We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basement Cupboards sold as "bedrooms"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked a family room in this hotel for my 2 daughters and myself through the hotel's website. When we checked in we were directed to a room in the basement, known as a 'city room'. The room had no windows and no air conditioning. After asking to be moved to a room with a window I was informed that the website clearly states that all 'city rooms' are internal rooms but with air conditioning. There are 3 floors of 'city rooms' - there was no air conditioning in our room whatsoever, it smelled damp and you needed to hold your breath on the corridor as the smell was so bad.
Cheap. Not cheerful. We didn't stay the second night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

All our City Rooms have air cooling system within them.

Our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,763 - 3,769 of 6,641 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

reading recent reviews on this hotel we decided to grin and bear it we were only stopping two nights , but were really suprised how much we enjoyed our stay.we loved the charm of the place you felt like some kind of nobility walking down the feature stairs the place was clean.the staff were more than helpful and very pleasant food was nice breakfast lots of choice and plentyful and the entertainment was good choice really enjoyed ourselves and will definatly be going back well done

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Ok it was cheap, that should have set the alarms off! Our room was 2 floors underground, whole floor smelled of damp, room worse.
No heating (we left the hair dryer on)
No window!,surely that can't be right
TV from the 60's
No phone signal
No wifi
20 minute wait in bar, it was like queuing for school dinners
Breakfast room was absolutely filthy, food stations were disgraceful
View was lovely if you could actually see through the filth on the window

Britannia Hotels - a byword for an abysmal product in what once were stunning buildings. Shame on you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank pmm24589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay, our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at the grand, because it such a big hotel it is obvious that britannia are struggling to maintain it , and although the hotel is a bit dated it was relatively clean and tidy, the food was excellent and Duncan the resteraunt manager was a credit to the hotel welcoming everyone and working tirelessly to keep everyone happy, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and for the amount we paid the value was very good indeed. The hotel is in a ideal location and I would return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments during your recent visit to us and in addition regarding Duncan.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

within 5 min of being in this hotel i had to go back to reception the room we was put into had a fowl smell of sewage human waste with no window so a box with no way to vent the room we was changed rooms with a little bit of a disgruntled receptionist but never thought much of it everything seemed fine but no the TV did not work the sheet on 1 bed looked urine stained and had a brown dirt mark around the edge ill let you assume what that could of been there was moldy fruit under one of the chairs so at a guess this room had not been cleaned from the previous guest after close to 24 hours later we finally had a TV that was working and clean bedding my partner had decided to use a vending machine next to the lobby area which was also not working properly as it likes your money but does not drop the item another trip to reception went back to meet who was being sent over my partner got smacked clean and hard by a door from the person that was coming to sort the vending machine my partner apologized for being in the way of the unmarked door to be snapped at and told well it is a fire escape door in a very aggressive tone there was not a trace of any indication that the door was a fire escape or even a route to anywhere specific not that it excuses how hard he pushed the door open and completely chose not to even attempt an apology so back to reception yet again to complain about the attitude while waiting was listening to another guest had received as bad if not worse service and was checking out a 6 days early they only checked in the day before so.... i explained what had happened and got told well ill find out who it was and ask for him to be spoken to how satisfying so still no apology and expecting nothing to be said because it looks like the general attitude of most of the staff in the hotel (there was 2 that was nice) diamonds in the rough breakfast was nice waiting staff awful, rude, please please please just choose another hotel it will ruin a a good holiday and also i do not moan complain ever about anything i make do with what iv got (normally)

Room Tip: dont book here please go anywhere but this on it is that bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank adie69704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

We pride ourselves on our bedroom cleanliness within our hotel and I was saddened to read this was not your experience, direct retraining has taken place with the members of our team involved.

Customer service is key to how we operate as hotel, which many of our team have been praised for in the past, however I can see on this occasion this was not the case which we apologise for.

Our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Enjoyed a comfortable weekend, sharing our daughter's birthday with family and friends. Good to see this iconic building still in good use. 'Executive' room was disappointingly cramped, with wonderful view through externally dirty rotting windows. Barely room to get past end of bed, on threadbare, stained, carpet, but otherwise all kept spotlessly clean. Room was warm, despite radiator being turned down to minimum, and no noise from corridors or adjoining rooms. Decor in public areas similarly aged but well-maintained. Staff were all friendly and helpful, but a bit stretched given the numbers they were serving. Our package included access to Premier restaurant, which was more 'exclusive', but still basic self-service mass catering - does anyone choose fish and chips for breakfast? We joined our whole party of 31 for 'dinner' in vast Harbour Lights restaurant, where we blended in with the other bus parties. 'Service' consisted of friendly, obliging, staff re-stocking the vast vats of food, and clearing away empty plates. However, food was plentiful, hot and tasty, with a fair range of choices. Drinks, too, were not over-priced in comparison with most hotels. The costs of maintaining that wonderful building must be enormous, and I think that Britannia Hotels must be complimented on delivering a workable formula.

Room Tip: Difficult to advise, since a wide range of sizes and facilities was apparent in our party's allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyAndyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have just returned from a National Holiday staying at the Grand and although wouldnt expect 5 star since it was a bus party would expect the rooms to be clean. The bathroom was filthy there was at least 6inches of dust/rubbish in the gap between the shower unit and the toilet unit, the door into the bedroom from the bathroom has never been cleaned it was thick with dust and muck, the rim of the shower unit was filthy, the carpet in the bedroom hasnt been cleaned along the edges for months and behind the bedside cabinet hasnt been cleaned in years. Had to ask for a mattress protector for one of the beds when we arrived and pointed out to reception that the room was barely surface clean. It stated on our room card that we had a sea view but the window was that dirty you couldnt see the sea. The food was basic but acceptable, could have been a bit hotter.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

We pride ourselves on our bedroom cleanliness within our hotel and I was saddened to read this was not your experience, direct retraining has taken place with the members of our team involved.

Our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,452 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £32 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing