at the Grand for two nights in November we took our dog Hudson and we where all made very welcome even Hudson enjoyed his stay, great location and the staff very friendly and welcoming the Reception staff very helpfull as both myself and my partner work in hotels myself on reception and my partner a Head Chef in Windermere we found it good value for money etc..... only one minius one of housekeeping team the morning of departure banged on our door at 9.30 and rudley asked us what time are you going we said 10am as that was checkout time and then she came back a second time at 9.50am banging on the door and said "you not gone yet" she was not English but she had no reason not to understand the first time unless her watch was broken maybe.
We are planning another trip and we would not let the parting words of that particular housekeeper spoil our thoughts of the Grand Hotel

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTaylor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear MrsTaylor_11 (and Hudson the dog),

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the Grand Hotel. It is always great to receive compliments from someone from our industry, so thank you!

I am sorry to hear about some disappointing behaviour from one of our housekeepers, I will raise this issue with our Head Housekeeper.

Thanks again for your kind comments, and we will hopefully see the three of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

The first thing to say is - look at what you are paying. If you manage your expectations on this, it is a great place to stay. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and had a superb weekend. The reception staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and had everything we needed, towels, tea & coffee, wardrobe, tv, jacuzzi bath ( great bonus if you can get a spa room), had a great nights sleep. The breakfast is buffet style, which will be common place if you have every been to Spain. The difference between Spain and this breakfast was that the food was hot, plentiful, and you have proper bacon and bread !!! Had a great last evening, talking to the "oldies", who were fantastic as they kept giving us free drink vouchers (dont expect this, it is probably against house rules!).
All in all, it was a great experience, just dont expect silver service for the price, expect a good place to stay in a great location, and get out and about and enjoy Scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Stuart a,

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Hotel.

Your review reinforces my belief that the Grand is a great value place to stay, have some fun, and explore the North Yorkshire Moors and Coast.

PS. trading drinks vouchers is punishable by death!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The best thing about the Grand is its position and the spectacular views over the sea and South Bay. The hotel itself has seen better days.My room was adequate although tiny,but at least it had a window
unlike some of the bedrooms that our group were allocated.
Breakfast was ok,edible...the cooked food was on warm plates
which is not unusual with buffets but looked tired.
The staff were friendly and usually helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMDSW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of the Grand Hotel Scarborough. Thank you for your compliments, we have an excellent team here who work very hard, it is great that they get the recognition that they deserve on Tripadvisor.

Thank you also for your constructive criticism, your comments will be passed on to the relevant members of our management team. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We have just spent 4 days at The Grand Hotel in Scarborough, We were greeted warmly and given some good advice as to where the best place was for fish and chips :) We arrived at 12 noon and were told that the room would be ready by 1pm which was no problem as most hotels won't accept guests until at least 2pm.

When we went into the lounge found warm mince pies and mulled wine ready for new comers to help themselves to. We were given a room on the terrace which to be honest was on the small size, however, it had a lovely sea view and was clean. It also had everything we needed for a short stay and considering what we had paid was remarkable value.

The restaurant was pleasant and food of a good standard, and there was lots of choice. The staff are lovely, really helpful and friendly.

Entertainment was excellent while we were there, a great comedian and a Buddy Holly tribute show. The location is good too and the building is dated from 1862 so has some gorgeous decorative features.

We have been to lots of Brittania hotels throughout the country and apart from 1 (The Norbreck in Blackpool) found them to be very good regarding cleanliness and food and great value for the money.

Do not be put off with bad reviews if people want 1st class accomodation, cordon bleu food etc they should expect to pay 3 or 4 times as much per night as The Grand charges.

A lovely hotel with loads of character, great staff who couldn't do enough for the guests. FANTASTIC value

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace room or a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nncarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear nncarr,

I am thrilled to read your very positive review of your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Scarborough.

Our terrace rooms have stunning views out to sea, but due to the historic nature of the building all rooms vary in shape and size.

I am sure that the team will be really pleased with the account of your stay, comments like yours make all our hard work worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Like a lot of people I wondered about the mixed reviews. However I'd recommend the Grand to anyone. I went with the wife, brother, mother and father. Great building, location and food. Good staff and entertainment. Bar prices a bit dear and the fire alarm in the early hours a regular occurrence apparently. But for the price paid I think it'd be difficult to find a better deal in Scarborough. We'll definitely be returning. Only slight problem in booking was unable to guarantee a room next to ours for my brother who has learning difficulties so he had to share a family room with my parents, lucky him!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel. I am pleased to read that you and your party enjoyed your stay.

I always encourage those who have specific requirements (especially when travelling with someone who needs extra help), that they contact the hotel reception directly to ensure you are accommodated in a manner to meet your needs. The next time you are visiting, book the rooms as normal and then contact the hotel to chat about how we can help with your next stay.

Many thanks, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

this is a very old hotel with lots of character. I had read previous reviews and was on the verge of cancelling, however, had a good time.
Positiives: Great selection of food for dinner,
Quiet hotel even though it was busy
Comfortable room
Great location for shopping and seaside
Negatives: Miserable reception staff
Dated rooms and decor
Breakfast food not as good as dinner
Used tea bags and half opened coffee sachet left in room for us to use
Evening entertainment not for the under 50's (bingo and caberet)

Room Tip: make sure you get a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara42ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear tara42ne,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. I am pleased to read your positive comments, and welcome your constructive criticism.

Our entertainment changes every season, and your suggestions for improvements are welcome.

I am surprised at your comments about our reception team, many reviewers comment favourably on this team. I will ensure that these comments are passed on as a reminder to keep standards high.

We certainly hope that you will revisit soon, and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing