We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break to Grand "But dated" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Short Break to Grand "But dated" Hotel”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the Grand Hotel from Friday 11th to Saturday 12th July on a Saver Break. Upgraded to Bed Breakfast & Evening meal before arriving. Could not fault Reception, but was surprised when asked for Credit Card details again.

Had assumed I had booked, but Brittania only hold your room booking until you arrive, then you pay properly. Asked for a upper floor on booking. But got placed in a room below the main entrance, Room 2332. Room was clean and comfortable, but no windows, no there was a window in the ceiling, which must have had a use in the past. Furniture dated but alright, except for the lampshade cover which was just hanging on.

Main problem is the corridors on floor Minus 2, when you come out of the lift, the smell hit's you. It is far beyond musty, what this floor needs is adequate ventilation. Corridors have not been touched for ages, it shows on the sides of the carpets as you go to and from your room. It smells of damp or of chemicals used to clean carpets.
evening was a set meal with soup, choice of main meals and sweet. Vegetable soup, so blitzed it was perfect for a baby. Main meal options were Fish, Minced Beef and Mushroom Pie or Gammon Steak. Fish and Beef & Mushroom pie looked to have come from Farm Foods. My wife had the Gammon Steak and said it was fine. Sweet was Jam Roly Poly and Custard. You could not taste the jam, the custard looked like water and had no taste. Breakfast was this hotel's saviour. Everything cooked well, though restaurant staff need to replace the tea and coffee flasks when they are empty.

We eat in the Harbour Restaurant, this is where you eat if staying on a budget break. Premier Restaurant next door is for the "Premier room's" ate. Great views across Scarborough Bay from the Harbour Restarant, furniture slightly dated. Staff helpful and hard working.

Used left luggage next morning, whilst we had a quick last look around Scarborough. No problems it is free and main reception quickly helped retrieve our cases.

We both stayed on a Saver rate for the weekend. I know if you pay budget prices, you get budget accommodation. I believe what we paid at the Grand, could have got both of us something better in Scarborough. The Grand is showing her age. Please, Brittania give the old lady a make over. She is in need of it.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We are continuing to invest heavily across our hotel over the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    1,224
    1,262
    958
    2,167
See reviews for
1,330
2,983
150
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Upon arrival it looks like a good hotel to stay at for families a couples. When entering the building it looks quite good but on closer inspection you will be disappointed. The decor is dated carpets old and in some places dirty. When given our room key and unable to find our room, asked a member of staff and was advised of the wrong floor. Asked another member of staff and was told exactly were it was two floors door. Accessible only by lift which was small and not nice. Once we reached the correct floor the corridor stunk of damp and mould, but this was masked by the air fresheners which made me feel sick. Eventually found the room after going down numerous corridors (felt like a rabbit warren). The room was small, NO WINDOW, bathroom small . It was hot and felt like no fresh air was coming in the room. In the rooms at either side we could hear everything even when they were making a cup of tea.
The evening meal was disgusting and the waiting staff did try their best to clear the tables. The windows were filthy and the room was hot and stuffy you couldnt open the windows in case the seagulls got in. Breakfast was slightly better. The balcony what could I say about that. It was filthy covered in bird poo. You couldn't sit out there unless desperate, the seagulls dive bombed you, birds nests all over the place. Dogs were also allowed in there as well.

Reception was always busy, there was never any staff about and if you wanted to complain nobody wanted to take it on board. Would I go again the answer would be NO

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueeyes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Small, basement room with no window, no air conditioning, clean room but reminds me of some 1970s bedsit, but without a window.I could hear the people in next room talking and even stirring a cuppa, nice power shower to be fair!
Generally tired, smelly,rubbish decor, carpets, poor attitude from some staff.Couldnt stay on balcony for long without being divebombed by the many nesting seagulls.
Breakfast was pretty good but really poor organisation, no coffee for 15 mins' we only have one pair of hands love', generally very poor, shame this lovely building is being so abysmally managed.
So yes will not be going back unless it ever gets past low grade bed and breakfast status

Room Tip: Please avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. We will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

One night stay at the grand was enough, our first experience and our last....
Our room was underground... Lift door opened and the stench of damp, foist, sewarage was disgusting... On opening the door to our UNDERGROUND room we fell into the bed, the room was tiny, no window, no air con, no phone to complain to reception, nothing appealing about the room at all..
Breakfast, very poor, hot water out of flasks for tea/coffee Was Luke warm, sausages creamated and scrambled eggs like mush..

BRITTANIA APPARENTLY WANTED TO CHARGE US 50p TO PAY WITH VISA DEBIT
IN CONCLUSION.... RIP OFF COMPLETELY

The caseys, newton aycliffe

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We are continuing to invest heavily across our hotel over the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

stayed here in room 224 july 2014 the worst hotel i have ever stayed at dirty ,smelly, paint peeling bedroom ceiling,thick dust on light switches,skirtin boards ,paint peeling in the enclosed shower area,main areas of the hotel unloved and uncared for ,entertainment very bland, 2 nights stay was enough britannia hotels should be ashamed for the lack of attention it gives to this once beautiful building and the way it treats its customers would never use a britannia hotel again after this experience

Room Tip: best advice=DONT GO!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Cleanliness is key to our product, I can see procedures we have in place have not been adhered to this matter will be fully investigated.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in a standard room for four nights. Our first room was on the sixth floor. It was small but clean. The shower was powerful and effective and it had a spa bath. Bathroom really needed a towel rail and/or extractor fan. The room was in a very quiet part of the hotel. No view from the window but that wasn't a problem. The seagulls, as in any seaside hotel, are very noisy so I would recommend taking ear plugs. On the third day of our stay we had an electrical power failure in the room. The very helpful, polite but overworked receptionist without quibbling moved us to a room on the fourth floor. Unfortunately it had a bath but no shower and the receptionist moved us to room 517. Much larger than our original room, again it was clean, had a view of the other wing of the V shaped hotel. The bathroom had a towel rail and very effective shower.

Breakfast in the standard Harbour Lights Restaurant was excellent. The food was very good and the staff very friendly. Tables were cleared swiftly and there was always somewhere to sit. The view from the restaurant of the bay and harbour is absolutely beautiful. We ate in the Empress Suite Bar one evening. What a beautiful room reflecting the days when this huge hotel really was grand. The food was of good pub grub standard. The friendly and efficient barman was very busy and looked overworked. Several tables were left uncleared for a long time. Perhaps a member of staff could do this every so often? The bar prices were very reasonable. There is an outside terrace on the side of the hotel facing the sea. Without the ever present seagulls this would be a very pleasant place to sit.

We chose the hotel partly on price which is very good value for money. Our main reason however was location. We were using public transport and it is very close to the railway station, shops, restaurants, the wonderful Central Tramway adjacent to the hotel and the walking path to South Bay. If Trip Advisor had a Good rating I would mark my experience at the Grand Hotel as Good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked a three night stay at this hotel because Scarborough was a holiday place that we had gone as children. My sister is also wheelchair bound much of the time now . it's a beautiful old victorian building which does need a clean on the outside as there are many seagulls nesting there. Inside the old staircase leading down to the reception area smacks ot a lovely time long gone. Its quite amazing. Our room was on the ground floor room g1 it was spacious ,clean and tea/coffee etc provided. The one big annoyance was it was next to the wheelchair ramp which everyone else seemed to use,also at 6 am every morning it was used to take all the rubbish out ___not good when you book a holiday to relax and rest . it also then attracted the seagulls who started ripping the bags apart to a tremendous noise. The disabled access should be at the front of the building I feel as it felt like we where using the tradesmen's entrance. No modern TV in the room also. Not a problem for us as we don't go away to watch TV. No automatic doors to get through when using a wheelchair and the doors don't stay open. A lift down to the restaurant but again we had to negotiate 3 sets of doors from our room to the lift . people did help us but automatic doors would have been a lot better. The lift only held 3 people so I had to put my sister in and run down the stairs to meet it at the bottom. Once down staff were helpful and there was plenty to eat . cereal, fruit only gratefruit segments and orange segments with yogurt, fine but a bit samey every day. The usual full English if you wanted it. The food in the evening was varied and again plentiful but just mainly English food. Tasty and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Stay off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25debbiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We are continuing to invest heavily across our hotel over the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing