We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Stockton on the Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked here very last minute and it's a good job we rang up the travel agents because this was the only room left wen we walked into the room we were absolutely blown away ! By the facilities They gave us a leather sofa 2 beds and a kettle tea coffee etc & we requested a room near the lifts And they gave us a room about a second away from the lift would definitely stay here again but for a little period longer . We also saw a cliff lift right outside the hotel. Great hotel

Room Tip: Try & book a sea view room they're the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, I was delighted to read you had a fantastic stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,212
    1,251
    949
    2,145
See reviews for
1,312
2,950
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a fab weekend from start to finish!
2 nights with National Holidays £79 per person, travel there & back, trip to Gothlands & Whitby, B&B, evening meal, (which was very nice) with glass of wine included and 4 free drinks each night who could complain!
Sat night we had the top class Elvis tribute, well worth a visit just to see him!
We travelled with 3 other couples for our friends 50th Birthday and all had a really great time.
The Hotel far exceeded our expectations after reading some of the reviews on here and me and my hubby were lucky to be given a room on the 6th floor (room 624) with a lovely spa bath!
Go and try for yourself I am sure you wont be disappointed.
I wouldn't hesitate to book a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, I was delighted to read you had a fantastic stay.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge, west midlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in August 2013 took the trouble to write an honest review , I notice that the manager leaves the same remark to everyone without answering any of the queries! I wrote direct to complaints manager at head office as well as direct to the hotel and still no reply !! Extremely poor service and management. Advice avoid this hotel untel extensively refurbishment and re training of staff.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I was sorry to read you had not had a response from the hotel, if you could please contact us directly we will endeavour to resolve this feedback for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon so we can resolve this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The last time I visited the Grand, I reviewed it as terrible. But now I can happily report that things have got better. The room was much nicer and had a very comfortable bed, the shower certain did fall down though, but was swiftly fixed by the maintenance team.The food is still by Know means fine dining, but just a bit below what you would expect. The staff are all very helpful, the hotel was deserted at the time of our visit much to my disappointment as I love people watching. And I still maintain that this hotel has one of the finest views in the country. I will be back and I would recommend you go there to. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Lower rooms on the east side have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_VeryHungryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent re-visit to us, it is only through valuable feedback like yourself we can improve our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there in jan 2014 and was quite disappointed the room wasn't ready for 2 hours however to compensate we had a sea view room with a Jacuzzi bath tub. As part of our package we had 4 free drinks however the beer was flat despite complaining. The food was like school dinners and would definitely recommend eating out in the town somewhere. The location is good.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. All your feedback has been passed to the relevant departments for improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

After reading some of the reviews for this hotel it was with some trepidation that we went on a coach trip staying at the Grand for 2 nights. Yes the hotel is faded but our room was clean and warm with plenty hot waterand although quite small it was perfectly fine for a couple of nights. As we had only paid £79.0 for 2 nights plus free travel dinner bed and breakfast and 5 free drinks we honestly were not expecting very much but we were pleasantly surprised and one of our party managed to bag a room with a brand new spa bath for the same price! The food was perfectly fine and I am quite picky and all the staff were helpful, so don't dismiss this hotel for a cheap bargain break and as an extra plus point the Elvis tribute act was first class.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel food and staff were brill new year was absolutely wonderful but we ordered and paid for a delux room with sea view but although we got the sea view the room was no where near delux it only had a 3/4 bed and there was no room to move about it was far from delux it was very disappointing

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank audrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

I was sorry to learn you did not get the room you booked, please feel free to contact the hotel direct in future and we will ensure your requirements are met.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing