We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well..............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Staindrop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Well..............”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel certainly looks impressive, on the cliff top overlooking the town and beach, and the public areas inside are quite impressive too. But as with all hotels of this era, it's starting to look tired and in need of a lot of TLC. At first glance you think, yes, this is great, but when you really look you can see the peeling paintwork, rusting ironwork, worn carpets etc., etc.

That being said, the room was clean and tidy with everything we needed, albeit on the small side, but we didn't intend to spend much time in the hotel, so that didn't really matter. Most of the guests seemed to be elderly on coach holidays.

The breakfasts were very good, well cooked and plentiful. We didn't stay for dinner so I can't comment on that.

I don't think I would have stayed here had the rooms been more expensive - there was a special offer on for a three night stay which was quite reasonable. It's in a good location, quite central for the main shopping area and trains and buses, so that's one thing in its favour. There's nightly entertainment but it's nothing to write home about - in fact one female singer came on at 9.45 and only sang for half an hour! Not really worth getting a drink in for that amount of time.

Would I stay there again? Doubt it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 344 which was at the front of the hotel and quite small. There was only a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carnivalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    1,224
    1,263
    960
    2,167
See reviews for
1,331
2,985
150
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Went for a weekend away and decided to stay here as they had a room for £42 - such a rip off. It was without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was very run down, the bath plug wouldn't come out, the jets in the bath wouldn't work, dirty towels and when the tv was turned on there was a very loud humming sound coming from it- there wasn't even a clear picture on the tv. We stayed in a 'cheap' room, downstairs where the kitchen is. The kitchen doors were constantly left open so everyone walking past in the corridor could see, there was rubbish and food left on trolleys around the corridor and it stunk of bleach! The worst part was, there was no phone in the room, nor could we get signal or connect to wifi. When i went up to complain about there being no phone in the room and not being able to get signal, i was told i wouldn't need a phone. Yet if there was an emergency i wouldn't have been able to call anyone to help. At about 1:30am the fire alarm went off for about a minuet, i decided to go upstairs anyway to see what it was. Although the alarm had stopped going in my room and wasn't going in the corridor outside, no one else had gone up but i decided to check. Once i got upstairs i could hear the alarm going off and people had come into the reception. I told the staff people downstairs could not hear it and although it was an accident and not a real fire, i was told they didn't need to hear the alarm. A woman who was staying there told me that a light was flashing in her room upstairs and the alarm was going off very loud, however this did not happen downstairs. We also paid £10 for late check out - although we did not get our lie in because at 9:30am a cleaner walked into our room. I would advise anyone who is thinking about going here to keep looking for other hotels. It was very run down and not worth the money. Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky1243uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

i have been to the grand a few times with my boyfriend and i always enjoy my stay for the price you pay it is worth it. yeah could do with a lick of paint here and there but i like the hotel. staff are always friendly we enjoy it so much and tell my parents about it they are staying there for their honeymoon.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband recently booked the Pent House at this hotel; he asked for the best room they had on offer. He wanted to suprise me with a weekend away and get away from everything.

When we got to the hotel the hotel was very period,looked nice,but run down. Our room as we were expecting or hoping would be some thing really nice was a huge let down. I didn't say anything to my husband but the room was very basic.The TV did not have a clear picture at all; the room was in my eyes was a very standard room, nothing lush at all.

We booked premier, but were not able to eat until 8.30pm; too late for me , so we ate in the harbour lights; lets just say the food was something to dedesired.

I would say this hotel in it's day would have been very good, but now needs an upgrade and the food really needs to improve alot.

Breakfast was average, bed fairly comfy, but won't be going back there, i have stayed in better rooms for half the cost of this Pent House.

Room Tip: Probably nicer hotels near by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Travel to Scarborough 5 or 6 times a year its one of my favourite hotspots, but never stayed over. When I saw dinner, bed and breakfast for £57 it was a no brainer. Check inn was smoth, the place looked in character on the inside, grand and elegant but worn in places. We had a basement room so no window, bothered me at first but it was a lovely evening so we ventured out to explore. Dinner was mass produced easy to serve food, carvery style. Turkey, tuna bake or beef pasty, worked ok. Our room although no window was spacious and clean, shower was spot on, constant hot water and a mighty pressure. Breakfast again mass produced buffet style, it served its purpose, messy in places but the waiting staff were pleasant. We ventured round the hotel and there is that grand feel about it with the open staircase and ballrooms. My only negative would be the smell in the basement corridors and rooms, once you were used it it it became bareable a real fusty stale smell. When you think the travelodge accross the road wanted double what I paid, I am glad I had the experience. Scarborough by night is stunning, especially on a nice evening, eating ice cream at 9pm at night walking on the beach was amazing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yogibear30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morlandmonk
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is amazing, a little dated and clearly targeted at the coach trip market, but even without the tlc that she deserves she is marvellous. The staff are friendly and the location could not be better. Main complaint is that, if you sign up for the rewards programme at the hotel, you do not get the points for that stay (unlike nearly every other hotel scheme I've ever joined!).

Room Tip: Every room is different but make sure you tell them you want a window (some rooms do not!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Picked a standard room not as picture shown.Bathroom very shabby and ill equipped.No bedside tables and furniture looks like it came from a charity shop.Old fashioned tv in room.Creaking floor boards ,dread to think what a budget room is like.Good point food was good.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and go for a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

As you have posted directly to Tripadvisor I cannot investigate which bedroom you stayed within so we can fully investigate your feedback, this is not the standards we have in place at the hotel.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,754 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing