We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, draughty and uncomfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cold, draughty and uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Yes, it may have been a grand hotel once, but sadly it has been left to fall into disrepair. It badly needs new windows in the whole hotel. The ones in place are draughty, not only in the rooms , but in the main bars and foyer. We had to move out of the Empress bar, during Saturday afternoon, it was just too cold. Same again in the evening and as for the room? Freezing.
The light in the room was on all night, we never could find the switch to turn it off. Not good for anyone who likes a dark room to sleep . The only blanket was horrible, it would be more suited to a dogs bed than a human.
When I was at reception , there was a poor man who complained about his room. Did he get a room change? Not unless he was willing to play apparently and the receptionist was very rude to him. I would not have stayed. What happened to customer service?
My father in law asked 4 times in 2 days for a table lamp, as he had no main light and only 1 table lamp at one end of a long by narrow room. He never got it
If you aren't too fussy about your bed, your food or peeling paint or draughts, you will love this place. Most of us just want a bit of comfort.
Try the Travelodge across the road., I think it would have been more comfortable

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. Sea views but rotting windows and nets , presumably so the gulls don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle-dave-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    1,252
    1,307
    1,020
    2,300
See reviews for
1,413
3,125
154
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel should be closed down. The place is filthy, very outdated, shabby and cold. We had a 3/4 bed in a tiny room. The bed sloped to one side. Big crack in the window that had been repaired with sellotape. Door frames held on with brackets. Staff are off hand and dont care about their guests. Very regimented when it comes to the meal times. Food only luke warm which quickly goes cold in the freezing draughty dining room. While we were there, the place was taken over by a film crew. Dangerous wires, lighting equipment, filming equipment, etc, blocking doors, exits and walkways. Half the hotel, including the lounge and cabaret areas, closed off to guests. We were forced to sit in a cold, draughty roon, and had to wear coats to keep warm. Gave up and went to Weatherspoons. Staff were more concerned about running around after the film crew and terrible actors than they were about looking after their PAYING guests. Some snotty duty manager even told me it was a treat for me to see the filming! Trust me. It wasnt. This place needs to look at the way it treats guests. It needs a total re-furbishment and a good clean. Needs to employ competant management. £7 million pounds spent on it? Where, exactly?

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us and honest feedback we will use this to improve our product.

In relation to the window within your room this has now been repaired.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Do not be fooled by the name of the hotel, as it is not grand at all. This enormous hotel with about 700 rooms is very shabby and run down. It has some beautiful features, such as the main staircase and some lovely views from the restaurant, but it is dirty and fairly neglected as it attempts to squeeze as many people in as possible. It resembled a holiday camp, with queues for dinner and breakfast. The food was ok and there was plenty of it but it was piled in huge tins reminiscent of school dinners. I was amused by the hand sanitisers everywhere and the welcome letter which assured me that the sheets were changed after every visit.
I didn't see the entertainment, as Bingo's not my game and an hour in the bleak bar sent us to our tiny room in the eaves.
There were lots of groups there who seemed to be having a good time, but it wasn't for us and we left after one night.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblingrose1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel in regards to your recent stay. I would like to apologise to you regarding the quality of your dinning experience, we are constantly reviewing our offering to bring the best value food and dinning experience.

Cleanliness is key to our operation, all rooms are checked on regular basis to ensure our high standards are in place.

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough contains 382 bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

27th Jan 2014 we had a 4 night half board stay and, for what we paid, £216 total, had excellent value for money. The restaurant is self service, which suits us as you can choose exactly what you want which gives you a contented tummy! There were plenty of choices and very good quality. If we are being pickie then the variety of vegetables was limited. We did hear some people complain about the food but really, if they want 5* then they must expect to pay 5* rates!! The original room given to us was a twin but should definitely have been a single. We had to walk sideways round the room. The door to the en-suite was 1/2 way down one of the beds, NOT very pleasant !!!! Every bit of furniture was at an angle or off set to fit in the room and only 1 chair, no room for a 2nd chair!!. The reception staff did not hesitate in giving us another room which was quite the opposite, spacious and the en-suite was a respectable distance from the beds. The heating was ok the first day but for the rest of our stay we didnt have any heat to get up with or go to bed, they seem to time the heating to come on during breakfast times, then it is off all day until late and is off again before the evening entertainment has finished. We did ask reception for a heater and they supplied one. We crossed over the road and had a look in Britannia's other hotel, The Royal, WOW....what a difference as soon as you walk in. It was so warm and inviting; the decor beautiful; the seating areas plush; and the staff very friendly, showed us the leisure facilities which are done out like a cave and such a reasonable cost to use it...£2,50 per day or £5 for the duration of your stay. The hotel rates are a bit more than The Grand but looks to be worth it. We will definitely be giving it a try.

Room Tip: It seems that the rooms on the lower levels are bigger. We had room No.38 which also had a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozecheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N\W
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked a twin room at the Grand for a weekend break and was given a room on the 5th floor (what some call the Gods). It had a long arched seaview window and the room was small but clean, but the carpet was very threadbare in places. There was a small boxy television on the wall, but there was plenty of drawer space and a double wardrobe. It was adequate for a short stay.

My main concern was the Bar service (or should I say the lack of it) On Saturday night I counted 26 people in straight line queuing for drinks and only 1 barman. I made my way to the second bar and the queue was almost as bad, so I decided to wait in the gamesroom until the queues had died down but there were empty glasses, empty wine bottles and corks strewn on the floor, disgarded chips and spillages everywhere. The room was a disgrace to be honest. so I gave up and went to the travel lodge across the road. (I must add that the rest of the hotel was clean)

I have stayed in many Britannia hotels but the Grand at Scarborough had the worst food.
On a scale of 1-10, I would rate as a 2. because it was mostly cold and unappetizing. The couple of dining room staff were efficient but it was obvious that they didnt want to be there. I couldnt honestly recommend this hotel if your a little choosy, which is a shame because in its heyday I bet it was a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: For a half decent room book a "Premier Room" it includes a seperate dining area, and the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worrascam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here as part of the national holidays trip all in all we did have a nice time however,
Anna on Reception must be one of rudest people to work on a reception desk that i have ever met her attitude stinks, make sure you get ALL the information when getting off the coach, i nipped over to get a bite to eat just after 11pm and when i got back i was told that we were not allowed to bring takeaway back in after 11pm (But pizzas were allowed the night before) so i was made to stand outside in the cold whilst being watched before i was allowed back in. In all the Britannia hotels i have stayed in this have never been the case so why is here so special???
If you see a heater in the corridor when you arrive grab it because the rooms can get cold
The bar that is open through the day is Freezing and at night so wear thick clothes
Both bars at night are open but there are long ques at both as usually only one bar man works apart from our last night when i think one of the lady managers jumped on and helped him and on the last night at 11pm the bar man threw the shutters down whilst the entertainment was still going on and closed the bar!! This left alot of people unhappy. Does this hotel not have a residence licence?? Again must be a special Britannia Hotel.

Apart from the few niggly bit we encountered it was a good stay and the food is nice and as for location spot on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive and constructive comments during your recent visit to us all will be used to improve our guest’s experience.

Takeaways are not permitted within the hotel which is common across a number of our sister hotels.

If you would like to discuss your experience further do not hesitate to contact us direct.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed at the Grand 31st Jan to 3 Feb 2014. The hotel was cold wherever you went, bedroom or public areas. So much so that we went and bought a fan heater for our room! The public bar was the only bar open during the day, no heating here at all. At night the bar in the reception area opened to serve everyone in the reception and concert room, the public bar was open except the last night (Sunday). At both bars there were long queues to get served, usually one barman working the public bar and two working the other bar, except Sunday when the only bar had just one barman, the receptionist was collecting glasses and feeding the glass washing machine. We started with a very small double room, 3/4 mattress with a double headboard??? This room was cold and droughty which we managed to change for a twin which had better décor, twin beds better heat but still not warm. They turn the heating off when they stink you should not be in your rooms i.e. during the day and when you should be stood in the queue at the bar.
The place needs several millions spending on it and more staff.
The staff were brilliant, they worked really hard and were actually running around to try to get things done - I take my hat off to them - I they put up with the complaints, poor management etc god knows. We will NEVER go back here again. The place was spotless

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Threepinplug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

In relation to a lift being out of action we were awaiting parts and this lift is now operational again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,404 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing