We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and already booked to return in July”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #61 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Batley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic and already booked to return in July”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Friendly welcome ,great hosts
Room was lovely and clean.
Breakfast was great
We were very lucky called in on off chance and we got the last room because they had a cancellation .
We had seen the guest houses last year when going to the open air theatre so when we booked for Elton John for sunday 05 June 2011 we knew where to go.

We have booked to return in July for the next concert.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2sykos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thanks for your great review, Have you put Eltons autograph in a frame yet? Best wishes see you in July Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
161
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Everything was great, very clean throughout, comfy bed, excellent breakfast especially the homemade cakes, very friendly couple. Location was ideal for us, near enough to the centre to walk too. We would recommend to friends and family and go again. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysandisks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Glad you both enjoyed your weekend it was lovely to meet you both, Homemade Blondies were on the monday breakfast cake stand maybe next time you will get to try them, best wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

we have just spent another short break at the alexander and yet again we have been blown away by the warm welcome and amazing service in this gem of a hotel.we stayed in a different room this time and found it as good as ever with beautiful decor and an amazingly comfy bed. No review of the Alexander would be complete without a mention of the food cooked by Alex and served by julie, the breakfast is cooked to perfection with the tastiest bacon ever, but the dinner menu is worth a review all of its own, thanks Alex for the REAL sticky toffee pudding, I never wanted it to end. We have come home relaxed and very well fed and cannot wait for our next visit. All we can say is you both should be very proud of what you have created at the Alexander. Angela and Lawrence Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us again Angela and lawerence we are so glad you had a good time at the Alexander, next time maybe we will tempt you with Alex's homemade rice pudding with vanilla iceream homemade biscuit and fresh raspberry sauce . Have a lovely summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We've just had a fabulous weekend at the Alexander Hotel, Tripadvisor came up trumps with this one. The Hotel was spotless,fab rooms and a great breakfast, what more could you want? Lovely.

Room Tip: For something special, go for the Luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagsthemod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thanks for your lovely review, look forward to your return visit in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford uk
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

If picking up a parking ticket in Scarborough is the low point of a break, then arriving and booking into the Alexander Hotel has to be the high point. Having ,as usual, driven myself to the point of distraction trying to choose one of the dozens of available hotels in town, in the end it had to come to sheer professional approach with a top end website with pictures of the rooms that are clear,concise and colourful...that make you want to spend time in the room,and someone on the end of the phone line when you book who goes the extra step to make you feel that you have made the best choice you possibly could.
Other visitors have very accurately described the attention to detail and cleanliness of the hotel, the filling,well served breakfast and sheer friendliness of the proprietors.
We can only echo their sentiments.....there really was no aspect of the hotel that we could fault,they clearly make solid contacts with their guests and the fact that people were there with us who were returning visitors says it all.
It was a lovely touch to find a birthday card and small gift on our return from Whitby, clearly julie spent time in the North Yorkshire constabulary and picked up the tell tale clues in our room!!
Julie ,Alex and the members of their family who assist in the smooth running of the hotel have a lot to be proud of .......we would urge anyone pondering where to stay to just give up and give Alexander (the Great) Hotel a call......save the money from those other calls and buy yourselves some celebratory fish "n" chips !
Final note....the website was absolutely accurate as to the quality of the decor,fitment and amenities of the rooms...we stayed in the depicted room top right on the website...it was superb,large,warm,well appointed and a joy to return to....can other hotels say the same about THEIR rooms?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, its always lovely when people pick us to celebrate special occasions. Hope to see you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We booked this hotel having read the reviews on trip advisor and were hoping that it would live up to the very good comments that it had received. It has not only lived up to them, it has far surpassed them. From the moment you walk into this hotel you receive a true Yorkshire welcome from Julie, who with her husband Alex show a real interest and care for their guests thriughout their stay. The next thing that strikes you is the well co-ordinated decor throughout the hotel, indicative of great care and thought that they show in everything that they do. Our room on the top floor was extremely spacious, with a dressing area in addition to the en-suite facilities. There was also a most comfortable sitting area. Eveything in the room, like the rest of the hotel, was immaculate and spotlessly clean. At this point in the review there is a great danger that I shall run out of superlatives, but some must be kept for the breakfasts. Having eaten many a buffet breakfast in four star hotels where the food has languished sadly on a hot plate awaiting my arrival, it was so refreshing to have a breakfast freshly cooked by Alex, a chef who clearly loves food and is only willing to work with the very best of ingredients. I can still savour that bacon and only wish I knew the supplier - it certainly was not supermarket shelf. My wife who eats no meat, but adores fish, was specially catered for each morning without repetition. The one thinks of the home made lemon curd and I could go on and on.....But I won't. Only to say that after such a warm welcome and superb attention throughout our stay, we discovered by chance that Julie's mother had died on the very day of our arrival. The fact that this in no way detracted from the service that we received is yet another indication of the true professionals that they are. We will certainly be back again and hope that others will be encouraged to do so from this brief account of our experience.
Dr Jim Smith

Room Tip: Eat in of an evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJimSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2011
Thank you for a lovely review, and so well timed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We've just returned from a short stay at the Alexander and I must say what a great experience. Julie and Alex really looked after us and made us feel very welcome in their home. Although we only had the breakfast, the food was top class and had everything we wanted. The bedroom was very spacious and the bed very comfy. The little extras that even 5 star hotels don't think about made a difference too. Obviously a lot of thought and care has gone into providing an excellent service and all the awards they get are well deserved. We would recommend the Alexander to anyone and will definately visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thankyou so much for a wonderful review, we loved having you both and glad you enjoyed our hotel. Hope to see you again And remember our direct telephone booking discounts every little helps
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#32 of 182 in Scarborough
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#103 of 182 in Scarborough
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#45 of 182 in Scarborough
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#9 of 182 in Scarborough
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#79 of 182 in Scarborough
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#97 of 182 in Scarborough
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing