We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one night only”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have just spent 1 night in the Grand Hotel. Its old and in need of upgrading. My room was ok but 1 night was enough. The staff were fantastic though, I requested a fan and within 5 minutes it was delivered to my room. The staff were very friendly and polite. Breakfast was something else, burnt sausage dry bacon, if I'd not been so hungry I dont think I'd have bothered. Its such a same as this hotel is in a perfect position and could be made nice. I could see that there were some refurbishment going on as there were rolls of new carpets in the enterence area,

Room Tip: Dont expect too much its a low value accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

Extensive refurbishment works continues across the hotel at present to update our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    1,224
    1,263
    960
    2,167
See reviews for
1,331
2,985
150
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we booked two rooms for my friend, my mum & I on the Easter bank holiday. We were placed below ground level & though the rooms were of adequate size, the lack of windows made it very claustrophobic. Also there was no wardrobe in my mums' room which meant she had to hang her clothes on a hook. As there is no mobile phone signal down in the bunker rooms & no room telephones my mum found this made her feel unsafe, as although we had asked repeatedly for rooms adjacent to each other mum was on the same floor but different corridor. The breakfast was ok fairly standard buffet breakfast with good choice, but generally not hot. Mum left her mobile her room regrettably on leaving; which the hotel said they had posted on, it never turned up! & a false delivery number was given. This left us very disappointed.... Never again !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view do not end up in the dungeons !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocca94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Emergency Telephones are located within each corridor within the hotel in the event of any emergency.

Please contact us direct so we can resolve your item of lost property, at no time would a false tracking number be given, strict procedures are in place for dealing with any lost property case to reunite our guests with lost items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Burnley
Level Contributor
143 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First i totally agree with A.W. from Oldham comments. This is a budget hotel and if you dont want to up grade then dont moan, you wanted cheap and got it!That said, this hotel was built in 1867 and yes it isn't perfect and still needs some work on it but taking that into account, what a magnificent building. I for one am glad that a company is willing to put their money into this superb building that not many would want to if they came out.The staircase, the high ceilings, absolutely brilliant just take time to look and take you cannot help but be impressed.Problems, well we didn't upgrade and were satisfied with what we got for the money.Breakfast i must say i have had better and to me that would be the first thing i would sort,get that right and you will satisfy a lot of people.Staff,well where do i start must have been in a different hotel to many who have wrote on here and i would like to mention one person in particularly and that's Lucy on reception.If Lucy was a template for the organization then there would be no problems at all. I found her to be very professional and has a brilliant personality.She is a credit to your company and made our visit a pleasure with the effect that we would not hesitate to book again,but would upgrade as A.W. recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipKBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us and your special comments regarding Lucy.

Our team work and efficiently each day to ensure every guest receives an amazing Holiday Experience.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel from the inside does not match the glory of the outside Victorian architecture. The Wi-Fi service was only available at the ground floor public areas and did not cover at all the rooms. No value for money.

Room Tip: They gave me a room with no shower but only with a bathtub and with no mixing of the water. This mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKondylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Extensive refurbishment works continues across the hotel at present to update our product.

Our Wi-Fi is available in all public areas of the hotel, in addition we have to Internet Desks within the main hotel lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights here in May... the last three I'll waste money on again, it got off to the worst possible start I've had anywhere in the world.. our rooms with sea views had been pre booked for months in advance so after check in the last thing I expected was to go to my room which was ideally situated on -1 floor to let myself in and find it already occupied!! The occupants were thankfully not in the room at the time but all their belongings were and cases. After making my way back to reception with my case golf battery etc I was curtly informed by an ill mannered guy it was unfortunate and was given room 670.. yes the 6th floor attic rooms with no sea view in fact hardly a view at all out of a 3x2 window of the roof and turrets... Grand!! Never! And never again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lancsdave7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We do not have a bedroom 670 within the hotel, during May we were training new reception team members and a genuine error has been made which we apologise for.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am afraid the only two things grand about this Brittania Hotel, is the outside façade and the indoor staircase. The hotel price was very cheap, and got us to where we wanted to be, albeit the South Bay, whereas we prefer the North Bay. Parking is atrocious, and if you are lucky enough to get in one of the disc parking spaces outside the hotel, make a note of where you parked. As when you pick up your car it will be a white one, from seagull excrement! The hotel has a large cliental of old timers, hence there are more bottles of antiseptic hand wash than our local NHS hospital, we were told by locals that this is because they have had outbreaks of novo virus. The food is not very inviting and barely cooked, everything is self service, the whole hotel could do with a makeover and £10 million spending on it. The beds are not very comfortable and , the rooms are not very well insulated against noise.

Room Tip: We were in room 423 which was right next to the corridor swing doors, if you could ask for a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

Extensive refurbishment works continues across the hotel at present to update our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here many many times, three times this year so far for weekend breaks.
If you pay budget prices for B&B then you'll get budget accommodation, simple as that.
Yes there are many "basement" rooms with no windows and indeed they are vile. These are the cheapest rooms.
However, go for a "sea-view" room on either the 2nd, 3rd or 4th floors and you'll be extremely happy. Large, airy bedrooms with wonderful views. Bathrooms with Jacuzzi spa baths. And you can get cheap deals for these rooms if you look around enough on the internet.
As for the food: If you're in the main dining room it's like a cattle market and you have to queue for ages at times. So the same applies: Upgrade to the Premier Dining Room where you get more choice of food, better quality, no queues and a lovely, quiet peaceful experience.
To summarise: You have a choice here - pay very little and get very little or pay more and get the experience that you want. It's up to you. We all have a choice.
Let's face it, if you walk into Poundland you don't expect to walk out with Belgian chocolates now do you??

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms on 2nd, 3rd or 4th floors are wonderful. I wouldn't even think of staying in ANY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,755 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing