We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 15 February 2012

room 2 floors down with window looking at a brick wall, tatty, lock was yale type and left room vunerable.
asked to be moved told no.
restaraunt was like a cattle market, waited for plates 10 mins, got plates then half the food was missing, comming out in dribs and drabs.
wont be comming back.

Room Tip: dont go best advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Shaun R,

I am sorry to read that you were so unhappy with your recent stay at the Grand hotel. Yes, we use Yale locks on our bedroom doors. These are used by hoteliers and home owners alike to secure their homes, I am sorry that you feel these are not up to the job.

At busy times there can be a short delay in replenishing food stuffs, I am sorry that this affected your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,650 - 5,656 of 6,853 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

in the last 2 years my wife and myself have stayed at the grand about 10 times.Each time we come home we both agree it has been a great visit,This time was no different.£45 for 2 nts bed and breakfast for 2 people has to be the best value stay in scarborough.Sat 11th and sun 12th in room 603.Room very small but immaculately clean,warm and comfy.Breakfast usual good standard and plenty availible.Marie in restaurant her usual organised self running the restaurant with military precision.Because of the cold weather spent a good saturday and sunday afternoon in the bar and was massively impressed with the friendliness of the staff especially ann who was courteous but cheeky in a real friendly way and i felt so relaxed in her company.
travel tip...get yourself a grand reward card and save points for each stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatboynoslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear FatBoyNoSlim,

Thank you so much for ANOTHER brilliant review. It is a pleasure to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Hard to give a score, as I didn't get to stay there. I had booked for my 40th Birthday and was really looking forward to it, as I love Scarborough and love this sort of hotel. Unfortunately, when we arrived, it turned out they had overbooked and, without warning, wanted to bump us off to a B&B round the corner, and then trudge back to the hotel for breakfast and dinner.
Obviously that was unacceptable, so we ended up not staying.

So disappointed. Wrote ot the manager afterwards who tried to offer us some phoney deals akin to what you might get from a double-glazing company (i.e. 25% off is meaningless when a hotel has such fluid rates and so many deals).

Reakky disappointing.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Johnny_TYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Johnny_TYork,

I am sorry to read that due to an administrative error we double booked your room. In an hotel of our size occasionally such errors occur and I can only apologise for this.

When such incidents occur we book out our guests at an hotel of the same star rating only 100 yards away and request that they dine at the Grand. I can only apologise that this was not acceptable.

I cannot comment on the specifics of what refund/goodwill gestures you have been offered as this review was posted on an anonymous review site.

For any readers, please be advised that there is a full policy on over bookings available on the Britannia website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

booked through 'just go'.this proved to be another incredible value for money week away.the hotel provided plenty of food choices all to a very satisfactory level.the room we had was clean warm and very comfortable .the hotel laid on evening bingo and entertainment,so all in all a memorable stay,well done to all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youngjohn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear youngjohn21,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grand Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

For anyone who enjoys well maintained Victorian grandeur, lovely staff, comfortable rooms and panoramic sea views the Grand at Scarborough is the place to go. We love the Grand. We are so lucky to be able to explore and stay in this palace of a hotel. So reasonably priced and with the Dinner Bed and Breakfast deals its almost cheaper then staying at home. From the Grand you can explore the whole of Scarborough on foot, the beach is right in front of the hotel, the town centre just outside the door and everywhere you go you will turn and see the impressive Grand Hotel the landmark of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Familys tend to get lovly largerooms. Your can book sea view rooms if you pay for premier which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samdalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Samdalley,

Thank you for your review, and your kind words. At the Grand we pride ourselves on our stunning Victorian building, keen prices, and warm Yorkshire welcome. I am pleased to read that you identified these qualities during your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Returned to the Grand as we like scarborough so much, and really the place is terrific value for money, especially with the rewards card that you can put all your reciepts on for your drinks and stay etc, lots of entertainment if your so inclined, and really who can grumble at £25 for 2 people B and B! The harbour lights restaurant should be avoided however, other smaller one is nicer and worth the upgrade, but who cares, enjoy the view, and eat out! My mum and her friend have booked for a week in summer £215 each dinner , b and b and 3 trips! Come on theres a credit crunch, its worth it for a nice little holiday without going too far, im converted!!

Room Tip: upgrade to a spa room with a view, its not nice to have a fake window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b0bbydazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear ScunnyBird,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay. The team here work really hard to offer a warm welcome to all of our guests, and I am sure that they will be pleased to hear/read your complimentary comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel is good value for the money. Some lovely features , the staircase is beautiful. We had a lovely room no 14 in the conservatory. Sea view and lovely big windows with a spa bath couldn't fault it. Some of our group wern't so lucky with their room ,there were a few complaints about having no windows. The food was very good a choice of three starters, three mains , lovely sweets and plenty of cheese and biscuits. Same could be said of the breakfast a good selection. The hotel was full but we didn't wait long at any meal time .The staff were smart and peasant. There was a little theme show everynight ,eg The blues brothers ,Motown , and the driffters. There were a few groups on a 99p bar when we were there ,but that was not part of our deal .I felt we were subsidizing this because our drinks were expensive £3.30 for a pint of mild £3.60 for a pint of guiness. £9. for a bottle of wine. That was our only complaint. While there, we were taken on three day trips , but also found Scarborough a really lovely place , Would be even better in the summer. Would defo go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrigout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Wrigout,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Room 14 is indeed a beautiful room, situated on the Terraces, looking over the North Sea. I hope that you will choose to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £28 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing