We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$147
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$176
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$695
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$161
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$83
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,959)
Filter reviews
6,959 results
Traveller rating
636
1,340
1,400
1,086
2,497
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
1,340
1,400
1,086
2,497
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,761 - 3,766 of 6,959 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Where to start, alarm bells rang as soon as we pulled up outside as we had to fight out way through a fog of smoke on the steps as that Many people were stood outside having a fag. The unhelpful and overworked reception staff took our money and gave us the keys to the two rooms we had booked. On entering the first room the first thing I noticed was the filthy window followed by The beds that's hadn't been changed and the previous occupants belongings on the floor. On our way back to reception to complain about the first room we decided to check out the other room. Believe it or not it was worse, the door had been kicked in and the lock left in the middle of the floor and the toilet / bathroom filthy. The first receptionist wasn't interested and made out this was normal and could be sorted. We spoke to another and much more helpful member of staff who agreed to our money back for the second night and to put a camp bed in the first room as no one felt safe in the single room with no lock. We would have left that night but our car was locked up for the night in the nearby NCP car park as there is no chance of a space any where neat this dump of a hotel. My husband went down for his breakfast the next morning and said it was disgusting, soggy toast and watery scrambled egg. I would not recommend anyone to stay in this place, I have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years and this is by far the worst. Even the lifts were dirty, the place is disgusting and filthy and needs millions spent to get it back to its former glory. I will never return

Room Tip: My advice is to stay away from the whole place
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

There was a stain on the carpet the windows were dirty the was no extractor fan in the bathroom the food was terrible with the serving spoons being dirty and we asked for a room with a sea view and we got a ground room that all you could see out of the dirty windows were weeds

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

After staying at the grand earlier this year my last review was NEVER AGAIN...but because it it so central our elderly parents wanted to return.. We heard so many complaints last time about the rooms below ground level so we decided to go to the top.....We was lucky to be able yo book two penthouse suites.. was on the six floor which was a bit of a treck to get to.having to go on two lifts..but on arrival the suites was very clean and very quiet...We had breakfast and evening meal in the premier resturant plus wine with our meal each evening ..good food both evening and breakfast...THE STAFF IN THE PREMIER RESTURANT WAS SO HELPFULL.....I would never eat in the downstairs resturant again unless they improved it ..IT WAS A GREAT WEEKEND

The only thing was the amount of people still complaining about the rooms below ground level. no windows and the smell..BEEN THERE no exactly what the mean
The staff are wonderfull they are taking complaints all the time..ITS NOT FAIR..
ITS TIME BRITANNIA GOT THERE ACT TOGETHER AND SORTED IT.....Close the basement get it sorted and people would then return....Lets give the GRAND a higher standard what it deserves......DONT BLAME THE STAFF BLAME BRITANNIA....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joyce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived on 6th August 2014. Booked in. We were handed our room key,was not impressed with the dungeon provided. It smelt of damp, no windows no air conditioning or adequate ventilation. We asked to moved to another room, an supposedly refurbished room, again no air conditioning or ventilation. After this we decided to leave, as my partner couldn't breath due to the lack of ventilation. Management assured me there was ventilation within this room. I saw no evidence to prove this, as there were no visible ducting grills etc
Best avoid this hotel like the PLAGUE!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cleve758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped in The Grand for the weekend commencing 1st August on a KGB Deal. Price was £99 for 2 people for dinner, bed and breakfast on both nights plus a bottle of wine. Terrific value for money. OK, the hotel is in need of refurbishments and a huge lick of paint, but overall we had no complaints except perhaps the car parking. We were given permits for £3 per day to park on the street - and in the process received 2 parking tickets. At the moments I've challenged these so we will wait and see what happens.

Would recommend the hotel if you're on a deal.

Room Tip: Ensure you don't get one of "the dungeons" - a below ground level room without windows. We asked not to be put in one of those rooms and were duly obliged. Noisy seagulls though, but hey - we're at the seaside!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NeilBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews