We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the impressive exterior!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the impressive exterior!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a little family night away with our toddler but soon wished we hadn't bothered! This is how our trip went...
We arrived at the hotel to find there was virtually no parking for hotel guests so drove round for ages looking for a space which was quite stressful with a hungry child; once parked we checked into the hotel where the service was average and then headed to our room which was beyond terrible. The carpets were dirty, there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom and a fuse box hanging off the wall at low level which was just dangerous. Despite having booked for 2 adults and a toddler there was only 1 double bed. I went down to reception and was told that a cot or fold up bed would be with us within 30 minutes. This never arrived and I had to request it again at bed time. We had chosen this particular hotel as the website said there was nightly entertainment. We were disappointed to find that this 'entertainment' was bingo until 10pm so no good for a little one. Drinks were also very expensive at £3.80 for a bottle of lager. It was then very difficult to sleep as it was very hot in our room even though our radiator was off. We had to sleep with the window open which didn't lead to a peaceful nights sleep with hundreds of seagulls circling outside. We were extremely fed up this morning and looking forward to a good breakfast but no joy there unfortunately as the food quality was poor and service worse which I think was due to being understaffed in the dining room.
The only positive I have to comment on is the building it's which is very grand and boasts superb views. This could be a fantastic hotel but needs a lot of money spending to bring it up to scratch

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

Due to the age of the hotel we have no car parking, we do sell £3 parking permits which are valid in a number of areas surrounding the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    1,232
    1,277
    978
    2,204
See reviews for
1,361
3,027
150
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have just returned from a 5 Day coach holiday based at the Grand. It is a very imposing building on the edge of cliff top with majestic views over the sands and town. Our room was on the 4th floor and from the window we could see across the bay to the castle or the Harbour and Sands which are closer.
We heard people complaining about the sea Gulls but being a seaside town and the hotel,along with many other properties .being at the top of cliffs is a great attraction for them and they can be seen and heard across the town and not only at the Grand. It is a case of accepting that Gulls are a feature of all seaside townsand are a way of life.

The room was comfortable and the heating was controlled by the hotel to come on for two hours in the evening from 5.30pm and again early am as we always woke to a warm room every morning. Constant supply of hot water. No bath but a very efficient shower.

The dining room ran the full length of the building overlooking the beach and harbour.. Access to the Dining Room is controlled by staff and instructions forthcoming as to where to sit. Being self serve there are 2 food counters both offering a selection of cooked and cold foods. The meals could not be faulted and it was observed on the days chicken was on the menu the Chef regulary checked the temperatures.

The entertainment was provided daily with Cabaret starting at 930pm.A helpful tip for those driving to the hotel there is no parking.The staff tell of the arrangements in hand to help solve this problem.

Would we come back? Most definetly.

A few tips .To get to the beach either take a pleasant walk through the cliff gardens ot use the Lift(Tram) which is along side the hotel. We prefered to walk down and take the Lift back. Take a ride on the seafront open top Bus service.Adults travel for £2 one way withthe return trip free on production of your outward ticket. There are consessions too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Dubious about booking this hotel from the reviews and friends reactions BUT it was fabulous! Paid £90 for two nights b and b for daughter, me and well behaved Westie. Our room was to the left of the magnificent staircase at the front of the hotel - overlooking the beach. It was warm, spotlessly clean with lovely comfy bed, the decor was jaded and needed an overhaul but the ceiling was high, corniced with a picture rail - lovely old french windows out onto a balcony and sloping floors - it has the potential to be delightful.
Breakfast was served as a buffet - cereal, porridge, juices, grapefruit, prunes, cooked selection, toast marmalade tea coffee - basic but very good value. Wonderful views from the dining room and plenty of seagulls - this is a seaside holiday!
Our stay was brilliant value and well exceeded the £90 we paid - the hotel does not pretend to be anymore than what it is - you don't get 5 star for £45 a night. The staff were friendly and helpful - we checked in later at about 4pm and no queues. The room was serviced daily. The communal areas of the hotel are stunning - the staircase and first floor landing are amazing. There is ongoing refurbishment and two wings have been completed, the hotel has to stay open whilst the work is being undertaken. Go with an open mind enjoy the views, the beautiful building and it's history.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard room on first floor. It was near the cabaret ballroom however we were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woollybikeknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Having read lots of reviews I was a little apprehensive going to the Grand.Once I walked off the coach and entered the hotel I was overcome with what it had been in its time.I loved the enormous main staircase...very Grand Hotel Budapest. I loved the ballrooms and dining room.I was living in yhe past and imagining whst it had been.My room was a shock on the 6th floor as I thouht I was sharing it with the seagulls!Actually once I got over thr shock of them peering in and tapping on the window,they stopped being a problem.I slept really well and enjoyed my own Spa bath.Food was varied with lots of choice in the evenings.I particularly liked breakfast.No shortages of tables, very hardworking staff.The only downside was no hot water on 2 occasions but the staff were very helpful.All staff were attentive and hardworking.My biggest misfortune was losing my sunglasses on the last day...my own fault for leaving them in the toilets!

Room Tip: Sea view 4th 5th 6th floor.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosiebolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of the month and really enjoyed my stay here,I found the staff very pleasant and extremely helpful we had a problem with our room a bath when we prefer a shower and it was changed immediately.The main areas of this hotel are stunning especially the staircase but the rest is what you,d expect from a hotel of this age(tired).the food was delicious freshly cooked and lots of choice and the staff in the dining room were great,there was a cabaret show every evening that although not my thing was ok .Unfortunately it was very foggy and cold so cannot tell you much about the views but it was a very pleasant 4days

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinah0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I have been staying here 3 or 4 times a year for the last 3 years now. We always get a premier room with a sea view at a very good price. The premier rooms also allows you entrance to the premier dining hall. The food is great and the stay has always been fantastic. I sometimes hear negative comments about peoples experience at the hotel but as we always go premier, we have never had any issues. The staff have always been friendly, the hotel has fantastic architecture, lots of character and we have gone back time after time. If you decide to go premier, then I cannot recommend the Grand Hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am so sorry that the Grand Hotel is so bad as the staff are lovely and helpful and the location cannot be faulted. But despite these positives, sadly the negatives hugely out weigh them. First there are know where near enough staff to handle the volumes of people checking in or to deal with the running of the restaurant. And while we are on the subject of the restaurant, it is bad, cataclysmically bad, the food is salty disgusting and badly cooked, and in addition to this the so called "Hot Food" is far from that, it is cold. I would say the serving of cold food is dangerous, and I urge the hotel to take swift action. It is ironic however that in the restaurant the cold starters and gateaux are warm, and as a result of this as bad as the mains. Such a shame, I thought this place had turned a corner.

Room Tip: I advise you go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_VeryHungryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing