We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip however a few sore points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here as part of the national holidays trip all in all we did have a nice time however,
Anna on Reception must be one of rudest people to work on a reception desk that i have ever met her attitude stinks, make sure you get ALL the information when getting off the coach, i nipped over to get a bite to eat just after 11pm and when i got back i was told that we were not allowed to bring takeaway back in after 11pm (But pizzas were allowed the night before) so i was made to stand outside in the cold whilst being watched before i was allowed back in. In all the Britannia hotels i have stayed in this have never been the case so why is here so special???
If you see a heater in the corridor when you arrive grab it because the rooms can get cold
The bar that is open through the day is Freezing and at night so wear thick clothes
Both bars at night are open but there are long ques at both as usually only one bar man works apart from our last night when i think one of the lady managers jumped on and helped him and on the last night at 11pm the bar man threw the shutters down whilst the entertainment was still going on and closed the bar!! This left alot of people unhappy. Does this hotel not have a residence licence?? Again must be a special Britannia Hotel.

Apart from the few niggly bit we encountered it was a good stay and the food is nice and as for location spot on.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive and constructive comments during your recent visit to us all will be used to improve our guest’s experience.

Takeaways are not permitted within the hotel which is common across a number of our sister hotels.

If you would like to discuss your experience further do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,005 - 4,011 of 6,803 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at the Grand 31st Jan to 3 Feb 2014. The hotel was cold wherever you went, bedroom or public areas. So much so that we went and bought a fan heater for our room! The public bar was the only bar open during the day, no heating here at all. At night the bar in the reception area opened to serve everyone in the reception and concert room, the public bar was open except the last night (Sunday). At both bars there were long queues to get served, usually one barman working the public bar and two working the other bar, except Sunday when the only bar had just one barman, the receptionist was collecting glasses and feeding the glass washing machine. We started with a very small double room, 3/4 mattress with a double headboard??? This room was cold and droughty which we managed to change for a twin which had better décor, twin beds better heat but still not warm. They turn the heating off when they stink you should not be in your rooms i.e. during the day and when you should be stood in the queue at the bar.
The place needs several millions spending on it and more staff.
The staff were brilliant, they worked really hard and were actually running around to try to get things done - I take my hat off to them - I they put up with the complaints, poor management etc god knows. We will NEVER go back here again. The place was spotless

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Threepinplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

In relation to a lift being out of action we were awaiting parts and this lift is now operational again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at the grand a few times due to the location but I stayed here 31 st of jan to feb 2nd and I have to say I'm appalled firstly we were a party of 7 we had booked 4 rooms they couldn't find what rooms we were suppose to be in, they put is into someone else's room clothes all over???? Then my mam and dad went to their room and guess what the bathroom was covered in faeces when my dad went to complain guess what they did sent a member of staff to clean it and they used a hotel towel when complaining the receptionist sarcly said have a good day (are they for real) then in my room I had a jacuzzi bath when I turned it on the full floor electric tripped leaving the full floor with no electric I'm really disappointed and have complained to Britainnia hotels and I'm waiting to here back I have photos of the room aswell absolutely filthy

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tterry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Here's a telling anecdote. It's January, 7:30pm. An elderly lady hobbles up to reception to say that the heating is off in her room. The young man dismisses her by saying that the heating is on a 'pulse system' and will come on at 8:00. No apology, no real concern. We had booked to sta at the Grand because my parents used to go there in its heyday. They wouldn't haunt the place now. First of all the booking was wrong. We had booked a 'superior' room. We got standard. The same young man blamed Late Booking-he may have been right. But he had no interest in sorting the matter out. We contacted Late Rooms and they contacted him. Yes, there had been an error. No apology though. We inquired about an upgrade. We were given the key to room 1. 'It has a walk in shower'. The room was freezing-remember the lack of heating?-the douvet looked as if it had anorexia. The walk in shower was a little cubicle. Not a 'walk in shower' at all. We had had enough. We weren't staying there. Nor we going to pay. The insolent young man assurred us were. We went to see the assistant manager who had been selling (close your eyes and ears mum and dad) Bingo tickets. She at least was helpful. They could do with more of her. But what a falling off is here. The Grand, that noble old building has got slot machines in the foyer. Slot machines. The has degenerated into a dumping ground for coach parties who are frozen out of their rooms and shiver in the empty spaces that once full of chatter and laughter and the sound of dance bands. Oh well, if you like to see grandeur covered in tat, then this is place for you. We will never go back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Booked a premier room but got a small room that had stains all over the carpet , all the paint work had pealed off and I dread to think what had caused the stain on the chair, there was no hot water at all and when my partner went to complain the receptionist was being totally rude to another customer who was also complaining so there was no point in bothering. We work really hard and took one night away to treat ourselves but wish we hadnt

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Husband and I stayed for a 5 day break with National Holidays the last week in January 2014. We approached with trepidation after reading the negative reviews but to our very pleasant surprise in our opinion the reviews were not accurate. We were given a spacious family sea view room which was very warm, clean and comfortable and serviced to a high standard daily. The food was plentiful and varied served buffet style - although for a little extra you could upgrade to Premier which was waitress service. The staff in all the public areas were pleasant, courteous and helpful and remained so throughout our stay. All in all we had a fantastic break at this tremendous value for money hotel. Definitely book again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seasier2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked this for one Saturday night in January my birthday paying the price of an offer from online booking company. Parking was a bit difficult with lots of driving round before we found a space away from the hotel. We were on the -2 floor and it was like being in a rabbit warren to find a small room, no window but clean. Expected it to be noisy but this was not the case. The entertainment room was packed so went into town instead, came back for drinks which are expensive in the hotel. Breakfast a bit mad but all was hot and no complaints. Staff helpful apart from restaurant manager (I think) seemed to be stressed? Would stop again but would rather pay more for window room.

Room Tip: Ask about your room if your bothered about a window because offer price probably will not include
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,984 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £26 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing