We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor with cold rooms and poor quality food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“very poor with cold rooms and poor quality food.”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

we booked in a group for our annual end of year club trip. Our rooms were in need of a good clean with cobwebs on the walls and ceiling. Our first night dinner was cold and very unappealing. The second night only slightly better. The hotel is old but that is no excuse for poor quality. Service though was good overall.One of the lifts was off and this proved to be a problem when we were leaving.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexton06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    1,233
    1,277
    981
    2,210
See reviews for
1,362
3,034
151
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We booked a 'late rooms' deal to stay for 2 nights, on a bed/ breakfast & evening meal in a Club Room - with no prior knowledge of either the town or the hotel.
We'd been told by friends to expect 'faded grandeur' - but we were more than pleasantly surprised! Far from looking tired, this beautiful period hotel was in excellent condition - and contrary to previous comments, we saw only spotlessly clean carpets in both the public areas, and in our own room. The decoration of the entire public areas seemed fresh, and we enjoyed exploring all the public rooms/areas (yes, the weather was terrible....!) Of particular interest to my partner was all the cricket memorabilia.
Yes, the hotel is in full swing of the 'turkey and tinsel' season, full of pensionable age guests, and we are in our forties - but, so what? This only ADDED to our lovely break in this hotel. Friendly atmosphere BECAUSE of the majority age group - and it's certainly a quiet late night hotel!
The staff, particularly in the dining room, are friendly, helpful and professional. The meal choices/standards are geared towards the majority ie. fairly basic, slightly overcooked traditional english fayre (which we both enjoyed immensely) - it is actually possible to eat somewhere in the region of a 6 COURSE meal from the self serve buffet!) Free coffee served in one of the ground floor lounges to follow the evening meal, what an unexpected bonus!
The evening entertainment (following bingo) in the 2 tier THEATRE (do you get THAT in a budget B & B??) was a really high standard, featuring 2 professional singers and 2 professional dancers. Very colouful, and very very entertaining, thank you.
Our room was in the 2nd lower basement, a lovely internal modern room with no windows. Certainly not a problem for us, it was warm, spotlessly clean, had a good firm mattress and possibly the best shower I have EVER come across! Wow, was the water pressure powerful - and a huge double shower enclosure as well - heaven!
The only less than good experience at this hotel was the smell at the approach to the dining room (which incidently has probably the best view of the shoreline/harbour of any hotel in the town). The approach/stairwell seemed to smell of boiled cabbage permanently - but we were only in it for seconds, so not a major concern!
The only regret is that we didn't book for longer - a thoroughly good experience, we were sad to leave. We would have no hesitation in returning. This is a hotel which I am currently actively trying to find a coach company that travels from the area both my father, and my in laws live in, as I am certain they will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We paid back street B&B rates for a 2 night deal at this lovely old hotel in a great position. It was truly enjoyable and great value: our room had a view of the stormy sea and boats in the harbour, the quality of the all you can eat meals was superb and we had a bottle of wine brought to our room to welcome us. The Christmas songs blaring out and crackers with dinner was a bit odd as it was November but not a problem. Most of the guests were in their 70s or older but all seemed to be having a good time. It mightn't suit younger people, especially the cabaret, but even if you just use it as a base for exploring lovely Scarborough and surrounding coast it's worth much more than we paid.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigalecLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

What a lovely hotel, preserved in all it's glory. It really is like stepping back in time. Room that we had was very spacious, with a huge bathroom (granted the bath was stained with something yellow) TV could have done with being a bit bigger and perhaps have more than 2 bloomin channels! Breakfast was crap, i'll not mince my words. You can get a breakfast in Scarborough fairly cheap and much better tasting! No parking, so it will cost you to put your car somewhere safe.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed at the Grand for 2 nights. On entering the Grand you can see where it gets its name BEAUTIFUL we stayed fri 12th nov and they had all their christmas decorations up it looked fab, myself and husband where on the 6th floor unfortunately the lift only goes to the 5th floor, our room was small,clean and no view what-so-ever but such as life we where only there for 2 days. the food was fine,staff friendly,entertainment ok would we go back.YES.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marj_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2010

After debating on whether to visit Bridlington or Scarborough we went for the Grand Hotel in Scarborough. This was to be a very bad choice. On arriving (in early Nov) we noticed that the hotel was decked out w gaudy Xmas trees etc etc. A group of 300 or so Old Aged Pensioners were having a Xmas party. Christmas music was being played and every one was in Xmas gear( hats,ear muffs etc etc). No problem!! We checked in and found out our room was in the basement and next to the kitchen. The heat vent in the room was noisy and ran all night coz there was no way to turn it off. They had a false window attached to the bedroom wall!! The food at dinner time(christmas dinner) was ....almost unpalatable but the Party goers were enjoying it. The breakfast was unpalatable.Fried eggs that looked and felt like they were from the joke shop, scrambled eggs were in 1/2 inch of water.....etc. Some of the carpet was loose in the dining area, a trip hazard. This was probably a magnificent place to stay in yester year but not in Nov 2010. Have a safe holiday period.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6qq613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our 361rooms vary in shape and size and we do have 40 internal rooms. The internal rooms are clean , modern and functional, albeit without a window. The only way to guarantee a room with a window and sea view is to upgrade to a Premier Room.

From 1st November we offer Turkey & Tinsel short breaks. These consist of themed Christmas menus and entertainment with all the party paraphenalia involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We took advantage of the Travel Zoo special two night stay offer before reading some of the negative reviews. The rooms were clean and the food very acceptable. The staff in the Premier restaurant worked very hard to provide a friendly efficient service. Complaints about delays to get in the restaurant or to get a lift are unjustified. The hotel has its own special character and during our stay all the guests we spoke to seemed happy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 21 November 2010
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing