We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you dont get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you dont get what you pay for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

i have just returned from the grand scarborough and thought id share my bad experience.Because i was taking my mother who is 84 and my aunt who is 86 we required 3 seperate beds so i rang reservations to ask which room would be suitable for us. She suggested we book a family 4 room as it would definitely have 4 beds she told me, one probably a double and 2 more. She sold me this room with a sea view and also premier dining package. On arrival at the hotel i was informed by receptionist Lucy that the problem she had was we couldnt get into the premier dining room until 9 o clock. Considering opening hours finish at 9 o clock we considered that too late. she said you can either eat in the normal dining room or go the Royal hotel a short walk away and use their dining room.We opted for this but we hadnt bargained on leaving hotel to eat and it wasnt far but up a little hill but i would nt have chosen that for them. Also when we got there it was the dining room for everyone in the hotel but waiter service when we prefer buffet which was what we d chosen and paid for. now for the room which when we got there was a family 3 room with a double and a single bed. back to reception and she put us in another room,very nice but still double and single. She then drastically upgraded us to a "turret " room. Round rooms with porthole windows , up five floors in lift, alomg a corridor to another lift, up to 6th floor then up 2 flights to room. Not suitable with an 84 and 86 year old ,2 rooms but if we d wanted to be seperate we d have booked a single and a double. Also no sea view. Rang reservations at that point and they said obviously hotel had changed our room and we definitely booked into family 4 room with seaview,. I asked who to complain to and he said duty manager. Back to reception and asked for duty manager, she says thats me. HELP. I only want what i paid for nothing more. not an upgrade to a turret or better bu tjust what i paid for. lucy said only 1 flight up to turret but definitely 2 after 2 lifts. she then said no rooms of that type exist in hotel so i had to sleep on leatherette settee dropped down to form makeshift bed. in dining room next morning waitress said where did you eat last night . We said no room here last night or tonight, she said i put you in at 8 if you like. farcical. iI only wanted what i paid for, not an upgrade or anything more, just what i paid for and we didnt get it.

Room Tip: i would have said book the room you want not take pot luck but it didnt work for us!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretnixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We cannot guarantee all requests, which would have been indicated, which you yourself comment on.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,212
    1,251
    949
    2,145
See reviews for
1,312
2,950
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with national holidays for one night. Room was clean and bed very comfy. Had a room on first floor with a balcony which was great. Entertainment, the Beat Legends, excellent :-). Not much can be said about the evening meal apart from I wish we had gone to McDonalds. Overdone beef, burnt roast potatoes and no Yorkshire puds. Overall though with the steam train trip included it was a very cheap break.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

booked hotel thinking it would be lovely. read reviewes noticed hotel had rooms with no windows . thought I better contact hotel as my husband suffers from clostifobia . got email bk saying they would try but not guaranteed to get us room with windows. arrived at hotel to be told we were in room with no windows told them our situation but they told me hotel was full. so unfortunately we had to take it .told to try again at 7 that night but still no rooms. we noticed they cater for elderly and disabled but not for people with certain illnesses which is just as bad as been disabled. we think they need to look at there policies for certain illnesses wonder how they would of coped with been stuck in a room like we had right down on the third floor basement u could not go any further down. room smelt of dampness , very dated, not nice at all. bar quietexpensive. would never choose this hotel again. very disappointing.

Room Tip: make sure before booking that they r not giving u a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen111969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We cannot guarantee all requests, which would have been indicated, which you yourself comment on.

We try our upmost to grant requests, however we would recommend booking a higher grade bedroom if you did not wish one of our City Bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

bridlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

when arrived it took two hours to check in 3 rooms later we where in it all needs a dam good clean and bringing up to date. the room was so hot even with windows open.the food was eat able but should of been alot better. it was cheap but still no need for the state its in

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The only pleasant ten minutes of our stay was writing a scathing customer response (for which I've received no response). Room below ground (not warned of when booking), no windows, unsafe exits, dodgy elevator, small, dirty, hot, parking a joke, unhelpful staff, appalling breakfast, no wifi or phone reception in rooms, flat pillows, no means of exhaust for shower, no bath plug. Our worst stay in 2 months in the UK, and I'm including hostels.
Cheap, yes, but only do it if you're desperate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mammaviraginis .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We aim to respond to all customer feedback within a timely manner, I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

After reading varied reviews, especially with regards the inner rooms without any windows, I decided to go for it as I have wanted to stay here for years. My fears were allayed after I had contacted the hotel a few days before leaving home (coach trip on a 3 day stay) and was told I had a standard non interior room. On arrival it was all I had expected and then some. The décor, albeit showing it's age, was very atmospheric, like the hotel from the film Somewhere in Time with Christopher Reeve and Jayne Seymour. The lounge is very large and accommodating, the room we had was quite small but functional. Several smaller looms are scattered around the ground floor if you want a quiet read. The views from the restaurant were superb, and the buffet breakfast and dinner were absolutely gorgeous. Bar prices were not cheap, but a trip to the supermarket soon resolved that. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back again, as long as we had a decent room confirmed. We used the tram lift to the promenade and back again, as it is a fair leg up the hill to the hotel. All in all, and enjoyable trip

Room Tip: They have turret rooms for great views, but it is a lottery to get a decent size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Oh does this hotel lack TLC we spent 3 nights here the breakfast was disastrous how anybody can serve bacon like that I really don't understand surely not a chef, the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired clean but in need of decoration.There were weeds growing out of the walls on the balcony. Also dead pigeons and seagulls caught in the netting with maggots and flies on them. The ballroom looks lovely until the curtains open and show the stage,this would look better in a village hall surely the wall behind the curtain could have been painted at the same time as the rest of the room so the scuff marks don't show. Shame for such a lovely building steeped in history

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Extensive refurbishment works continues across the hotel at present to update our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing