We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand in name only I'm afraid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Grand in name only I'm afraid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have travelled all over the world and this has got to be one of the worst experiences of any hotel anywhere. It was clearly a lovely place in times past but it is being allowed to decay and rot by its current owners. It is dirty, poorly furnished and badly decorated. We had a terrace room with sea view (just) The window was filthy and was covered with netting obviously to keep the seagulls out. Believe me there are seagull nesting everywhere on the building and the noise was dreadful all day and in to the night. Bedroom furniture was dated early 1900's I think and was in need of repair. Stains all over the carpet and the easy chairs were all ripped and stained. Public areas are also depressing with not enough staff to clear tables or general seating areas and the balcony overlooking the bay is a disgrace also littered with every manner of rubbish. Thank goodness we only booked B&B as the thought of dinner in the hotel would have sent us home straight away I think. Avoid this hotel like the plague as we didn't meet anyone who werre happy with it during our 3 days there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    1,202
    1,234
    934
    2,112
See reviews for
1,284
2,919
146
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the outside, this hotel looked okay. However, once I stepped inside I was very disappointed. Horrifically long queues to check in. You then need to queue again to get a ticket to park after you have checked in. DO NOT accept a basement room. There are no windows and had there been a fire outside the bedroom door, we would have not been able to escape. I got a move to a room with a window which was a little better. However, it was very very dated, chipped and batter paintwork and not as clean as it should be. The shower only ran boiling hot water, so we had to stand in the shower and tip cups of water over ourselves. The carpets are stained and dirty bed linen lay on one of the landings all day This is such a shame, as the building itself has been beautiful in it's heyday and has so much potential. It has some lovely features but, not been used to it's potential. A few saving graces are that the choice of breakfast is good. However, it is like a cattle market. You would think people hadnt eaten for years and the staff are really good generally in a very trying environment. In terms of it's location. The Seagulls are a nightmare, so you wont get much sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them you do not want a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hello_Kitty_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

Our City bedrooms have a number of Fire Escape routes from them and within all Fire Safety Laws.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

the following is the letter i wrote to the hotel itself on 23/7/2014.

To whom it may concern,

I can't find the box to leave a review of your hotel, and i think on this occasion it may be just as well.
I am quite disappointed in the level of decor of the hotel. An impressive building from the outside coupled with it's equally impressive entrance foyer really does deserve a better quality of room than the one i had.
I stayed in room 331 on 19/7 - 21/7/2014 and was disappointed to say the least. The carpets were dirty, wallpaper hanging off the wall and not even a shower in the bathroom. The breakfast wasn't too great either and indeed we did not bother having any on the 2nd day. This has now been added too with several of my party now being ill.
I'm not a fussy person, nor am i much of a moaner, but i do think the grand deserves a little bit more care. I am even still waiting my confirmation booking email... I didnt even get that prior to arrival.

It didn't spoil my holiday, but could have made it a hell of a lot better too.

Regards,

Room Tip: Great if you like seagulls keeping you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

In relation to customers becoming ill at the hotel the only co-relation would be to Noro-Virus, you may have seen recently the new commonwealth village for the commonwealth games has been affected by this virus, the hotel has had cases in the past which has been contained and treated, however there have been no recent cases reported.

As you have written direct to us you will receive a response shortly direct from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just came back from the Grand Hotel in Scarborough, stayed two nights with my wife and granddaughter aged 8. The room we were given was on floor -3, this room had no windows and no ventilation, the room smelt very fusty and when we had a shower all the room steamed up, this may account for the smell. The room it's self was large and had plenty of storage. Could not sleep after about 7am because of the noise, don't know if this was another room or if the kitchen was above us, Almost every time we came past reception there was someone complaining about the room they had been allocated. I've stayed in this hotel before but this room was by far the worst I have stayed in. This was the straw that broke the camels back, I will look for another hotel next time we visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just got home, thank god. Never, ever again. Disgusting. The worst hotel I've ever stayed in.
The room was dirty, and I had to ask them to change the bedding in the room because it had stains that I'd rather not talk about.
The breakfast was cold, and the service shocking. Every guest at the hotel was complaining.

Room Tip: Some of them don't even have windows, check before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a two night break at grand hotel, scarborough. Where do I start, on arrival we had to wait in a huge que to check in, took ages due to people complaining about their rooms, staff at reception pretty unhelpful, only way to describe them is "couldnt be bothered" when we eventually found our room on 6th floor, it was very very tired, bed and bathroom were clean but decor and furnishings shabby, our see view was a brick wall and to be honest dont know if we would have seen the sea as I dont know when the windows last saw some water. Went for dinner the only word would be disgusting only thing it reminded me of was 1970s school dinners needless to say went elsewhere for dinner the second night. I know Scarborough is a seaside location and seagulls are part and parcel of the area but every ledge etc had birds nesting on them, bird droppings and feathers everywhere. When this hotel was built i am sure it would have been stunning but I think the best thing the company can do is close the doors for a few months, throw some money at it and upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wllal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just returned from a mini-break (3night h/b),but THIS IS the WORST hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.
After seeing the condition of our room my wife and I decided to ask for a refund.The room was like a dog kennel it was dirty it smelled of smoke the shower was filthy.{we asked for non-smoking with a bath}After speaking to the duty manager we were informed we could not get a refund as it was not company policy .All other hotels full OR WE WOUD HAVE LEFT ANYWAY
We were put on 6th floor where we found dirty tissues on floor at bedside table with sweets,stuck to carpet a cracked window which was loose, broken window handle which made it unable to open and close.A piece of wooden flooring was missing from the bathroom and a drawer handle had been replaced with a bit of wire.
Being unable to close the window all night we were kept awake by seagulls
Still don't know if the sweets are there we asked and were told to come back after 2pm if still there,NOT MY JOB
FOOD- after trying 1st night didn't bother with the other dinners
breakfast 1out of 10 toast ok

Myself and my wife can cope with things pretty easily but when you see eldery people in tears that's what this place will do
IF YOU WANT A DECENT ROOM STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE !!!!!!
THE BEACH IS CLEANER!!!

Room Tip: don't book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank k h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing