We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal a letdown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Evening meal a letdown”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Having stayed here numerous times, we were amazed and disappointed with our evening meal. Salads consisted of either lettuce, grated cheese and cucumber or lettuce, half a tomato and a piece of fish served on side plates. The roast beef needed a chainsaw to cut through it. Eve's pudding was rock hard and served with the thickest lumpiness custard ever. Breakfast, however, was good. We did not know that dogs are now allowed to stay at this hotel. Altogether this made for a barely average stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    999
    2,253
See reviews for
1,378
3,080
152
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for one night room 703 (Penthouse), Upon arrival large Que of people at reception most complaining about issues they had. Eventually got the keys. Walking along the corridor on floor 6 there is the most nauseating smell the entire length of it. The room was very poor and outdated with a TV over 25 years old with a poor reception. Beds and decor were of a similar age and a worn out carpet, The room was full of flies. Getting ready for dinner and whirlpool bath didn't work so complained at reception said they would send a maintenance man straight away. Dinner was awful and consisted of dried Turkey and boiled potatoes or fish stew. We left and ate in town. Next morning breakfast supposed to be full English and not a fried egg in site. Scrambled egg was stone cold. Left it and again ate out. 1hr before leaving maintenance man arrived and a full 14 hours after reporting the matter he said the buttons on the whirlpool bath were broken and you need to access the residual circuit breaker situated in the hallway behind the main door and press it to start the whirlpool. Once started it wouldn't turn off. Maid came knocking on the door with the cleaning equipment 20 mins before we were due to leave. No phone to contact reception, no WIFI. Best thing about this hotel was checking out and I will never go back again. I would advise any body thinking about staying here not to bother. Worse hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A lovely building but not much else to recommend at the Grand. We had a premier room (room 12) overlooking the sea but could hardly see out of the window as it was so dirty. The room was adequate - not the smallest I've ever been in. The room was clean but we had to ask twice for towels which were not left in the room.
The worst thing was the queuing for breakfast - if you arrived at the same time as one of the coach parties the queue was out of the door, up the stairs and along the lobby. Another negative were the children running around screaming in the evening - not really a peaceful place to stay. The lift to our room only held a maximum of 3 people and was often full so we had to wait for ages - our room was 4 floors down and my elderly mum is not able to walk down stairs so we had no choice but to use the lift. I often had to pop mum in the lift and walk myself (not a problem but I lost her a couple of times as she got out at the wrong floor!)
This could be a lovely place but is badly in need of refurbishment and some tlc.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a view of the sea but is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineh540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just arrived and made our way to our room, went down to the bowels of the earth and had to walk through all the service area's, past bags of waste spilling all over, piles of dirty laundry and staff sitting on beer barrels. Also, it smells like a stable. I'm not kidding, it really does. Nothing nice I can say about the room either. Now looking for somewhere else to stay, rather lose the money than stay in this dump. Never again Brittania.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Well what can I say. Dreadful place. Parking shocking for starters. Our room was on the -2 floor down in the dungeons of the hotel. Room very basic, dark, no window that you could see out of, no service what so ever for mobile phones oh and the beds are very hard and uncomfy. There was a generator going all night. Glad the morning came . Nice breakfast and a drink NOT. It was like a cattle market horrendous. Spoilt our trip going to our Neices wedding good job we enjoyed the wedding. In dire need of updating and taking into 21st century.
.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We booked a four night break, we had read all the reviews and knew that the hotel was far from perfect. Our room was a lovely large airy room over looking the harbor with a full size bathroom. It was clean but not spotless. The staff were hard working, friendly and courteous, however it became clear from the start that they were over worked and very short staffed,The hotels previous grandeur is in serious decline but due to staff shortage I can see this only getting worse. In the public areas the bar staff were over worked,tables not cleared and dirty glasses, plates and crockery left of tables. The outside area was left uncared for and decking on balcony in need of a good clean. The harbour iights dining area was a nightmare. We are not snobs, nor posh however it was like a free for all If you like scrambled eggs, soft toast and burnt sausages then you may be fine. Not enough staff to clear tables and we were clearing our own tables just to get breakfast, For a £7.00 per person upgrade we could move to the premier suite where you had a far more civilized way of eating but to be honest this should be available to every guest. The evening meals were adequate but again samey, roast meat, Tuna bake, minced beef casserole, Fish and veg choice but when you have five coach loads of people queuing for dinner its not worth the wait. Although we paid for DBB we ate out most evenings and skipped breakfast,
I am pleased we have stayed at the Grand, the architecture is amazing, its history is amazing however if Britannia do not get this hotel right and sort out its basic failings then it will fall in to decline which is such a shame. I really wanted to sing the hotels praises but with a heavy heart Im not able to do this. Sorry.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 594deborahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arrived back from this dreadful place Fri 15th Aug. Don't know where to start. Room 402 fourth floor box room with tiny window you had to stand on tip toes to see out of. Found one of the curtains screwed up on the floor because the stop end had come off, No toilet roll holder, no loo brush, Old fashioned tv mounted on wall so low that you smacked you head on it trying to squeeze past the bed. Really old, scuffed furniture, dressing table so close to the bed we couldn't get past & totally filthy windows. Here's the best bit. THEY KNEW WE HAD A WHEELCHAIR & the room was so small that even folded we couldn't get it in, so we had to keep it in the bathroom!!! I don't think I've ever cried on holiday before but the place is disgusting. The queues for the lifts and food were so bad people were behaving like animals. The tables in the bars were always full of glasses & used dinner plates etc & nobody ever collected them. We had to move them ourselves. We go on holidays a lot & have never, ever heard or seen so many unhappy people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve the hotel.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing