We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked and Bumped Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hard to give a score, as I didn't get to stay there. I had booked for my 40th Birthday and was really looking forward to it, as I love Scarborough and love this sort of hotel. Unfortunately, when we arrived, it turned out they had overbooked and, without warning, wanted to bump us off to a B&B round the corner, and then trudge back to the hotel for breakfast and dinner.
Obviously that was unacceptable, so we ended up not staying.

So disappointed. Wrote ot the manager afterwards who tried to offer us some phoney deals akin to what you might get from a double-glazing company (i.e. 25% off is meaningless when a hotel has such fluid rates and so many deals).

Reakky disappointing.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnny_TYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Johnny_TYork,

I am sorry to read that due to an administrative error we double booked your room. In an hotel of our size occasionally such errors occur and I can only apologise for this.

When such incidents occur we book out our guests at an hotel of the same star rating only 100 yards away and request that they dine at the Grand. I can only apologise that this was not acceptable.

I cannot comment on the specifics of what refund/goodwill gestures you have been offered as this review was posted on an anonymous review site.

For any readers, please be advised that there is a full policy on over bookings available on the Britannia website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,570)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,375 - 5,381 of 6,575 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

booked through 'just go'.this proved to be another incredible value for money week away.the hotel provided plenty of food choices all to a very satisfactory level.the room we had was clean warm and very comfortable .the hotel laid on evening bingo and entertainment,so all in all a memorable stay,well done to all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngjohn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear youngjohn21,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

For anyone who enjoys well maintained Victorian grandeur, lovely staff, comfortable rooms and panoramic sea views the Grand at Scarborough is the place to go. We love the Grand. We are so lucky to be able to explore and stay in this palace of a hotel. So reasonably priced and with the Dinner Bed and Breakfast deals its almost cheaper then staying at home. From the Grand you can explore the whole of Scarborough on foot, the beach is right in front of the hotel, the town centre just outside the door and everywhere you go you will turn and see the impressive Grand Hotel the landmark of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Familys tend to get lovly largerooms. Your can book sea view rooms if you pay for premier which is...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samdalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Samdalley,

Thank you for your review, and your kind words. At the Grand we pride ourselves on our stunning Victorian building, keen prices, and warm Yorkshire welcome. I am pleased to read that you identified these qualities during your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Returned to the Grand as we like scarborough so much, and really the place is terrific value for money, especially with the rewards card that you can put all your reciepts on for your drinks and stay etc, lots of entertainment if your so inclined, and really who can grumble at £25 for 2 people B and B! The harbour lights restaurant should be avoided however, other smaller one is nicer and worth the upgrade, but who cares, enjoy the view, and eat out! My mum and her friend have booked for a week in summer £215 each dinner , b and b and 3 trips! Come on theres a credit crunch, its worth it for a nice little holiday without going too far, im converted!!

Room Tip: upgrade to a spa room with a view, its not nice to have a fake window!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0bbydazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear ScunnyBird,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. The team here work really hard to offer a warm welcome to all of our guests, and I am sure that they will be pleased to hear/read your complimentary comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is good value for the money. Some lovely features , the staircase is beautiful. We had a lovely room no 14 in the conservatory. Sea view and lovely big windows with a spa bath couldn't fault it. Some of our group wern't so lucky with their room ,there were a few complaints about having no windows. The food was very good a choice of three starters, three mains , lovely sweets and plenty of cheese and biscuits. Same could be said of the breakfast a good selection. The hotel was full but we didn't wait long at any meal time .The staff were smart and peasant. There was a little theme show everynight ,eg The blues brothers ,Motown , and the driffters. There were a few groups on a 99p bar when we were there ,but that was not part of our deal .I felt we were subsidizing this because our drinks were expensive £3.30 for a pint of mild £3.60 for a pint of guiness. £9. for a bottle of wine. That was our only complaint. While there, we were taken on three day trips , but also found Scarborough a really lovely place , Would be even better in the summer. Would defo go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrigout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Wrigout,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Room 14 is indeed a beautiful room, situated on the Terraces, looking over the North Sea. I hope that you will choose to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Hi just returned from the Grand and what a pleasant surprise nothing like the horror stories we had read we stayed in 701 turret room which was fine the spa bath was a must as it was in the minus degrees most days a great way to warm up,only little negative was the room was rather cold even with the heating on,requested another form of heater and was given an electric heater which was fine,food was great good chose and plenty of it,For sum reason we were given lunch vouchers with room card,free lunches and a 99p bar what more can you ask for,Entertainment not for my age group.All in all i will return Do not listen to the horror stories do what i did and try it yourself.
Good cheap accommodation.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor as there are rooms below ground, ALSO GO IN SUMMER ITS WARMER.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lep381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Lep381,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences of the Grand Hotel with the Tripadvisor community. I am pleased to read that so many guests have taken the time to re-dress the balance on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to solve the problem of your (cold) room, and that you got some goodies thrown in for free! It has to be said that not everyone gets these freebies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Have just come back from a coach trip although when you drive into the Grand hotel it does look "Grand" it is a large hotel with over 300 rooms and our experience was mixed depending where your room was. Some of the rooms were very nice Sea views etc. The room I shared was on -3 floor room 3006 it had no window was cold, the extractor and heating system made a noise all night so didn't have a good nights sleep when we spoke to the Duty Manager about these issues he said "Unfortunately there was nothing he could do as the Plumbing & heating were in the basement and that was why we could hear these noises." Had to queue for food and drinks. I also agree with the person who commented on the mould on the ceilings it was really off putting when eating. Food was basic and ran out of some dishes so limited.
On the positive if you got a good room parts of the Hotel did look very nice.The Carbaret that
was on for the last hour was good. I would visit Scarborough again but not stay at the Grand. Manager don't bother to respond as this was a shared review from 50 visitors..........

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifesforvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you for your comments. At the Grand we welcome feedback, including constructive criticism.

In response to your review I would like to state the following for the benefit of other members of the Tripadvisor community;

In line with building regulations all internal rooms are equipped with mechanical ventilation. This is a quiet run system, but not silent.

At busy times, there can be a short delay for food and drink. This is inevitable in an hotel of our size, with over 700 guests every night. At dinner we have 4 main dishes to choose from in the Harbour Lights Reception, I am sorry that you were unhappy with this.

We are aware that damp patches appeared in the Restaurant, this matter was rectified at the earliest possible time.

Finally, Tripadvisor is a user-led community, when making contributions users are aware that their reviews are made public, and I believe it is only fair that management from hotels have the opportunity to respond. This website is a most democratic forum, and I have never written anything to suggest that reviews should not share their views. When reading your final remarks I cannot help but feel that you do not fully appreciate the nature of Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,433 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £39 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing