We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super! Smashing! Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #67 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Brigg, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super! Smashing! Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Just got back from having a two night stay (Wed/Thurs 20th & 21st).
The hospitality given by Julie & Alex and family, cannot be faulted! From the moment we arrived when Julie greeted us with a smile and a cup of tea we knew straight away that this is going to be good and we were not disappointed.

The rooms we had were excellent, very clean with all the facilities that you would expect, you both know how to make your guests feel at home.

The food was very good, excellent table service by your son Aaron and the young girl who served us on Friday morning, and of course Julie.
You both have a hotel to be proud of, we would recommend the Alexander Hotel to anyone.

Thanks again.......we will be back!!
Angie & Kye, Don & Dot and Mags & Garry,the trio from Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieBrown7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thanks for your lovely review, glad you all had a nice time regards Julie Alex Aaron and Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had a five day break and wished it had been longer. Julie & Alex were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. When we arrived after over 4 hours travelling we were shown our room we had a lovely pot of tea and home made biscuits. The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room lovely. The breakfast was really good and Julie's home made lemon curd and cake finished it off. We only had b & b as we were going out everyday and did not know what time we would get back. We will definitely go back to the Alexander.
Pete & Dianne

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Hi Pete and Dianne thanks for your review glad you had a lovely holiday with sorry we couldn't do the extra days, hope to see you both again best wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed in this lovely hotel at the weekend. The cleanliness is second to none, well furnished rooms with very comfortable beds and the food was excellent. Would defintley recommend that you book for dinner and sample Alex's food. The welcome you receive more than made up for the awful rain on the Saturday which Alex said was due to the cricket being played in Scarborough! ! The sun did shine on the Sunday though. Julie -remember to listen to Alan Jackson & Alison Krauss. Enjoy your family holiday to America and we hope to enjoy Nashville. Thanks again for an excellent weekend.
Don & Lynda

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
It was was lovely to meet you both, Sorry about the weather!! As we say on our website we can guarantee beautiful clean accomodation Great Food the only thing left to chance is the weather.
Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Excellent hotel offering a warm and friendly holiday, from arrival to departure from Julie and Alex, nothing is ever too much trouble.
The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable with all the little extra luxury items.
The food from breakfast and evening meal is superb, perfectly cooked and presented, no one goes away feeling hungry.
Julie and Alex deserve the awards they have recieved for the hotel from the quality of the food, accommodation and service they provide.
WE WILL BE BACK !

Room Tip: Give Julie or Alex a ring for rooms available and prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDPAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Glad your holiday with us was a good one, and a big thank you for your room tip phoning us will always give the best price and value. Looking forward to seeing you again. The awards are great but the repeat trade is even better! Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Staffs
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Another return visit for us and everything just as good as ever! Super clean and totally welcoming. Rooms vary from spacious to seriously large with top level facilities throughout. Always some other guests that have been before; first timers full of praise on all counts. Breakfasts legendary and dinners superb. Well worth fitting into the early evening timing for top level courses created by the ever- enthusiastic Alex. Some special touches without ever detracting from the first class ingredients.

Excellent location for new open air arena a short walk away. Not many hotels in Scarborough with easy off-street parking. Do put the Alexander top of your list for Scarborough and East Yorkshire! We're already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for your great review, Remember to Always Email or telephone us on 01723 363178 for the best prices and ALL OUR AVAILABITIES are not all online. At the moment expedia and hotels.com are showing us full and we do have Vacanies. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

when we arrived we received a warm welcome with a pot of tea which was a nice touch, the room was very clean but a bit small, the breakfast was great, especialy the homemade banana and carrot cake. located near local park and beach which was a pleasant walk. overall very good would stay again if we visit scarborough

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Thank you for your review, its great when people take the time to write one. Our standard rooms are small but perfectly formed and this season both our standard rooms have had brand new ensuites and memory foam beds. The price you pay reflects the size of our rooms, for a little extra our luxury rooms are very large and come with a sitting area and 37inch screen tv's maybe next you would like to upgrade to one. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

An absolute gem. A very friendly welcome from Julie and Alex on arrival. Rooms spacious, tidy and very clean, beds comfortable. Hotel tastefully decorated throughout. Food excellent with both traditional and imaginative dishes perfectly prepared and served. A delightful experience, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
It was a great pleasure to look after you both,glad your stay at the Alexander was a good one. Have you chosen your favorite dish yet!!! if so you will have to let us know for next time.
Regards
Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#105 of 182 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing