We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room at the Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were booked to stay for my dads 80th Birthday and travelled from Brighton to stay over the Easter holiday. The booking for two rooms was placed about 6 weeks before and we had our accomodation voucher. My Sister booked a seperate room a few days before as well. When we arrived at 1.30pm we were told we couldnt book in until 2pm which was fine as it was there strict policy. We then went back to the desk at 2pm and queued until after 3.30pm to get our self booked In. we were told that our rooms were not booked so we gave them our conformation, still no room thentold to go away why they sorted our room and they would come and find us over the next 1.5 hours we went back to the desk 3 times and the person dealing with us seemed to be sorting other customers and not our issue. Eventually we were moved to another hotel and were told they work on 97% of the hotel being full but on he day we arrived it was at 130% so we were not the only ones. We were told by the staff that It Is usual. I spoke to the spinless manager who didnt want to speak to us until I started raising my voice in reception. When we got home we complained to the hotel and the group owners by e-mail and letter and until now 22/06/12 have had no reply but I would Imagine we might be In the complaint pile. I would recommend the hotel we moved to which was the Mount which Is just around the corner and they said they are always getting people over from the not so Grand. I would not recommend this hotel or even think about going to another one In the group. They did send a survey but said If It was a complaint not to reply but contact there customer services. Thats a waste of time as well.

Room Tip: Wouldnt know never got one but some people said dont go below ground floor as damp and musty smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,280 - 5,286 of 6,748 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

room on 5th floor bed supposed to be double only 4 foot wide damp in corner of room lights off in bathroom toilet cistern terrible,offered other room in basement been water running in from ceiling, bed moved so you might not see complained to reception she seen two managers in back who came out looked and laughed and then reception said no other rooms had to stay in 543, food in dining room like old school meals cheap and nasty , no table cloths just sticky surfaces,breakfast time tea in portable urns on table stewed and grey not drinkable, This hotel seems to think with dealing with mainly older visitors they can get away with poor service and shabby rooms well no wonder visitors do not holiday in england god help us do not stay here.I would have thought it was against the law to have mould up on the dining room ceiling and some edges, strange how on most floor levels their are hand sanitizer dispensers ?

Room Tip: do not go whole place needs a revamp in decor and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Booked to stay for four nights and we left after one, when we arrived we were allocated rooms on the minus 3rd floor the floors had no windows which at first did not seem too bad however the room soon became too warm and with no window to get any air in it was terrible. The room was clean but dated scuff marks on the walls and patches of carpet worn down. There was one lift to get up to the reception area which broke the fire exits were not clearly marked and took us about 15 minutes walking up and down corridors and stairs to get back upstairs. Not sure how it pases fire saftey guidlines no evacuation plans or maps in the room to help you get out, some people would have no chance! The staff that I encounted at brekast were extremely rude as we're some reception staff. The whole place is like stepping back on time or into a retirement home. The entertainment is bingo, ball room dancing or bizzare caberet. It looks grand once you arrive but really it's a shoddy hotel that needs a lot of work. Breakfast was horrible there is hand sanitizer everywhere because of food poisoning outbreaks, the toilets in reception were disgusting with the sanitary bins overflowing. If your lucky not to get a basement room your stay might be more enjoyable but I would not reccomend the breakfast and if they put you in one of the basement rooms run while you can! Only good thing is they gave us a refund for the nights we didn't stay, normally I'm quite sceptical about bad reviews but it was a horrible place and I wouldn't want anyone to have to experience it, pay the bit extra and go somewhere better.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckyh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

my parents went on a coach trip to this hotel they requested a seaveiw room,when they arrived none were available, they were given a room on 02 level which looked out onto a brick wall and drain pipe(not exactly grand ) others were put in rooms lower down after complaining and told no spare rooms available they decided to go to the travel lodge opposite the food was below average the room was below standard the only good thing was they had some sunny days this hotel concentrates on the mass coach holiday market packing people in and forgetting about comfort and good customer service

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

away with friends for a few days rooms could have been better one bed terrible one shower not working when asked for shower repair think staff tired of dealing with complaints.
can not understand when booking two rooms together one on third floor other on sixth floor not easy when you dont use lifts.
would only book again if knew what room we where stopping in.
value for money yes , breakfast good plenty of choice buffet style.
very busy hotel , great location not the place for a quiet break.

Room Tip: go for 1st or 2nd floor outside room ,lifts get busy if you want 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

we stayed at the grand for 6 nights, our room was on floor 0 it was spacious, clean and had a sea view the shower was one of the most powerful ones ive ever used.
the food was very good a varied selection each night and it was always piping hot which is important to me. The breakfast buffet again was hot and plenty of options excellent .
this was our second stay this year and will definately go back next year.
the hotel is in need of a little uplift but nothing that would put some one off.
looking at some of the bad reviews i think these people must be very fussey.
i would and have recomended this hotel it is cheap,clean and food very good what more could you want except a bit of sunshine to make it perfect

Room Tip: foor 0 spacious and quiet, corner rooms usually family rooms very spacious not the actic or dungeon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirlkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The rooms are very disappointing, total confusion with which restaurant your eating in. Food the worst I've ever tried. Breakfast was appalling , boiled mushrooms, rock hard bacon, cheap sausages and watery scrambled egg! Even sauces taste watered down !!! Dinner was like a cheap bad carvery !!! Roast potatoes drop in deep fat fryer tasted like chips!! !!!!! ! DON'T EAT HERE EVER !'!!!!!!!! No staff to offer help! You cannot get to reception for the queue of peole complaining and nothing the reception staff can do even tho they are very nice !!!!! Please never eat here !!!! Staying ok if cheap enough !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaquile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £27 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing