We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible, go elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, go elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed through national holidays, after reading reviews we where a bit worried about the hotel however still went, we couldn't check in till two as the rooms where getting cleaned which we understood, when we got to our room the room was really small, the tv was small and didn't really work, the window sash was broken and you couldn't open the window the room was way too warm even with the heating off so we went downstairs to see if we could upgrade the receptionist was so rude her attitude towards people was disgusting, we where told the full hotel was booked and couldn't upgrade I decided to look on the website to see if I could book a room which I could so went back down a while later and there was a different guy on reception I explained the situation and he was so understanding we got to change rooms in the end, the room we got was so much better it was bigger, cleaner and had a nice spa bath in it. When we went down for tea it was self service they ran out of almost everything and didn't keep on top of things and what we did eat wasn't very nice, the waitress in there was rude to many people and her attitude was appalling, the bar shut at 11oclock but the disco was on till half twelve which didn't make sense. We went too see if we could get food from anywhere and where told we couldn't get none we asked if we could order something in and the man had told us no we had to eat the hotel food, but there's wasn't any his attitude was disgraceful. The queues for the bar where horrendous, the act that was on was not what we expected he was terrible, and as for breakfast the same waitress was on and again she was rude. The only helpful person in the hotel was the receptionist that helped us change rooms. Overall the staff are rude the foods disgusting, would we stay again NO not even for the price we paid it wasn't worth it, would I recommend it NO.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    1,200
    1,232
    933
    2,110
See reviews for
1,281
2,916
146
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from a 4 day break with National. Must admit I was dreading it after reading the reviews on here first but it really wasn't as bad as I feared. We had a large room in the circle, radiator worked at full belt, plus a fan heater just in case. The hotel is a grand old lady in need of some TLC but fits the bill for a budget break. Food was plentiful and of a decent standard, but woe betide if you miss your allocated time slot! We saw some people having to do the walk of shame back up the stairs from the dining room. Makes sense though when you have a lot of people staying. I have a few minor gripes but nothing that spoiled the trip. With breakfast and dinner I would've liked to have an option of fresh fruit, not tinned, the desserts were gateau and gateau, or pudding and custard. I don't have a sweet tooth so some cheese and biscuits would've been nice. The bars were too understaffed and struggled to cope with the volume of people on various drinks packages, so a long wait between drinks. Only complaint with the room was the very cheap toilet paper, I went out and bought Andrex. My husband was taken ill part way through, and I reported this at 9 pm due to the cautionary tales about Norovirus. I was told they'd send some drinking water up to the room in a few mins, however when we checked out at 10 am it still hadn't arrived! The few staff in were rushed off their feet. All in all thought it was a decent place to stay and good value, I would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank missislee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us, I do hope your husband feels better soon.

All your feedback has been taken on board to improve our product.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We paid £94 for 2 nights B&B should have been £140.

The room was a dirty hole down 4 floors. The view from the window was a dirt bank so the room was dark and morbid. The carpet in the room was full of staines, so was the furniture, plaster missing of the walls, the room smelt damp and there were midges flying around the room. Grotty bathroom with something black on the shower curtain. A prison cell would have been more appealing.

We called reception and spoke with someone who didnt care less, we had to pay another £20 to upgrade to another room.

So we moved to a room that cost us £116 but full price was £160.

Big room with a massive window and a great viiew... But

The window didnt shut correctly and had tape trying to stop the gale from blowing through it, even with the wooden shutters across the curtains blew at leat a foot away with the wind. I had to push the 2 chairs and our bags against the curtains to try to stop the wind.

You could hear every footstep and toilet flush from the room aboive.

The room didnt have a shower and there wasnt any hot water for a bath, when reporting this to reception they didnt really care less. So we spent 3 days without a bath or shower. (great)

Anyone who gives this place a good review must be mad.

Main reception area was quite plesent to sit in and have a beer, but that is the only posative.

Grand once maybe, but along long long time ago.

Try the travel lodge across the road or just sleep in the gutter it would be better than wasting your money on this dump.

A 2 star hotel in turkey, was a 1000 times better than this place.

Room Tip: None!!!!! id rather sleep on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroldhetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and i were invited on a night out in Scarborough, booked this hotel for 8 of us, 4 couples, first impression of the hotel from outside, wow, what a magnificent building, the lobby and grand staircase, grand also.
The rooms however, a different story. All i kept telling myself was, its only somewhere to sleep and its only one night. Tin bath no shower no kettle small tv, tiny bed. If theres a word that means more basic than basic please insert here.......
The basic hotel Scarborough. Should be its name.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ritchiefamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us, all our rooms vary in shape size and design due to the age of the property.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped on a national holiday tour. What a dirty, filthy disgrace. The hotel management were told and was told the hotel is full, so tough! We have stopped in many Britannia hotels & this is the worst as regards to customer service & cleanliness. I'm sure the owner would be disgraced by how dirty this place actually is. I will post my pictures on here & you can make your own mind up but to sum this place up, filthy grotty hole.

On the Wednesday night people were ushered into a cold filthy ballroom where people had to wear cardigans to keep warm. Paint pealing damp patches, told by staff couldn't turn heating on as it was controlled by a central thermostat.
These managers were running round after a film crew rather than looking after their guests.

The managers of this establishment need to get a grip & take stock of Their jobs ie looking after guests Richard restaurant manager.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KeithGroarke001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Ok so reading the reviews here I was worried.

But received a special offer email from Britannia so went for it.

Britannia are a budget brand and this hotel falls into that.

However the rooms ARE clean, staff are friendly. Yeah the furniture is dated, but if you want generic and sterile stay with another brand and pay their prices.

Breakfast was help yourself, and trust me some people really went to town on that! Getting more than they could eat and letting their kids smash food into the floor etc

Reading the other reviews and watching the other customers in this hotel I can safely say the problem this hotel has is people expectations... It's a budget hotel, and does what it says on the tin;

Clean rooms, friendly staff and average food. The bar areas are massive and lots to do inside the hotel, yeah bingo not my thing but I went for a cheap break and that's what I got for less than £50!!

The things I witnessed other customers doing shocked me - think benefits street and you won't be far off!

It's Scarborough, not Barbados and if your expecting 5 star standards go and stay, and pay for it!! And don't take it out of the staff as you will hit a brick wall as it's never acceptable to swear at people.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bussie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us, it was good to read your open and honest review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We arrived on the second of three coaches, so although the reception desk had three receptionists doing their best; was it was about 45 minutes to check in. We had a "minus 3", room number. This at first was confusing as there are two types of lifts. One takes you up, the other down. we couldn't figure out how we were going three floors down!. As it turns out, the hotel is built right on the promanade which is below where you arrive. So, from road level, you have a "normal" hotel with floors above you. But, as the hotel has access to the prom' down 3 floors. Once you get the hang of that its fine. Unfortunatley, the downside was that our room.-
(down below), did not have a sea view. This meant we had NO WINDOWS in the room. However we did have a fan for ventilation. As we had only booked for a week, we didn't really see a problem. That was until we dressed in T shirts etc, to go out for the day. When we arrived at the top, ( the hotel reception) only then could we see the rain teaming down, and how dark the day was looking.! Overall, the room was spotless. We had clean towels and the bed made everyday. The bathroom was roomy enough for the two of us, and the bed comfortable.
Foodwise, we could not fault it. There was a good choice at breakfast and evening meal. It was well cooked and tasty. On one ocassion, we went down" late" for our evening meal. About 7.30.p.m. the restuarant closed at 8 pm, But at twenty to 8 staff were still coming and topping up the various dishes as required. Evening entertainment was most acceptable, and always space to sit. All in All, the hotel was very comfortable, spacious, and had lovely reminders of how "Grand" it must have been in its heyday. The only downside we, (my wife and I) would say was having a bedroom with no window. We would stay in the hotel again, and indeed would look forward to.BUT, we would make sure we had a room with a window!!

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us, it was great pleasure to read your review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing