We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a budget hotel . beautiful building seeped with history...I would love to restore it !!
staff very friendly
breakfast good
very warm in the room
you cant grumble at these prices
a lovely break
thanks. ..Townsend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annepault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,815 - 3,821 of 6,644 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here four times now and will be back again. We have stayed in all room types except the turrets yes even the dreaded dungeon. The food is ok suits me as i am a fussy eater so can fill up on things i do like and not go hungry like i do at other places that give you plated meals. I have always found the staff to be very pleasent and helpful from finding ice buckets to keep my wine chilled to extra pillows nothing is to much trouble even when some rude guests are shouting in their faces they keep calm well done.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jennie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I checked into here for one night mistakenly believing it would be a glamorous hotel from days gone by. Wrong! It is in serious need of some money being spent on it. It is soulless and depressing. We asked for an executive double with a sea view. After the first failed attempt at a room we were given one on the 6th floor. Unfortunately we didn't check it out before going out for the evening. To get to it you have to either go up in a lift then exit on the 5th floor and walk up the stairs or just walk up the six flights anyway! And why are there sanitising hand soaps everywhere? It's like being in a sanitarium. Horrible. The room was a joke. Awful bed where you could feel the springs, ancient TV set that I don't think you can even buy anymore. Furniture that shook when you walked past it...all flimsy and fake. Definitely not an executive double and definitely not worth £75!
Breakfast the next day was awful. Cold fried eggs on rubbery toast. No herbal tea. Dirty chair and an overall feeling of neglect and despair.
Was delighted to check out and won't be coming back. It needs a complete overhaul and a ton of money spent on it to revive its very faded glamour.
One plus point....reception staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinytobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your parents experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights Friday/Saturday this week, booked 8 rooms, doubles with a window CLEARLY confirmed with the guy on the phone. Upon check in the double rooms turned out to be singles on levels -2 and -3 basement levels therefore no windows. Questioned this at reception and was told the rooms were what we got and that was it as it was fully booked. The rooms were of very poor standard, an experience I can only imagine to being in a prison cell! Rooms in a poor state of repair, stained carpets mouldy bathrooms etc, as a peacemaker we were given a free evening meal and I have to say the food was poor, Buffett style which only can be described as a "free for all" pushing,shoving and food everywhere! I've stayed in Britannia hotels before and this was not nowhere near like the others. Staff seemed uninterested to help and or listen, if I were you stay elsewhere! Credit where's it due though the breakfast was quite good! We paid £110 per double room, very very over priced in my opinion

Room Tip: Don't stay in the basement rooms! Unless your a caveman!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robbie_A627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your parents experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel was booked by a third party for a ball that weekend.
2 friends staying together so asked for twin room, got a double. No parking space whatsoever, had to park in another hotels car park and carry stuff in.
Room was tiny. Checked in at 6pm, no heating on. Shower was so tiny you couldn't turn in it, water was Luke warm. Bed was positioned by big door windows.. Draft coming through and blowing the flimsy curtains.
You can hear every movement of guests upstairs with creaking floor boards.
Had to ask for extra duvet and pillows as was so cold.
Breakfast was awful... Slop would be one word to describe it. Staff rude and unhelpful.
It's a shame as the building itself and some of the interior (staircase) is beautiful and could be made so much better.
Places opposite had much nicer decor and food and were a lot cheaper than the grand!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mem1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your parents experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Please be aware of this Hotel, my word my Mother and Father are there now, no hot water, Food cold, you serve your self, take your glasses back your self, no staff, basically the Hotel is to big for the few people that work there , I am fetching them back now...... They had to wait outside on a Balcony while they got room ready for entertainment, then all pudding dishes were left on the table.... Word of mouth is very important MS

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmallyWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guest,

As you have posted directly to a review site I cannot contact you directly to discuss your parents experience. Our management team are available 24 hours a day to assist with anything you are concerned about during your stay. Please do feel free to contact us direct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

What a lovely building to stay in! Hotel is in one of the best positions overlooking sea and only yards from town centre. We stayed three nights (booked through National Holidays) in a fabulous room which was immaculately clean and very warm and cosy. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and staff cleared away tables very efficiently. Evening meal was not brilliant for choice but for what we paid - no complaints. Entertainment for three nights was very good and bar staff good. We have stayed in several hotels/guest houses in Scarborough over the years and this is the best for location and value for money etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swimgym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments during your recent visit to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,455 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing