We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not stay here!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please do not stay here!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Must be a record, booked in at one left at four!!
We were given a room on the 4th floor, when we went in the bed had not been made up, there were dirty coffee cups, and a rather suspicious pool of liquid on the toilet floor. We saw a a maid and she said that the room was not meant to be cleaned that day cos it had been empty the night before, hmmm. I asked if we could pay to be upgraded to a premier room but were told they were full up. The reception staff seemed so disnterested. i found the duty manager, who to be truthful was exactly the same as his staff, no interest.
We just left and paid again for a much nicer hotel across the road.
Please beware!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    1,232
    1,277
    979
    2,205
See reviews for
1,361
3,029
150
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Spent three days at the grand, my partner and I were a bit apprehensive having read the negative reviews and when issued with a key for a lower level room. We needn't have worried, the room was newly decorated, clean, warm and quiet. The bathroom was very good, with an excellent shower and the plumbing was up to scratch. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on and apart from the fire alarm at 5.00 a.m, the best night's sleep I've had for ages! The house keeping was a bit sketchy on Sunday, duvets thrown over unmade beds and tea and coffee not replenished and a request for more at the Reception desk was treated very indifferently, a second attempt got a positive result.
The location is magnificent and the view over the bay, from the restaurant, amazing, the food was typical of a Hotel serving mainly coach tours visitors, of which I was one, there was a choice at breakfast and dinner, tables were cleared and in my experience the buffet was kept replenished. The staff were efficient and polite, more than can be said for some of the clientele, and I find that if you treat people with respect it is reflected in the service you receive and, as for the presence of antiseptic gel throughout the Hotel, far from being associated with care homes and hospitals, ( where it largely seems to be lacking) it has been standard procedure on luxury liners for years and I, for one, having seen guests shunning the serving utensils in favour of diving into the food with their bare hands, was extremely grateful for it being there!!
There was entertainment every evening, ok, it was a bit tacky, but typically 'seaside'. It should be remembered that this Hotel is in the middle of major refurbishment and parts of it are very 'tired' looking, but we paid £99 each for our break and that included travel and excursions, so were more than happy. It's a no frills Hotel so if you expect five star accommodation and dining, you will be disappointed, you get exactly what you pay for!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel on the 3rd weekend of june for 4 nights. The room was lovely with sea views and it was also very clean, very nice to wake up hearing the sea, however balckout curtains would of been useful then me and my partner could of had a bit more sleep instead of waking when the sun comes up every morning.
They also took the money for the hotel almost a week before we where due to stay(not clearly displayed on the website and non refundable) which left us very short of cash to survive for the week ahead.
Young couples were very much in short supply in this hotel so getting into a lift(which would only hold 3 people max) you were pretty much guaranteed to meet a stroke or heart attack victim.
On our arrival we were given a ticket which had on it were we was assigned to eat at meal times, we accidently went and sat in the wrong room(premiere) on our first morning and the service in there was lovely, couldn't fault them, much nicer and better service than were we was supposed to be and the food was frequently replenished thus not allowing any food to dry out. On our second morning however we realised we was in the wrong restaurant so off we went to harbour lights, the usher type assistant that checks your ticket to see if you are in the correct restaurant and take your ticket from you if its your last morning there was very rude to me and my partner ' dont you put your cup on my table, you'll leave rings! Dont you have saucers at your house'.
After this type of attitude me and my partner decided to eat out for the last 2 days of our trip meaning the whole trip cost us alot more than we expcted.
There is parking infront of the hotel but i think i remember seeing a pay and display box, there wasnt enough spaces left when we arrived so we had to pay £6 a day to park the car near the round about on the front. If i had an enemys, which i dont, i would not recommend this hotel to them.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young_travellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Booked a 3 night half board stay. Food so poor we ate out days 2 & 3. Fire alarm went off on five occasions during early hours of Saturday morning and we discovered there was no phone in the room with which to contact reception - very worrying in the case of an emergency and especially when considering the number of elderly guests using the hotel. Dining room not clean and no service whatsoever. Hotel room had prominent leaflet about noro virus, but you had to contact a member of the management team on an outside number - which you could only do if you had a mobile phone. Would not recommend this hotel and will not use again - they are taking advantage of their clientele.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia123Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I booked a night dinner, bed and breakfast at this hotel for myself and my husband. The room was average, clean and comfortable but no frills. In the corridor on which we stayed there was a number of the same print on the wall. So there were six identical prints decorating the walls. The hotel was paranoid about novo virus and had instructions for guests on what to do if they felt unwell and incongruously there were several alcohol solution sites for hand sanitation around the hotel, more like a hospital setting than an hotel!
Food? Was served self service style from hot plates in the dining room, fairly basic fayre, gammon steak, fish, chicken being the staples. But breakfast was a nightmare! There was a queue from the dining room up the stairs to the next floor and back down to restraunt level. Very ordinaire, usual fry up supported by toast and cereals. My husband summed it up as being akin to being on a very low budget cruise, school dinners would have been elevating the commensuals way beyond their quality and value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandalove54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We booked a last minute night away at this hotel. When we arrived we were given the key to a room in the gods. The ceiling sloped so badly, you wouldn't get out of bed without smacking your head. The windows were filthy, the hotel literature had bogeys on it! We asked for another room. We encountered the reception staff, who couldn't give a damn. they couldn't have been less helpful. We were given a room in a basement with no window. It smelt damp the moment we got out the lift. We took the stairs, only to find they were under construction!
Breakfast was from a dirty table. We asked for a window table, and were completely ignored. The coffee was the worst instant I have ever tasted. The dull, food was served from shabby buffet tables.
I had found a norovirus advice sheet in the bedroom, and wondered about the anti bacterial dispensers in the hallways, more of a care home than a hotel! I work in public health and couldn't face the breakfast! We went to Wetherspoons! Yuck!!! I will never stay in a Britannia hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry that we did not fully meet with your expectations for your recent stay with us.

We do try to ensure everyone has a seamless visit to us, and we are sorry that you feel that was not that case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Just got back from a three night break, couldn't fault it had a really relaxing few days, bedroom nice, clean and comfortable, staff very good and helpful, food good entertainment was canny won the bingo when there so that was a bonus would recommend for a cheap and cheerfull short break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertadava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing