We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great break ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another great break ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Recently traveled to the Grand Hotel again, this is our 8th time in visiting, I can say that the hotel has improved a lot since we started coming.

We arrived on the 24th of July 2014 for a 2 night stay on half board. We booked way back in October and specifically asked for a Spa bath as I prefer to have a Spa bath. On arrival we were greeted by James (one of the trainee's) he was a great member of staff who pointed everything out to us, where our room was, where we had our meal, check in times, entertainment timing etc. We was given room 2026 which was on -2, the room had no window and felt stuffy but we got used to it as we asked for a fan, unfortunately there was none available, but we decided to keep the door open while we was down in the room, it was not uncomfortably warm and you could sleep well.

The room:
It was a city room on St. Nicholas level -2 room 2026. This room has no window but if you read the website they state that the city rooms do not have a window.
Large enough room with 1 wardrobe, 2 single beds which were absolutely comfortable (better than home) bedside table and lamp, colour TV, drawers and a dressing table with complimentary tea and coffee,( if you ran out you would go upstairs for some more.)
On arrival into the room it was clean, comfortable and felt homely the beds had a letter explaining about 'Norovirus' as people jump to conclusion and complain that there was a outbreak. If you read the letter it explains what it is an what britannia hotels will do. Due to the size of the hotel it is only right that management put the right procedures into place. The hotel has not had a outbreak of Norovirus for a good 5 years, that is the point of putting the hand antibacterial points around the hotel so that you can be protected. We got a free postcard in our room (Thanks britannia for this) The TV only got 8 channels which was BBC1, 2 ITV1, Channel 4, Channel 5, ITV2, Dave and Yesterday. This was enough as we're not in the room for a long period of time. If you wanted all the freeview channels you can go to the Quiet room situated in the Long Room which has a tv with all freeview. There was also some basic information on the hotel which I strongly suggest that you read all of the leaflets that they give you as it may come in handy at some point. The tea and coffee was beautiful and a nice touch to the room. The bedding was a white colour and we had one pillow on arrival but we asked for two more as I usually have two pillows at home. The bedding was clean, no stains, hairs or damage. It was a little creased but it doesn't bother us. Hair dryer was a powerful hairdryer and dried hair quite fast.

The bathroom:
This was inside of the room and was large, we had two bath towels and two hand towels. These we're changed daily which we asked housekeeping to do for us. The toilet, was clean when we arrived and had no stains or hairs again. The sink clean and had two mouth wash glasses which were both clean. The bath was a Spa bath and filled up really fast with the taps on. I was shocked with the great water pressure, it was relaxing to sit in the Spa bath and enjoy the water jets. We was also provided with 2 little soaps, 2 shampoo and body wash.

The food:
We stayed on a half board basis and enjoyed dinner and breakfast in the Harbour Lights restaurant.

Our first evening meal we had a large choice to choose from and was delicious. The table was set beautifully and had two wine glasses with fancy napkins from them. It was nice to enjoy a view of the seafront while eating dinner. Richard who checked our key card was a great member of staff from the restaurant along with all of the other restaurant staff. But I need to give him a great mention. Breakfast consisted of cold options cereal, weetabix, along with toast, hot options, egg, sausage, bacon, beans, tomatoes. You could have a choice of three complementary drinks, coffee, water or orange juice. I think there was tea also but I am not too sure. All of the food was beautiful, and was not of the cheap quality like you normally get in hotels, it was of decent quality.

Entertainment:
Entertainment was good and enjoyable. It would of been better if it lasted longer or you also had day activities, it consisted of bingo in the early evening, then cabaret, then that was it. The cabaret only lasted 1 hour so would be great if it lasted longer or had day activities.

Great member of staff:
Jack, who worked in the empress suite bar he dealt with us fast asked how we were etc.

Brenda was lovely who also worked in the empress suite. Brenda has worked at the grand for as long as I can remember coming and is a great member of staff, she asked how we were, glad to see us again, likes it when we keep returning and asked if we were coming again the the future, she smiled when ever we saw her in the corridor or throughout the hotel.

Robyn, the trainee on reception was chatty, friendly and helped us with the little things we wanted. She is a great trainee and will make a great member of staff she couldn't do enough for us.

James, another trainee on reception was helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

Richard, in the restaurant was great every morning said morning to us how are we etc.

All of the staff were great they were just a few that I wanted to state out to. If you do a great employee award please all of these would be great for it. I would also like you to guarantee me that these staff will be praised and keep me up to date with it.

Waiting times: hardly any queues at all except from at breakfast on the last day where we queued for about 10 minutes. But we didn't mind. Lifts, for floors 1-5 was quite a queue but not for long, for the St. Nicholas levels hardly any queue. As we didn't have to queue and we were on that floor and for the premier and terrace rooms lift was not as short as any of the other ones.

Suggestions: when the entertainment is on, if it was the broadway one again have a screen up with the broadway background as it would make it more better. Of not have a projector hanging from the from of the circle seating shining to the stage back and have a background on there.

Have a few more fans throughout the hotel.

Noticed a few people were lost but I helped them around so maybe have a member of staff to help people who get lost. As one woman has two small children who were distressed but she couldn't find her way upstairs as the lift wouldn't go or something. But I pointed her in the right direction and later that evening she came and thanked me. Some people find the signs hard to understand.

Keep up the good work

Room tips: Cheap and cheerful room- City room with spa bath these rooms may not have a window and are big enough.

Standard room- May have a window but are great size for couples.

Family room- family room is ideal for families as it has enough beds, cots can be requested and are in a great location.

For a sea view- book a sea view room and specifically state that you want this room otherwise you couple end up with no sea view.

Best views - book a turret room, these are located on the 7th floor of the hotel and are in the domes at the top. These rooms will require you to use some steps so may not be ideal for people with walking difficulties.

Adapted room- Great for disabled people as these are adapted to the disabled and contain disabled facilities.

Check the website for better descriptions and images I the rooms for the perfect room for you.

This review has taken me some time to write as I have shortened it down to what I was going to put. But my advice if ignore the bad reviews and go and try it for your self. I am picky and have been in rubbish hotels and this is not one of them this is excellent. Remember that the hotel is very old and was built in 1867 and is a grade II listed building so certain things can't be changed. Remember that the Norovirus is NOT live in the hotel and the staff are trying to stop it happening again. Norovirus affects hospitals, cruise ships and hotel resorts so it's not like it is just in this hotel.

I want to thank you all again and would like the response to this to please contain a email address I can email you directly on as I would like to please send you some thanks in a email.

Thanks once again

We will be returning before the end of the year.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank joehardwick162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do operate an employee recognition scheme and your nominations will be included for this month’s employee of the month.

I will ensure your feedback and suggestions are given consideration.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,212
    1,251
    949
    2,145
See reviews for
1,312
2,950
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have just returned from a two night stay at the Grand or should I say 'not so' Grand hotel in Scarborough. The reception staff appears to struggle with the shear volume of guests so be prepared for long waits when checking in or asking to see a member of staff, which you may wish to do as there are no services phones provided. We were put in a basement room on the first night. No daylight and a strong smell of damp throughout. Whilst asleep at around 12.30am a drunken man managed to break into our room and scare the living daylights out of my family. We had to get dressed and go down to reception. It took sometime to locate the night manager. Once located he called the police who went and spoke to the guest; however the only thing the manager seemed concerned about was whether he'd had a key or not. We didn't get to bed until 3.30am and had to put a suitcase behind the door as there's no top lock on the doors. The next day the day manager offered us an upgraded room as compensation she said. The room had a sea view but was in a very poor state of repair. The Windows were stuck wide open and we had to get someone to force them shut . He said he knew it was because the wrong sash weights had been fitted. This morning we looked out of the bathroom window to find a used sanitary towel Sat on the window sill. When the manager was informed he suggested a seagulls may have dropped it. Really!!! There are nets over the building so this option is impossible. Oh and one final word of warning. Stay away from the sausages. They are really substandard, in fact the whole breakfast is pretty poor. Britannia you will be hearing from us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillybet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

We feel that you have not given the hotel a fair opportunity to respond to your feedback before posting directly to Tripadvisor as we have been in direct correspondence with yourself in relation to this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

bath
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A very interesting place to stay. Steeped in history and quite grand.......but.......and there has to be one. We were in room 702, in a turret and great views..not to be used if you have mobility problems. We stayed for four nights, on the third day we arrived back from a day out to find a new carpet had been laid in theroom and all of our clothes were thrown into our suitcases. Not only were they screwed up and wrinkled but some unknown person had obviously had to move them in cluding our personal items . We were not prewarned and on questioning why this had happened we were told they had tried to call us but no missed calls etc! Anyway gave up on that one. they give us a bottle of wine and a dinner upgrade to the premier restaurant which meant we had roughly the same food but a quieter area to sit.
Expect the unexpected and all will be fine. Sorry low score but the carpet episode was unforgivable and seagulls kept me awake at night (maybe they could net the whole hotel to stop them nesting) and pooing on the crate of bread left outside the door!!

Room Tip: 702 has a nice carpet but take your earplugs,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We are continuing to invest heavily across our hotel over the coming year, this resulted in why your bedroom was re-carpeted, due to how busy the hotel is at present unfortunately we had to complete this task during your stay, announcements were made to locate yourself.

Please do accept our apologises for any inconvenience caused, this is how we handle situations like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having read the reviews the night before we left, we were prepared for whatever. Think it is the luck of the draw which room you end up with, ours was just ok, provided clean bed and towels, very small. Could of been improved if the window would open and had a mirror and larger wardrobe. Check in was a shambles and waiting for lifts to go to room. Food was much better than expected from previous reviews, always something to fill up with, ok not restaurant standards but acceptable. Staff were always polite and friendly. The worst experience were the seagulls nesting on the hotel, surely health and safety is an issue. One of our friends ended up in an underground room , dark and gloomy with no windows, if she had wanted a holiday in a dungeon she would of booked one, totally unacceptable. We enjoyed our holiday but having stayed in many hotels doubt I would return here. There were so many people complaining,
beautiful hotel but needs lots of money invested on it.

Room Tip: Do not accept an underground room, and ensure window opens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We are continuing to invest heavily across our hotel over the coming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here for my birthday, we found our room to be newly refurbished and would have been excellent if there had been an opening window. The terrace overlooking the south bay was great except for the gulls, not the hotels fault but annoying. Overall we had a good weekend, breakfast was acceptable and room rate was ok. I would stay there again but would insist on on a room with better air circulation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

well we went for 2 day just got back and it no way like people say,
we got there a 2.45 and were told key would be ready in about 30 mins
was then given a parking clock for the car . no charge the room we were given was room 6
ground floor
all been re painted and very clean yes the large windows don,t open.
but you are on ground floor.
so there very large windows and if there did open any one could get on to your room.
food was very nice no it not Gordon Ramsay
but it was hot and plenty of it
for the money very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

booked two rooms as taken mum away for few days as resent lost my dad,her room was dirty still rubbish on floor .rinsing glass in bathroom had lipstick on,i took the glass to reception they said sorry never came to replace glass or clean up,do they ever change the cups glassers ect in room,one window in room looking on to a dirty wall,
my room 601 well very dirty,shower all stained but better still didnt work,red hot two days and without a shower,complained 3 times just got sorry we will look into it,went down a 4th time night before i was going to leave and i said i needed someone up staight away someone came ,he messed with little box and got a bit of warm water he said it was because we was so high up it took time to work he was a grumy man,so soon as he left i jumped in but it ran cold again so washed in cold water,the staff all usless,couldnt get breakfast as to long a quew,no lights in hall to bedroom.so dark to see were walking .when departing i went to take a bit of luggage to car,just gone 9 came back up to room to check not left any thing and maids in there taking bedding it was 10 o clock checkout,not 9 not even handing keys in,o yes and toliet doest flush ,i could go on on on very very unhappy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,649 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing