We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A value for money break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A value for money break”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We booked a VIP package which included fruit basket, chocolates, bed breakfast and evening meal with free bottle of wine. After booking we read the reviews and this positively put us off so we were very sceptical about staying. So on arrival we upgraded to the premier restaurant(very small amount of money). Lucy the receptionist was very helpful, cheerful and efficient. We went to our room which was small but very clean and tidy and there was our lovely fruit and chocolates. We had a walk and then went for dinner, Richard the restaurant manager was very helpful, informing us of things on the menu and times of breakfast the next morning. All our meals were very tasty and you could have as much as you wanted. The free bottle of red wine was very nice and greatly appreciated. The bar staff were friendly and efficient.
We did wonder if we were staying in the same hotel as all the bad reviews. We did not expect the Ritz as we were on a bargain break through Brittannia hotels as we had stayed in the Royal hotel in Scarborough four weeks before.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    1,224
    1,263
    960
    2,167
See reviews for
1,331
2,985
150
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The following is an extract from a letter written to the Manager:

"I’d like to tell you how delighted we were with every aspect of our stay.
We booked up following the receipt of a promotional email, but we decided to treat ourselves for a couple of days by booking a VIP Premier room with Sea View.
However, after booking, my wife reminded me of the dreadful holiday we had in the Blackpool Metropole Hotel a couple of years ago, so I decided to check online what the customer reviews were like for the Scarborough Grand. My heart sank! A glance at Trip Adviser and other sites will explain what I mean.
I decided to cancel our booking, and then later found that we would not get a refund. My son convinced me that since we were only travelling a couple of hours - from xxxxxxx, we could easily return home the same day if the Grand was as bad as described.
So we completed the journey and I’m now so pleased that we did! We have stayed before, a few years ago. The entrance foyer and the grand staircase are so well maintained and wonderful. The young, Lithuanian, lady on reception could not have been more helpful and friendly (despite me taking her change to feed the parking meter!). She also was happy to spend time checking her computer when I asked about local theatres. She is a lovely young lady and an asset to the hotel.
When we took the lift up to the third floor we were spellbound by the brightness and cleanliness of the corridors and that wonderful Victorian architecture - especially after the comments that I had read. Our room was immaculate with a double sea view, a giant sized bed - we weren’t short of space - and a spa bath in a spotlessly clean bathroom.
We were still marvelling at the very high standard when there was a knock at the door and a man presented us with a lovely basket of fruit. That was perfect timing.
The Premier dining room continued the high class ambience and the choice and the presentation of food completed the whole experience. We found the staff in every situation to be really helpful and friendly. We can’t wait to come back again.
However, whilst waiting for the lift after leaving the dining room, I mentioned what a wonderful time we were having to a couple who, also, had just left the Premier dining room. The man replied, “You want to be very careful about saying that out loud. There are a number of people here who would very angrily disagree”. Wow! I didn’t expect that. Later we did bump into other people who were prepared to echo the views of those that had written on Trip Adviser. It seems that they had arrived on coach holidays and generally were accommodated ‘underground’ or, at least below ground floor.
I am, therefore, still left in a quandary. Is it just pot luck whether you have a good experience at the Grand Hotel in Scarborough? Might we book up and on another occasion receive the same experience as those who were very bitter about this place?
As a member of Which? - and co-incidentally, just today, I received an invitation to comment on a recent hotel that we had stayed in. I had no choice but to write along the lines that I have written here – that we had an absolutely wonderful high class hotel experience whilst others had the dreadful experiences as described on Trip Advisor. There seem to be too many dissatisfied guests of the Grand to dismiss their comments out of hand.
In conclusion, I’d like to reiterate our thanks for the wonderful experience that we had. But I do hope that someone will investigate the experiences of the alternative guests. This hotel is too special to be tarred with the Trip Adviser brush. Perhaps a leaf could be taken out of the Midland Hotel, Morecambe book? The history associated with the Scarborough Grand makes it even more special. It should stand proud from all the other Scarborough hotels. Maybe fewer guests and higher charges could be an answer? We certainly felt that the addition of the evening meal and entertainment was a ‘freebie’ on the rates that we paid" NB. £160 for 2 excellent nights..

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the Premier rooms on the upper floors - the Premier restaurant is also more civi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seedaseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Well, following the Great British Railway Journeys programme, we thought the Grand was worth a look.

We went on what Britannia called a "VIP package" where we would have a spa bath, wine with dinner, and a "superior room".

Well, if our room (410) was "superior" then others must have been in a broom cupboard. Our window looked out to sea, but the overhang either side of the single 2ft wide sash window was such that you could see very little past the masonry.

Furnishings were straight out of Poirot, but spoilt by a carpet , bed, bedding and other fittings that were well past their sell by date. OK so dinner was included with wine, so maybe that will make us feel better.

The restaurant (more canteen than restaurant) served food that would have resulted in a riot of complaints in our works canteen! My wife had breaded haddock that she could have broken the plate with. I had pork that was undercooked and therefore chewy and had that uncooked taste. The bottle of wine provided was worse than some that I have had from Aldi's £3.99 range!

We both ate little and then left. The main course was so bad that we didn't even consider dessert. I later went to McDonalds up the road and despite normally avoiding that establishment on the basis of low quality food, the food there was far superior to that served in the Grand!

The following day my wife suffered a severe stomach ache and dared not leave the hotel as she could not bear to be too far from a loo.

On the Sunday before leaving, we had breakfast. A local £2.99 breakfast the day before in a local cafe had been far superior to what we had on the Sunday in the Grand. My wife had the palest yellow scrambled egg that either of us had ever seen. I suspect that they had used a load of eggs where the yokes had been used for other things. The bacon was OK, the sausages more filling than meat and the fried eggs hard as nails.

The surroundings of the restaurant (I use the term loosely) were canteen style wooden effect formica tables and the noise from others taliking was unbelievable.

When we came out, the queue to go in was all the way up the stairs and into the area by the lifts.

An experience not to be repeated!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go to a better hotel. There is a Travelodge across the road that just has to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is fantastic to look at , and if you get a turret room (expensive) it is a real experience.
However, staff are not always cheerful (read reviews, I see why they may be stressed!) and some have little interest in helping. Asked at reception if Steam railway operating....just shrugged shoulders and said 'no idea'.All meals cattle class, breakfast ok.
Bar never seemed to be open, all guests should be enthusiastic queuers and preferably over 80 if you wish to be in the company of people of your own generation. Only there 2 nights, toilet not cleaned,suspect just changed/re-arranged bedding and clean towels provided.Parking a lottery even with ticket at £6 a day.Paid £250 for this, though was the most expensive room.Would love to go back when treated as a valued guest not simply fund provider to Brittannia.

Room Tip: Splash out on a turret room(12 more windows than some rooms!) survive breakfast and eat out thereaft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Not a family friendly hotel as children told to be quiet during bingo! Saw no kids entertainment and unless you're over 55 then stay away! Its like a cattle market with people coming and going and all this chain of hotels cares about is filling the rooms and everything else forgotten! The staff in the dining room work very hard and must be so thick skinned to tolerate the chaotic way in which mealtimes are served. RELAXING BREAK? i think not! No wonder our toddler screamed at the top of his voice as suddenly he in HOTEL from HELL in that dining room. Shame on you Britannia! Premier Inns are Budget but they are clean and the breakfasts are always excellent with so much choice. Why do you let stinky dogs in aswell? Under our bed it was pure filth. NO cot was provided and we had to ask. No fruit basket or chocs and we had to ask! Oh and we got a basket of rotten fruit! The layout of the hotel and staircases is very confusing and no explanation at reception and had to ask twice to find lift to terrace rooms! Dont you have anyone offering assistance? I saw nobody! Ive now read the worrying reports about sickness at the hotel and says it all the sanitisers that are placed around the hotel! My grandparents came to this hotel many many times but obviously a massive decline now in standards. A lady today as we leaving said she been coming for 30 years but this her worse visit and not be coming again! I heard from a waitress that more rooms are been created? How crazy is that! You need to spend money refurbishing and cleaning first! She said the dining room cant cope with more people! We ate one night in the Harbour Lights restaurant and the smell disgusting! I nibbled but it wouldnt go down! We ate out the second night. So PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF THIS REVIEW, and its false economy staying at The Grand. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: A room thats not at this hotel! Maybe a tent on the beach be best option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We have just returned from a weekend trip and think for a 3 star hotel it's great. The staff were on the whole very helpful and friendly, particularly the supervisor in the Harbour Lights restaurant who shared her sweeties with the children and had a sense of humour. The food served is buffet/canteen style, not a la carte but acceptable for a 3 star. We needed milk on both nights for the baby and were spoke to a young man in the coffee lounge and a night security guard who went out of their way to help. The staircase is wonderful and reminded us of the titanic scene. We stayed in a turret room, great views, although with 2 small children I wouldn't recommend, as it is a long way from the 2 lifts, then a flight of stairs. Well done to The Grand, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Went for an online cheap deal for bed breakfast, dinner and bottle of wine. On plus side bottle of wine was reasonable! Bedroom though was the worst we have stayed in since we were students (and we're now 50+). Level minus 2 - obviously in a room that was never built as a hotel room ... must have been intended as staff quarters. Very small and basic with window view onto brick wall! First impression was third class room on the Titanic! Corridors leading to room had very damp smell that they'd tried to disguise with scented spray. Damp patches on corridor carpet outside out room. Only plus in the room was very good jucuzzi bath ... money spent on these could have been better spent on updating the room! No forget that ... these rooms should never be let out to the public! Abandoned evening meal in the hotel on viewing the menu and went to excellent restaurant instead. Risked breakfast but very average. This hotel has obviously set itself up to cater for coach trips for the elderly ... shame cos it's a fabulous building in a fantastic setting. The owners need to re-evaluate what they're offering with such a place! Won't be going back!

Room Tip: If going for a cheap deal make sure you're above ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennySummers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing