We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Iconic Building, but service.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An Iconic Building, but service.....”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Four night DBB stay staring Saturday 17th November (2012) leaving Wednesday 21st November

This is our third stay at the ‘Grand’ and I want to start my review some positives. This is a fantastic Victorian building and the main public areas are wonderful. Walking down the main staircase is very ‘Upstairs Downstairs’ (Or ‘Downton’). I note a lot of reviews comment on the rooms here. Personally, our experience has not been too bad and yes we have had one of the windowless underground rooms and indeed even when we have had a window it has either looked out onto a wall or the steps at the back of the hotel! As stated above this is a Victorian building and if you want Premier Inn (or others) type cloned rooms don’t come here! The rooms are not perfect and the furniture is not ultra modern but does fit into the surroundings. Many rooms have good views (but we have always seemed to fail in getting one!) and bathrooms have Spa baths!

Unfortunately we have been very disappointed with our latest stay and feel we need to make our feelings known particularly to Britannia Hotels who own and run the Grand and two other hotels in Scarborough.

We arrived on Saturday and found our room was on the sixth floor under one of the turrets, small window but just outside it is an 8 foot brick balustrade (so you could see a bit of sky if you looked up!). Room and bathroom as expected generally clean.

Dinner Saturday evening. A complete nightmare! Was meant to be a Christmas dinner we queued down the stairs before entering a dining room in chaos, and a restaurant manager who had no idea of how to put things right! Note we have been before and we do know about the dining room but this was the worst we had ever seen. There was simply not enough staff to cope with the workload. Food was not being replenished and tables not being prepared. A shocking experience!

After dinner coffee and tea are served in the main bar (in flasks!). This might be ok for coffee but tea? And on this Saturday again lack of staff seemed to mean they were empty much of the time. The Grand has two bars the main large one and a small one near the Cabaret room. Note the Grand has a number of ‘drinks promotions’ (99p or Prepaid) but we were cash customers. Getting a drink throughout Saturday night was awful again queue was out the door for a good two hours (see picture). At one point there was only one bar person serving! Paying customers were meant to use the smaller bar but at one point no staff! Sorry if Britannia is going to have these drinks deals they need to staff it!

Sunday morning, breakfast! Oh my god! Huge queue all down the stairs. Finally got in and had to clear and lay our own table! Staff doing their best they could but just not enough of them! Spoke to Restaurant manager and rather than sympathy or an apology was told it was because we all came down for breakfast together on a Sunday! And I foolishly thought I was the customer and I was on Holiday! OK if it is a problem inform people beforehand (advertise) a traffic light system maybe saying when the busiest times are. But fact is the hotel is busy so busy times need staff responding to the need; we pay for this service!

Sunday dinner, calmer did queue again and had to wait for a table to be made up (by the manager!) better experience but still understaffed! Didn’t get any coffee though the flasks were empty again! There were similar problems in the bar for drinks deals although I did get served as a cash customer at other bar OK.

Monday breakfast, surprise surprise a huge queue perhaps we all come down for breakfast at the same time! Once in dining room see the reason why; only three or four staff and only two-thirds of dining room being used! Again food not being topped up and staff their trying best to clear space.

Monday dinner was the straw which broke the camel’s back. Huge amount of coach guests arrived today (the bread and butter of the hotel!) Dining rooms was clearly not coping as many grumbles but we were confronted with a bigger queue than ever. Wife complained to reception and one of the managers upgraded us to premier dining! Wow! No queue, no rush, hot food and nice service! If you are a cash customer pay the extra for this it is far less stressful! So thank you the manager who did this the rest of our meals were very good and we were well looked after!
Must note here also that we had not paid top price and indeed you can get some very good deals at this hotel often less than a B&B. But some people are paying top prices and whatever the price you expect basic good service and all I am talking about here is that!

Most hoteliers would give an arm and a leg to have ‘occupancy’ levels like the Grand and it is fantastic that the hotel and its owners can achieve this and I wish them well with this but after our recent experiences I have some questions for Britannia hotels.

I would strongly recommend the company (Britannia hotels) Chief Executive should go undercover and have a look at the service being provided and the moral of the staff who work hard to trying to do the work of multiple staff. Are staffing levels able to maintain a standard you require? Do the Company care about poor feedback? Do the Company want loyal, hard-working staff who feel valued and cared about?

As noted above the ‘bread and butter’ of the Grand are Coach parties and it is well known that tour companies do not pay ‘top-dollar’ for their accommodations. But if you are taking in hundreds of these guests each week you have to give them a reasonable level of service, don’t you? This weekend even some of these were not happy. What are you going to do if the operators pull out? Or will this not happen as the tour company is also part of the Hotel chain! Even so guests will stop coming!

The Grand is an iconic building and we believe that Britannia have a massive responsibility to ensure that it survives. This said with the poor service and lack of ‘care’ we are worried that this is not a responsibility that is being taken seriously. The main dining room is currently running with condensation and there is now considerable (black) mould on walls and window frames. This building needs some tender loving care. Yes this is a massive investment but the Company are making money at the Grand. Indeed some care and attention may mean prices could rise but not unless the problems are sorted out.

I noted that Britannia have also take on two other Hotels and a close look at both show the need for some work on the fabric. Is Britannia in for a quick buck and then going to dump these hotels as they fall down? I hope not!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CookieCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    998
    2,248
See reviews for
1,378
3,075
152
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hotel is in the best place to stay,it is huge,the food is good and all you can eat and it costs hardly nothing to stay here.
The turns are top of the line but if you like a game of bingo be prepared to pay £6 for a card.
The cues can get a bit silly and it took an hour to get booked in but this is largley down to idiots trying to get free room upgrades and not having the correct paperwork but in all honesty they could have used the staff better(lots about but only a couple working hard)
Some of the people staying here are a waste of skin and I can understand staff getting upset with them,one old man ordered a glass of orange then another and another then a fourth,demanded a tray and when the barlady asked him to pay he just said don't want em and walked off.if I was her I would have been sacked cos he needed words.
Overall my experience here was a good one.it's worth going to have a good look round the big old building and at £27.50 a night is cheaper than most b&b's

Room Tip: Ask for a round room07 or 06(the first number is the floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your comments.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

As a group of ladies staying at the Grand for a weekend 2nd November 2012 to 4th November for a treat. Arrived to find that we could not book in till 3pm which was no problem till we got back form a long day travelling and walking round the town. We then had to que for a hour to find that that rooms were not up to premire rooms have stayed in Blackpool in better rooms. One of group had to change room because we had asked for all rooms with showers and did not get them. Then had set times for meal times 5.30 for evening meal with was not to bad but 8.00am for breakfast we had come for a break not a early morning start but still had to que to get into a dinning room that was down stairs which they was only one lift down and not suitable for disable or elderly or like what we had a lady on cruches. So we gave our 1st morning breakfast a miss. We all went out on a site seeing and shopping, while we were out one of rooms had MONEY TAKEN OUT OF HER ROOM WHICH WAS IN A ENVELOPE IN A HANDBAG IN A ZIPPED UP PART OF A ZIPPED UP SUITCASE . When we went to report it to a manager he was not intrested just told us to report it to the police yes us had to make the call not the manager who never came near the room or the lady that had the money stolen. When the police arrived they gave us a crime number appolised and was very annoied with the manger and the hotel to only tell us that is happen on a regua;ar bases in that hotel and they were having to send there sargent to find out why this keeps happening in this hotel which takes resources away from more important police work. The Hotel had mould in rooms and in the dinning room. They was a grandmar that had brought her disabled grandson that was in a wheel chair not once in dining room did a meber of staff help her, also her room was not suitable for him with chair and other guest of the hotel rearrange her room so she could get in aboutthe room not hotel staff and they had put her on the 5th floor not aseptable at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

your hotel is very lovely.. but arrived at the hotel to be told that we,ve been doubled booked told us that we would have to have seperate rooms single the rooms were very small as my wife suffers from panic it was not good.. we was told there were no double rooms till the next morning.. we did get soome free wine and premier diner if thats what you call it.. when went to change room in the morning they told us that we did,nt have a room till 2pm. then they gave us a different room as what we had booked.. most of are stay was moving rooms and visiting reception.. never had a problem with any other brittaian hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitshoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Firstly, I need to mention we stayed on a very cheap deal so I cannot comment on value as we paid a pittance to stay!

The building is magnificent. I would loved to have seen this hotel in it's hay-day! Most of the public areas are surprisingly well kept for such an old hotel. The lobby is large and impressive and the dining areas have fantastic vistas. There is also a large theatre with live entertainment every night. Although this is not my choice of entertainment, I can understand that this would be very enjoyable to those of a certain age and families.

We only stopped for breakfast as we have experienced the food in Britannia hotels before and whilst there is nothing wrong with the food you do get what you pay for! (Think canteen style)...

We stopped in a Jacuzzi Bath Double Room. The Jacuzzi bathe was fun and worth the small extra fee. However, the room was tired, small and being in the basement it had no windows or natural light so we felt like we were onboard a ship! As I said, we didn't pay much so it was not a big deal but I do think we should have been warned when booking about the situation.

All in all it was a reasonable stay and as I have said before, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Check you room has a window! Also, eat at Cafe Fish just up the road, it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshSmash1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I unfortunately stayed at the "Grand" ? Hotel this weekend we were given an internal room in the basement It's a wonder we were not also issued with a pick axe and Davey lamp !! We complanied and given a room on 2nd floor with sea view which was dated but clean and at least we could see daylight the staff are not very friendly we had to stand in a que for 1 hour to check in and there was another que for Breakfast with approx 50 people in front of us the dining room is a health hazzard the ceiling and walls asre covered in Black mould the breakfast was adequate I asked for a jug of tea as the one on the table when we arrived was cold you would have thought I had asked for a gold ingot !! The cost of room is cheep but I wold not advise anyone to stay here for your health if nothing else and we had to drive round and round for an hour each day to find a parking space

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in basement from 1002 etc we stayed in 210 it was acceptable for the price and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

What a shame, this beautiful old lady of a hotel is in need of a bit of tlc to say the least. The features of the place are wonderful, the pictures of years gone by are great but, thats the best I can say about it.
The rooms are ok but we had to complain about the first room as it had no bath just a shower, we had paid for a VIP weekend and expected a better room. Recption sorted that for us without a fuss and gave us a premier room which was lovely. Jacuzzi bath didnt work but otherwise all ok, clean enough and warm enough.
The amount of coach trips coming in made checking in a nightmare. I suggest to the hotel that they should have one check in for coaches and another for other guests.
We booked dinner and breakfast, breakfast was ok but the dinners were awful, I wouldnt waste my money on the evening meal, go out!
We watched a bit of the entertainment, but soon departed. It is what it is, dated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Platty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing