We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anticipated!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better than anticipated!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a friday-sunday break staying in a standard double room and found all of these terrible reviews very misleading! Read all of these reviews before I went to the hotel so I wasnt expecting a very nice experience but I can honestly say that I enjoyed my stay.
The room was fairly clean except that the windows were very dirty and there was limescale around the bath plug but apart from that, everything else was fine. Window overlooked the back of the hotel so there wasnt much of a view which I wasnt too bothered about. Double bed was 2 single beds that were zipped together but as long as you don't lie on the zip in the middle of them both, theres no problem.
Plenty of storage in the rooms also. Room comes with a plug in heater which is very useful and also comes with kettle, tea and coffee and a small hairdryer.
Originally booked bed and breakfast which is served 8am - 10am but when we went down at 9am the queue was going through the reception so we went to another cafe in the town centre to avoid waiting so I cant rate the food.
Staff are helpful but having only 2 members of staff working at the bar in a large area is very frustrating when you have to wait a while to be served.
Overall I enjoyed my stay and have no major complaints! Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyjkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your honest comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    1,000
    2,258
See reviews for
1,380
3,083
152
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a dump..... filthy carpets throughout and first time ever a room without even a window. total dissapointment from start to finish cant comment on breakfast cause the hour long queue meant we ended up going out stay well away ......................

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kev1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay, our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

On the basis of the reviews below, we nearly 'junked' our Groupon deal at the Grand but decided at the last minute to give it a try anyway. We could always have gone home if it was dire! But it was fine - honestly. You do need to manage expectations as of course the splendour of past times is gone. But for £79 for dinner, bed and breakfast for two people for two nights, what on earth do people expect?

The bed linen was pristine, the rooms were warm, the towels were changed daily and the staff, especially in the restaurant were kind, helpful and extremely efficient.

I do admit that (for us) the first night was better than the second, as at the weekend, the stag parties begin to arrive along with some large families with a few badly behaved children who were not kept in control by their parents. But having said that, most of the guests were charming - young families wanting a cheap break away, groups of elderly people on bus trips and a number of people on group deals like ourselves.

Yes, the fabric of the building needs some work on it but do remember this was once the largest hotel in Europe. I expect it would take many millions to put it back to what it once was - and I'm not sure that today's guests would pay the price for this that the grand ladies and gentlemen of the past would have.

Tips? I would suggest that an upgrade to the better restaurant is probably worth it as you do get a better choice with less people at the buffet. However, we did eat on one of the nights at the cheaper Harbour Lights as we needed to eat early to attend the theatre. The food was perhaps not quite as good but the view over the harbour was superb! You don't get such a staggering view from the Premium restaurant.

But on the whole, we had a lovely time and would certainly try some of the other Britannia hotels on other occasions. Their business model does not lend itself to a posh stay but for value for money it can't be beaten.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneOEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Terrible customer service from hotel reception, first room allocated was single instead of double,like a prison cell.Second room ,still small but had window so dirty,one handle on wardrobe,no cover on tap in bathroom,shower from the arch.Bed clean ,carpets terrible ,needs mega work in hotel.Lots of antibacterial pumps about not many that had any fluid .Pump top of stairs dining room ,during stay didn't see any staff member encouraging anyone use it several outbreaks bacterial infections,I wonder why.Have stayed many places but this is the worst,thank heavens for our friends company as we spent lots time laughing.Enjoyed the weekend not the hotel,you live and learn.

Room Tip: Just don't even consider it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 379Eastenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay, our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just spent one night on a coach deal, and thank goodness it wasn't any longer! What was obviously a beautiful hotel, at some time, many moons ago, is now dirty, run down and in need of a complete refurb. Our bedroom was small, very outdated, dirty, albeit with a sea view. Whilst the bed linen was clean, the mattresses were stained, and one bed had a sheet of ply between the base and mattress, as obviously the springs had gone. Wallpaper was needing replacing, television remote held together with tape, one sachet of tea and coffee on the hospitality tray, and horror of horrors, as stated by a previous reviewer, a letter from the hotel management about the novovirus!! Never seen that literature on a bedside table in a hotel in 50 years of travelling!! The bathroom was not much better, neither of us fancied using the shower, although towels were clean enough. I had forgotten to put a pair of slippers in, but didn't take my socks off at all, as I didn't fancy walking barefoot either in the bedroom or on the bathroom floor. The Harbour Lights restaurant needed a good clean, some of the plates that we picked up had not been washed properly, and were discarded. Food just about edible. Breakfast was worse, greasy fatty bacon, burnt sausages and the most disgusting coffee ever! The best thing about this hotel? the location and the singer in the ballroom! Would we consider staying here again? Absolutely not!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrenchieMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay, our management team are available 24 hours a day to listen, assist and resolve any bad experiences and ensure you have a true holiday experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

What a fantastic building inside and out,we stayed here as a family for a weekend in one of the turret rooms which was spotlessly clean with no faults at all,the spa bath was well used by us all,well worth the climb to the top to appreciate the great views from every porthole window,food was self serve which i prefer and was great,there was a queue at the bar but was served with in 5 minutes not a problem.At breakfast there was a long queue but went down very quickly,its because the food is so good coz i had lots of it.For a budget hotel you cannot fault it and the only downside was that it was over too soon but we are going back for longer,if people didnt turn into Alex Polittzi (hotel inspector) as soon as they cross the doorway and criticize everything they see they might enjoy the break a bit more,your only staying there not moving in permanantly.

Room Tip: if you are a family get a turret room,its like having your own flat,brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eightball84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We booked into The Grand at Scarborough as I had always be fascinated by its history. This grand old hotel was once the biggest hotel in Europe. Of course that was in the 1850's. Now it is just a beautiful old slightly shabby chic hotel. We booked 2 premium sea view rooms on a half board basis. £80 for dinner bed and breakfast per night. Our room was very small but our daughters next door was much bigger with a spa bath which was in good working order. We ate in the premier dining room and we were pleasantly surprised how good the food was. Delightful staff and very well organised. We order a bottle of house wine that was very good and only £9.50!!. Also breakfast was excellent with thick sliced bacon, scrabbled eggs, fried eggs, mushrooms tomatoes hash browns beans all piping hot. Cereals fruit yogurt all you could wish for.
We did notice a lot of people complaining about the queuing for the main restaurant but that was purely due to the fact that there was coach loads of people all slightly elderly who we assumed were a little slow choosing there food from the buffet. We went and looked at the huge restaurant and it was stunning. I recommend paying for premier dining and sea view rooms. Don't choose the 4th floor as the windows are quite small on that floor. Some of the budget rooms have no windows and people were complaining but the reality is those rooms cost £35 or less so what do they expect. All we can say is there is absolutely nothing wrong with this lovely old hotel if you pay for a premium room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Waggy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing