We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,654 - 3,660 of 6,725 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Got a Sunday night , dinner and breakfast with a bottle of wine deal. But was told the basic price of £24.50 each was for a room with now windows ! So we got a double room with a window for £30.00 each.
The room we had was on the 5th floor with double bed and en suite with bath ( no shower ) but we were glad of a bath after the long walks we had done. The room was clean but basic. The small tv in the room was near the ceiling , so you got a stiff neck looking at it ! We were only given the minimum of teabags / coffee / milk etc. We did sleep ok .
The dinner was about ok and it was lovely to have a nice bottle of wine to go with our meal.The atmosphere in the hotel was good and we enjoyed having a few drinks.
Breakfast , well don't touch the sausages but everything else was reasonable.
For parking , if you find a spot then pay £3.00 to the hotel and you can stay from 9.00 am till 1.30 the next day. We thought this was very good as we got a spot right outside the hotel.

Would we stay here again...we probably would if we got the right deal....although I think one night or two would be enough. You can always upgrade to a premier room but we have no idea what they are like.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotels frustrate me when they don't realize its sometimes the attention to detail that can spoil a stay and bad reviews can be based on trivial things that would cost a little more.
I Booked a family weekend break for 5 adults and two children.
and booked Standard Rooms.(first mistake)
To be fair this was a budget break, The grand basks in its Victorian Splendor. must of been an amazing building when it was built. The hotel caters for and needs large occupancy with over 400 rooms. The staff are courteous and the place is generally clean.
The room I had was on the 6th floor, (7 up 3 down) but lets just say the cat has serious head injuries. I can only imagine what a budget room was like. The bathroom amazingly had a large spa bath, but I would much rather had a bigger bed. The owners are missing a trick by not installing flat screens tv. to give the appearance of more space..

The little things... The advertised nightly entertainment from a company that boast Bluecoats was very poor a very nice gentleman of far eastern origin singing who to be honest would have got 3 X;s in 30 seconds on B.G.T. and Bingo. I think they have decide to cater for the coach trips of our most senior citizens who are probably deaf, a choice that isn't reflective of the actual demographic that I experienced. Then everything finished at 10 o'clock, "In a full Hotel on a Saturday Night.
Now back to my title. I have traveled the UK , and stayed in many hotels and eaten in transport cafes to Michelin stared restaurants etc. but I have never tasted such poor Sausages. . Normally in feedback you are asked if you owned the company what would you do. The first thing I would do is sack the fool who orders them Brown pieces of flavored breadcrumbs and offal. "Disgusting".
Would I stay there again . "Probably" The challenge would be to upgrade but then would the extra cost be better spent on a higher standard hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade too Seaview and or executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We are currently in the process of updating our televisions across the hotel, this will take some time due to the size of the hotel.

We will pass your feedback regarding the sausages to our Food Services team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed during May half term (2 adults, 2 children aged 10 & 8) and were a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We paid £225 for two nights half board during the school holidays and had a fabulous suite with both sea and town views, whirlpool bath which we all enjoyed and both bedrooms were huge with sofa, chairs, numerous drawers and two lots of tea making facilities. We ate in the premier dining room which was excellent and all of the staff we spoke to were lovely. We managed to park outside the Cliff Hotel just around the corner and used the parking permits from the hotel at £3 per day. The entertainment wasn't to our taste as it was aimed more for the older generation singing songs from many years ago and the stage looked like it needed a lick of paint but other than that we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Stay in the turrets or in sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30Faye59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

i have just returned from the grand scarborough and thought id share my bad experience.Because i was taking my mother who is 84 and my aunt who is 86 we required 3 seperate beds so i rang reservations to ask which room would be suitable for us. She suggested we book a family 4 room as it would definitely have 4 beds she told me, one probably a double and 2 more. She sold me this room with a sea view and also premier dining package. On arrival at the hotel i was informed by receptionist Lucy that the problem she had was we couldnt get into the premier dining room until 9 o clock. Considering opening hours finish at 9 o clock we considered that too late. she said you can either eat in the normal dining room or go the Royal hotel a short walk away and use their dining room.We opted for this but we hadnt bargained on leaving hotel to eat and it wasnt far but up a little hill but i would nt have chosen that for them. Also when we got there it was the dining room for everyone in the hotel but waiter service when we prefer buffet which was what we d chosen and paid for. now for the room which when we got there was a family 3 room with a double and a single bed. back to reception and she put us in another room,very nice but still double and single. She then drastically upgraded us to a "turret " room. Round rooms with porthole windows , up five floors in lift, alomg a corridor to another lift, up to 6th floor then up 2 flights to room. Not suitable with an 84 and 86 year old ,2 rooms but if we d wanted to be seperate we d have booked a single and a double. Also no sea view. Rang reservations at that point and they said obviously hotel had changed our room and we definitely booked into family 4 room with seaview,. I asked who to complain to and he said duty manager. Back to reception and asked for duty manager, she says thats me. HELP. I only want what i paid for nothing more. not an upgrade to a turret or better bu tjust what i paid for. lucy said only 1 flight up to turret but definitely 2 after 2 lifts. she then said no rooms of that type exist in hotel so i had to sleep on leatherette settee dropped down to form makeshift bed. in dining room next morning waitress said where did you eat last night . We said no room here last night or tonight, she said i put you in at 8 if you like. farcical. iI only wanted what i paid for, not an upgrade or anything more, just what i paid for and we didnt get it.

Room Tip: i would have said book the room you want not take pot luck but it didnt work for us!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretnixon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We cannot guarantee all requests, which would have been indicated, which you yourself comment on.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with national holidays for one night. Room was clean and bed very comfy. Had a room on first floor with a balcony which was great. Entertainment, the Beat Legends, excellent :-). Not much can be said about the evening meal apart from I wish we had gone to McDonalds. Overdone beef, burnt roast potatoes and no Yorkshire puds. Overall though with the steam train trip included it was a very cheap break.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

booked hotel thinking it would be lovely. read reviewes noticed hotel had rooms with no windows . thought I better contact hotel as my husband suffers from clostifobia . got email bk saying they would try but not guaranteed to get us room with windows. arrived at hotel to be told we were in room with no windows told them our situation but they told me hotel was full. so unfortunately we had to take it .told to try again at 7 that night but still no rooms. we noticed they cater for elderly and disabled but not for people with certain illnesses which is just as bad as been disabled. we think they need to look at there policies for certain illnesses wonder how they would of coped with been stuck in a room like we had right down on the third floor basement u could not go any further down. room smelt of dampness , very dated, not nice at all. bar quietexpensive. would never choose this hotel again. very disappointing.

Room Tip: make sure before booking that they r not giving u a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen111969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We cannot guarantee all requests, which would have been indicated, which you yourself comment on.

We try our upmost to grant requests, however we would recommend booking a higher grade bedroom if you did not wish one of our City Bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £28 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing