We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible & Dangerous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible & Dangerous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

1. No view = 3 floors down in the basement. No windows anywhere so obviously no view of anything whatsoever.

2. Consequently no mobile or WiFi signal. And as no phone in any rooms, when a guest assaulted another guest at 3.15 this morning, between our room and the lift we were effectively trapped. Other guests were in the same position as us. When a security man did eventually turn up he wanted to know why no one had gone to get him! Doh! I have complained to the duty manager but not hopeful of any action being taken. Thank God have checked out - they don't even know if the guy is still in the hotel tonight.

A MAN ASSAULTED A FEMALE GUEST AND THEIR COMMENT IS 'THEY'RE AWARE OF IT'

I'll be ringing 101 to report to North Yorkshire Police.

Its just grotty, reception can't cope with check in and the core market is cheap coach trips. Will never stay here again, it's a right dive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whiterose307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

In relation to the incident this was dealt with at the time, we work extremely close with North Yorkshire police who are aware of the incident.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,210
    1,250
    949
    2,145
See reviews for
1,312
2,948
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The only thing grand about this hotel is its name. It is living in the past. The exterior looks good until you look a bit closer and see the rust and flaking paint work. There is no guest parking available other than on the street - if you can find it. Our room was possibly last decorated in the 1960's renovation. Wallpaper was peeling, there was no shower just a very dated bath; the light over the sink did not work, the cold tap moved, as did the toilet seat. The TV was mounted high up on a wall so viewing it gave you a crick in the neck. The dining facilities were appalling. Formica tables and chairs with their faux leather plastic covering peeling off - all laid out too close together in serried ranks. The food reminded me of school dinners except mine, over 40 years ago in a South London comprehensive, were far more tasty and better presented. I could go on, but I think this is one of the worst hotels I have stayed in and I have had the good fortune to travel to the world's five continents.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, if you must go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deenie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

Due to the age of the hotel we have no car parking, we do sell £3 parking permits which are valid in a number of areas surrounding the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

There are alot of poor reviews for this hotel on trip advisor so was worried to what we would find on our arrival. I am pleased to say i was pleasantly surprised! The hotel is an imposing traditional victorian building, by far the most impressive exterior in Scarborough. The hotel is steeped in history and the public spaces are large and must have magnificent when it was built for the victorian holiday makers. In some areas the hotel was a little tatty around the edges but on the whole clean and tidy. This hotel is ideally located for both the town (top of cliff) and beach (bottom of cliff) both are a short walking distance. We had the bed and breakfast option, breakfast is served in a large dining room with excellent sea views. The food was served as a hot buffet, its was plentiful and tasty and a good start to the day. Our room was on the small side but warm and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom seemed new and the addition of a whirlpool bath was a pleasant surprise. The Grand in its day would have been 5 star luxury. Its not that now but it is great value for money for a weekend away.

Room Tip: Avoid 'internal' rooms with no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went based on memories of the seventies. How the mighty have fallen. It's still the same imposing position but... nothing else much has changed since the seventies either.

We knew as soon as we entered the cell like room that we were going to hate it. There on the dressing table was an advice slip about norovirus attacks. I've stayed in plenty of hotels and this is the first that has felt the need to offer advice.

And the rest just followed on. Suffice it to say that we cut our holiday short and went home a day early - one night was all we could take.

So, next time, I'll check out the TripAdvisor reviews first.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverSloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a little family night away with our toddler but soon wished we hadn't bothered! This is how our trip went...
We arrived at the hotel to find there was virtually no parking for hotel guests so drove round for ages looking for a space which was quite stressful with a hungry child; once parked we checked into the hotel where the service was average and then headed to our room which was beyond terrible. The carpets were dirty, there was an awful smell coming from the bathroom and a fuse box hanging off the wall at low level which was just dangerous. Despite having booked for 2 adults and a toddler there was only 1 double bed. I went down to reception and was told that a cot or fold up bed would be with us within 30 minutes. This never arrived and I had to request it again at bed time. We had chosen this particular hotel as the website said there was nightly entertainment. We were disappointed to find that this 'entertainment' was bingo until 10pm so no good for a little one. Drinks were also very expensive at £3.80 for a bottle of lager. It was then very difficult to sleep as it was very hot in our room even though our radiator was off. We had to sleep with the window open which didn't lead to a peaceful nights sleep with hundreds of seagulls circling outside. We were extremely fed up this morning and looking forward to a good breakfast but no joy there unfortunately as the food quality was poor and service worse which I think was due to being understaffed in the dining room.
The only positive I have to comment on is the building it's which is very grand and boasts superb views. This could be a fantastic hotel but needs a lot of money spending to bring it up to scratch

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand.

Due to the age of the hotel we have no car parking, we do sell £3 parking permits which are valid in a number of areas surrounding the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have just returned from a 5 Day coach holiday based at the Grand. It is a very imposing building on the edge of cliff top with majestic views over the sands and town. Our room was on the 4th floor and from the window we could see across the bay to the castle or the Harbour and Sands which are closer.
We heard people complaining about the sea Gulls but being a seaside town and the hotel,along with many other properties .being at the top of cliffs is a great attraction for them and they can be seen and heard across the town and not only at the Grand. It is a case of accepting that Gulls are a feature of all seaside townsand are a way of life.

The room was comfortable and the heating was controlled by the hotel to come on for two hours in the evening from 5.30pm and again early am as we always woke to a warm room every morning. Constant supply of hot water. No bath but a very efficient shower.

The dining room ran the full length of the building overlooking the beach and harbour.. Access to the Dining Room is controlled by staff and instructions forthcoming as to where to sit. Being self serve there are 2 food counters both offering a selection of cooked and cold foods. The meals could not be faulted and it was observed on the days chicken was on the menu the Chef regulary checked the temperatures.

The entertainment was provided daily with Cabaret starting at 930pm.A helpful tip for those driving to the hotel there is no parking.The staff tell of the arrangements in hand to help solve this problem.

Would we come back? Most definetly.

A few tips .To get to the beach either take a pleasant walk through the cliff gardens ot use the Lift(Tram) which is along side the hotel. We prefered to walk down and take the Lift back. Take a ride on the seafront open top Bus service.Adults travel for £2 one way withthe return trip free on production of your outward ticket. There are consessions too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Dubious about booking this hotel from the reviews and friends reactions BUT it was fabulous! Paid £90 for two nights b and b for daughter, me and well behaved Westie. Our room was to the left of the magnificent staircase at the front of the hotel - overlooking the beach. It was warm, spotlessly clean with lovely comfy bed, the decor was jaded and needed an overhaul but the ceiling was high, corniced with a picture rail - lovely old french windows out onto a balcony and sloping floors - it has the potential to be delightful.
Breakfast was served as a buffet - cereal, porridge, juices, grapefruit, prunes, cooked selection, toast marmalade tea coffee - basic but very good value. Wonderful views from the dining room and plenty of seagulls - this is a seaside holiday!
Our stay was brilliant value and well exceeded the £90 we paid - the hotel does not pretend to be anymore than what it is - you don't get 5 star for £45 a night. The staff were friendly and helpful - we checked in later at about 4pm and no queues. The room was serviced daily. The communal areas of the hotel are stunning - the staircase and first floor landing are amazing. There is ongoing refurbishment and two wings have been completed, the hotel has to stay open whilst the work is being undertaken. Go with an open mind enjoy the views, the beautiful building and it's history.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard room on first floor. It was near the cabaret ballroom however we were not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woollybikeknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing