We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grand is not so grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
dewsbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The grand is not so grand”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We had booked a family room which should have slept 4,they tried to charge us more than we had been quoted, when we arrived there was a double bed and a single!!! no where for 4 people to stay, we were in a room that was below ground with a tiny window with piegeon pooh on it. The bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever slept in.
Dinner the first night was lamb with gristle through it and the veg were boiled to such a state the potatos were like mush, not much eaten. maybe they do the veg like this for the older generation that stay in the hotel. Next morning breakfast was swimming in fat, so once again not alot eaten. The evening meal again was swimming in fat, your on the way to a serious heart attack if you can actually stomach the food.
If this hotel has had a make over then i dont know where. The dining room decor was coming off the walls. We couldn't eat our last dinner and went to a local pizza place. My two year old came home with sickness and dihorroea. I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJackoDewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    998
    2,248
See reviews for
1,378
3,075
152
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at the grand for 4 nights were impressed with the hotel when we told the staff we had just got married they put us into a room that had been done out and had a jacuzzi bath,food was hot and plenty of it with a good choice, we stayed in standard accommodation clean and tidy, entertainment on the night might not suit some but we found it good. They are in the process of renovating but at least they are renovating. Staff were friendly and mostly english, overall we had a very enjoyable day

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Don't do it !!
We arrived outside the hotel to find there was no where to park and received no words of concern from the hotel staff. When we eventually got to the very gloomy and uninviting reception desk we were surrounded by other guests making numerous complaints. The recepionist was extremly rude and abrupt with little empathy towards quests with great concerns. Once checked in we tried to find our rooms (1002 and 1004). The third member of staff we asked correctly directed us. The lift doors opened to the noise and smells of a working kitchen. As we travelled through the corridors we were passed by kitchen staff carring pots and pans. Our rooms were below ground with NO WINDOWS AND NO FRESH AIR. We immediately checked out and would NEVER go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiegento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vale of Belvoir
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We have just spent four nights at this hotel. The first night was in room 1016 which was below ground level. There was no window and it was so hot and stuffy. I was told the hotel was full so we could not change our room. I do not think they should be allowed to use these rooms for guests, it was unacceptable and completely claustrophobic. The second night we moved to room 334 on the third floor. We did have a window which was a blessing but the room was below standard. How they have three stars is incomprehensible! The bed was uncomfortable. The furniture was old with not enough drawer space. The bathroom was a disgrace with broken lino, holes in the wall and a temperamental shower. The food was all buffet style but was of very poor quality. Even the toast was so tough that you could not cut it with a knife! There were two lifts to go to floors above ground level and for three of the four nights that we stayed one of them was out of service. They were not very big lifts so there was always a queue to use the lift. The evening entertainment was a joke as there was never enough room or seats to be able to enjoy this. Our stay was a big disappointment and I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyValeofBelvoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Having read the reviews following booking a remarkable deal for my son and I for one night at the start of a walking holiday I thought I might have made a mistake. Sharing jokes with others about staying in what may be Britains worst large hotel we decided that as the deal was less than £4 more than booking a room in the youth hostel (for three) and unlike the hostel included evening meals and breakfast for two we would 'risk' it. If the meals were so bad we could always go out to a chippy and the room couldn't be worse than the average youth hostel.
We arrived to find a pleasant receptionist (local as most of the staff not usually the case these days) and were not surprised to find that we had one of the subterranean rooms. The room was clean, small but with a brand new bathroom including spa bath. The shower curtain still had the creases from the packaging.
Evening meal was, it has to be said, basic but it was three edible courses, followed by coffee and again staff very friendly. The view is fantastic as is the convenience of the location with the beach below, shopping behind and a stroll over the bridge to the Spa and cliff side gardens.
Breakfast was quite acceptable and as you(we) do not book anything to the room with a cash bar leaving meant simply dropping the key in a slot.
It IS a Grand hotel with the impressive rooms expected and although busy we did not feel overcrowded or experienced any delays. The patrons are 'above average age', probably more so in winter but we are considering a full family break in the autumn this time trying to book one of the larger rooms and for the money it can only be described as exceptional value. I cannot comment on the entertainments as we went for a walk and then to bed. We heard nothing in our cellar room!
We expected a dire dump and came away planning to book again after experiencing a perfectly adequate hotel and £65 for two DB and B is unbeatable value (+ free entertainment if you are into that sort of thing).

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
Thank Econs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Well, where to start... On arrival at the hotel the exterior is not looking too bad, the window frames look a bit tired but all in all not looking too bad for its age. We got a parking spot straight away and headed into the hotel. The main atrium and staircase do look impressive and with many coaches full of travellers the hotel does look busy.

I'm afraid that is about all of the good things out of the way. When we got the key to our basement room (1002) the first thing we noticed when we opened the door (it was not locked) was the lack of a window. We had been told the room was not ready yet so expected it to need a tidy and claen up. There was no ventilation apart from a 3 inch vent in the ceiling that smelt of whatever was cooking in the kitchen, and the ambient temperature was about 30 degrees. 2 lights did not work and the TV had 2 channels working and it was the same channel twice.

This hotel was a real let down, it had been intended to be a couple of days away for the anniversary of grandparents passing, and all that will be remembered is the poor conditions, lack of staff, lack of customer service, a duty manager that stomped around tutting and huffing to every comment.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ML12345632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

In all my years of travelling all over the world and England, this is the most awful hotel I have ever stayed in. Its filthy, dont know if they even have cleaners for communal areas as we never saw any. Our room was in the basement and has no windows - is this actually legal for 1) ventilation and 2) as a fire hazard, it was like being in a dungeon. There were lots of people complaining at reception and the staff really couldn't have cared less - they only have 1 line, sorry there are no more rooms available. All the decor throughout the hotel is peeling and dirty and dingy and you have to pay £4.50 a day to park your car outside. I would not recommend this hotel to my dog let alone to a human being. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo229r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing