We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and wrong information”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #26 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrrived to find no parking spaces. My partner waited 25mins to be booked in as the four members of staff on duty were too busy talking to each other to attend to the guests waiting.
Our room was in the basement - we had been told at time of booking that we did not have a window but we did not expect to be sent to the dungeons.
We were issued with a card stating that breakfast started at 7.30 so my diabetic partner took his medication ready to eat at 7.30 to go up a flight of stairs to the ground floor to be told to go down another flight of stairs to the restaurant to find that breakfast did not start till 8.00 at weekends.
The room itself was clean and comfortable but the staff were surly and rude. We will not be back and would not recommend the hotel. We spoke to people who were leaving early because of the way they had been treated by the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade - costs a bit more but worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,576)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,368 - 3,374 of 6,578 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked an overnight stay at the grand through late rooms because we had stayed many times in Scarborough and wanted to stay at the Grand to say we had and now we wished we hadn;t. The hotel has many of it's ornate victorian features when you enter the building but by the time you find your room the majesty has long gone.

On arrival to check in we found the tiny reception desk hidden to the side manned by two and ten increased to three staff. One of the staff was dealing with enquiries from existing customers including issuing keys out willy nilly to a woman who was never gonna be satisfied with her room.

We where eventually checked in and given room number 246 which does not exist on the signs throughout the building and we only found it once we located a room plan for the 2nd floor. We believe that our room had been some sort of storage room in a previous life as it was situated a little away from the rest of the rooms on the second floor.

While wandering around the hotel we encountered a small child who was equally lost and we felt obliged to help him get back to his room which we did somewhat easier than finding our room was. I am slightly concerned about the number of small children that where wandering openly around this hotel given that anyone can walk in off the street, it would be easy pickings for someone of that persuation.

Our room was clean but had a number of maintenance issues such as curtains not fitting properly and the handle being broke from the shower door, but was ok for one night anymore and I would have complained. Having said that I did request a sea view but ours had a view of the travel lodge which made me pay the extra and stay over there but hey ho.

We had breakfast included in the stay but my advice don't bother. The dining room had a panoramic view which took away the fact the breakfast was awful, cold over cooked and under cooked depending on your selection, the coffee was watered down and the tea was a strange brew often found in the bargain basement. We where glad to escape the cafe Rendevous near the train station does a mean breakfast should you chose to venture out.

Definately Not so Grand

Room Tip: Travel by National Holidays coach trip = guarantees sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

After reading the reviews I wasn't looking forward to seeing the hotel but when we got there we could check in early which was good. The public toilets were very clean and staff were great at reception. We went to our room which was on -2 it was clean and it had a descent window you couldent see much but we wasn't there to look out of the window.We then walked into the bathroom which was again very clean(room 2002 has a spa bath).all public areas were clean and cosy ,the deck had an amazing view of the sea .the food was great Buffy style lots of choices fish and meat. breakfast was great, again Buffy style.entertainment was good love the circle seating.no swimming pool but could use the royal hotels pool for a good price .I also liked the hand sanitizers every were so you can keep your hands clean (great idea).only complaint is the complainers complaining about little tiny things.
Overall great grand old lady .I would definitely stay again in the future:-)

Room Tip: Ask for a window room when you book if you really want one .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Unbelievably dirty. Scruffy and smelly. Didn't want to venture into breakfast. If their public areas are so bad I would hate to see the kitchens. Not value for money at all. We travelled all the way from Aviemore to stay there. Scarborough EHO i think you should get yourself down there!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allgreektome36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We work extremely closely with our local environmental health team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

just spend four days in this hotel what a joke , when we got there waited over two hours for key .We took my mum who is in a wheel chair we requested wheel chair friendly room were was she five floors be low hotel we were put the other side of the hotel i am my mothers carer no phones in rooms had to give her my phone in case she needed me (what a joke ) . The bar staff were so rude the restaurant was like a cattle market food all over the place we eat out all of the time we were half board no thank you would i go back there no way i wasnt the only one who wasnt happy most people said never again. My rating for this hotel i havnt got one to give it so poor . D Leigh from Liverpool.

Room Tip: Dont go there.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I booked in for 4 night to this hotel, on arriving, we where disappointed with entrance to the hotel, there where lots of people standing out side smoking, I went to the reception to book in got our keys for room 30, on opening the door of room 30, WHAT A SHOCK, a room with a sea view , the windows where so dirty, you struggled to see out of them, they where wedged open with a piece of cardboard, the entire décor of the room, was tired and worn out to the extent the fabric on the tub chair had a hole in it, the room was not clean, on the first morning we went to the dinning room for breakfast, the food was disgusting, the staff where not helpful, we never returned for either breakfast or evening meal. Other people where complaining about rooms, food and staff. on leaving this hotel on the Monday 5th August 2014 I expressed my concerns when handing in my keys to the receptionist whom was not in the least bit interested, we will not be returning to this hotel and would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

I can read from your review not all areas were to your expectations.

I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can discuss your feedback further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £39 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing