We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised ANY tour company comes here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Stowmarket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“surprised ANY tour company comes here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arrived back from this dreadful place Fri 15th Aug. Don't know where to start. Room 402 fourth floor box room with tiny window you had to stand on tip toes to see out of. Found one of the curtains screwed up on the floor because the stop end had come off, No toilet roll holder, no loo brush, Old fashioned tv mounted on wall so low that you smacked you head on it trying to squeeze past the bed. Really old, scuffed furniture, dressing table so close to the bed we couldn't get past & totally filthy windows. Here's the best bit. THEY KNEW WE HAD A WHEELCHAIR & the room was so small that even folded we couldn't get it in, so we had to keep it in the bathroom!!! I don't think I've ever cried on holiday before but the place is disgusting. The queues for the lifts and food were so bad people were behaving like animals. The tables in the bars were always full of glasses & used dinner plates etc & nobody ever collected them. We had to move them ourselves. We go on holidays a lot & have never, ever heard or seen so many unhappy people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,212
    1,250
    949
    2,145
See reviews for
1,312
2,949
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We wern't expecting anything grand by all means,but even the basics were very poor & the service was terrible,in fact non existant. This is as basic & crude as it gets,even depressing! Do yourself a huge favor & stay elsewhere. The staff are a total waste of time too. Tv's don't work,old flat packed furniture,handles come off in your hand..dire.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

After reading the reviews on here I was dreading our 2 night stay in The Grand! However, we had a great time. The room was spacious and clean, no view to speak of but go outside and stand on the terrace the view is spectacular. The staff were courteous and helpful and the food was lovely, as long as you're not after gourmet cuisine you'll be fine. The breakfast was also super with lots of choice! The Entertainment was enjoyable and the drinks were reasonably priced!
I'm not sure what people expect from an establishment like this but if you want 5 star accommodation and gourmet dining this isn't the hotel for you! For what we paid I was more than happy, it was a lovely stay in a nice hotel with good food and service.
I'd just like to point out as well that the hotel was fully booked for the few days we were there, if you went by the reviews you read surely no-one would be staying there, I think that speaks volumes! We loved it and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

what a beautiful building badly run such a shame ,my wife had loved the idea of staying in this beautiful looking hotel, we managed to get a deal on a room reduced to £69 from £150 we arrived quite upbeat to finally get a chance to stay in this historic building sadly from arrival it all went down hill the reception staff were rude impersonal and at best unhelpful we were informed our room was on level -3 and room 3004 we were not told where the lifts were so went down by stairs through a maze of corridors all with a terrible odour we eventually found it and while it was nice to get out of the smelly roughly carpeted with trip hazard carpeted corridors we then entered the windowless,phone signal free cell, having paid a reduced price we decided to rough it out for the one night stay, the lamp on the bedside didn't work and and the old style small portable was so far away we could have done with binoculars and room could of done with a good clean but we planned to stay out of room as much as possible and hope we got a nice breakfast to help make up for it, but o dear how wrong could we be the harbour lights breakfast room was a good pairing with the cell we stayed in as very similar to how you would imagine a prison dining area to be, it was a serve yourself free for all, we took a seat and found the sun was in both our eyes so as we moved to a table just cleared by a waitress I apologised and explained the reason she never spoke just carried on scowling I was disgusted by the lack of manners for people in the service industry anyway after looking at the dismal room with chairs that needed at best recovering, mould on the ceiling from condensation dirty windows and hit and miss silicon falling away from the same windows we decided the mildly warm canteen food was not worth finishing ,we left past a long cue of people down the stairs leading to the last resort dining room I felt sorry for them all and my wife has felt ill since eating what she did and has been physically sick so not a good idea to stay there at all , if you offered the best room in the place for free to make up for our stay ,we would have to decline

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I have issues with people that completely slate this hotel. What exactly are you expecting for your money??. Yes the food is ok, the staff are hard working and very underpaid, it states very clearly that the economy rooms don't have windows! The entertainment ALWAYS starts at 9.45pm so what?? Has anyone got any idea how much the maintenance is for a building this size?? If you want luxury then no, don't stay here! You DO get what you pay for. So stop moaning and be realistic when you think about booking!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katclay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the Turret suite for a couple of nights...the room was lovely and the food anazing. We had an upgrade to the premier restaurant definitely worth the extra. Cannot wait to go back!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fandig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Grand hotel in Scarborough is such a beautiful place and perfectly situated for Scarborough's many attractions. It is not only a gorgeous building, but the inside has been renovated to a high standard, although some rooms,i.e. the ballroom is still undergoing.
The only down side was the room we had was a standard room, It was in the lower part of the building, and although the room was modern, clean and had everything you needed, it did not have a window, and I felt very claustrophobic, and i needed some fresh air. Also the bathroom was a saniflow system, and unfortunately was very noisy when flushing the loo, washing or having a shower, but saying that ...everything worked satisfactorily.
I WILL definitely return.to the Grand, but will book A ROOM WITH A VIEW.
Just love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and preferably a sea view, and not with a Saniflow bathroom system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCrafters A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind and honest comments during your recent visit to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing