We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a super hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #64 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a super hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our first tip to Scarborough saw me rushing to research the local hotels and I am so glad I did, as I found a real gem in the Alexander. You really can believe the reviews..From the spotlessly clean rooms and the comfy beds to the excellent breakfasts ( that set you up for the day!! ) every thing was perfect. We decided to eat dinner in and the meals were super .In addition the great hosts Julie and Alex have thought of all those little touches that are so often missing from the soul less chain hotels,For example after our journey it was lovely to be greeted with a smiling face and a big pot of tea and scrummie home backed biscuits.
Thank you Alex and Julie for a wonderful stay, you made us feel really special and when we are back in the Scarborough area for another break we will definately be staying at the Alexander.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to an upgrade to a larger room it is well worth it ,with walk in wardrobe, sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write wonderful review, it was a pleasure to look after you both and hoping you both had a relaxing time. We would love to see you both return to the alexander in the future. Remember yoyu can join our facebook page to see what happening at the alexander. Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GEORDIELAND
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having had quite a few bad experiences in this town it was with some trepidation we decided on another visit,one last chance we thought, well glad we did, we have finally found accomodation that fully meets and in some aspects exceeds expectations.
Others need to take note, the new breed of visitors want chic and modern, not chintz and dralon headboards.
The alexander is now probably in our top ten and we are very experienced visitors, the rooms are clean and modern and towels were fluffy not threadbare like some we have had, the choice of refreshments in the room were good, not cheap brands.
And the food was brilliant, far and above what we were expecting what a surprise, the chef is passionate about what he does, and definitely cares about what he puts out, it is of the highest standard and much better than a lot of "posh " restaurants.
some hotel owners despise us in the Trip Advisor community saying we all think we are budding hotel inspectors, hey we are not budding inspectors , we ARE inspectors we are paying our money so are probably better placed to review establishments than the professionals, if owners give a decent experience to us they have nothing to fear and I cannot see this establishement ,if it continues in the same vain ever getting a bad review, there was some great touches like the home made lemon curd which was superb, and the ingredients used at breakfast were top class, none of that bacon with gunghy white stuff coming from it and didnt use cheap fatty sausages, home made granola etc.Our only negative and its a minor is they don,t like you to have a bottle of wine in your room, we have been to other places that have provided a corkscrew and glasses to encourage you, remember we are on a break and we are adults, giving the class of clientele using this hotel I don,t think there would be any problems allowing people a bottle of wine in the room, but that aside its our only minor negative , we will return and in future it will be our hotel of choice , it is exactly waht we would expect, clean comfortable modern high standards and committed to customer care

Room Tip: Park the car for your stay only a short walk to north bay,its adult only so ideal if you want to esc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your great review one of the best that we have ever had and we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and food. Its more than a business to us we love to give people a great holiday whether its a couple of nights or longer.
Just one small thing to correct, we do not stop guest having wine in their rooms, we just ask that its purchased in our licensed bar. Our quality house wine starts at £9.95 we believe its great value, the wine is served with lovely glasses and an ice bucket to keep your treat chilled. Hope you both have a lovely summer and return once again to the Alexander. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Just returned from another fantastic stay at The Alexander where you are guaranteed a warm welcome from hosts Julie and Alex. The Alexander is stylish, has comfy beds and is spotlessly clean. Finding good accommodation with excellent food can be a problem for vegetarians like me and my better half, but not at The Alexander. Chef Alex enjoys the challenge of creating delicious vegetarian food. From the home made cake/biscuits that accompany the welcoming cuppa on arrival, to the excellent vege cooked breakfasts with Halloumi replacing the 'meaty bits', and the 3-course dinners, Alex's vegetarian 'cuisine' is a delight. So give yourselves a treat, pick up the phone - you get the best rates if you book direct - and speak to Julie. We can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaznToz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Great review thanks so much, Alex and I love to make each guest have a special time, fresh homemade vegetarian food no problem! Look forward to seeing you both again. Become our friend on our facebook so you can keep an eye on what happening at the Alexander. xxx Best wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Had a fantastic time, thank you very much Julie and Alex, it was our 11 year wedding anniversary and they made our stay wonderful, nothing is too much trouble , the room was spotless and very nice, dont hesitate in booking this hotel you will not be dissapointed, food well what can i say it was out of this world, Alex is a wonderful Chef, cannot wait till we come back in July

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minime30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Lovely to welcome you both to the alexander and thankyou for picking us to celebrate your wedding Anniversary. We look for to welcoming you and your parents in July you still have loads of fantastic dishes to try on Alex menus!! Fresh and homemade. Thankyou for booking via the phone. Best Wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We needed a place to stay whilst moving house, and so glad we chose the Alexander Hotel. It almost felt like going home in the midst of all the turmoil and chaos and we had such lovely hosts in Julie and Alex, who made us most welcome.
The room was adequate size, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and had all the usual facilities and more! It really was a pleasure staying there.
The breakfast was excellent with a wide range in choices from full english to yoghurts, fruit, cereals and homemade lemon curd! (yum!)
We had dinner on the final night. 4 courses which were splendid and well worth the £20 per head.
Location-wise for visitors it is excellent, being close to all the North Bay attractions and being a 5 minute drive into the town centre. The beach would be a leisurely 10 minute walk.
A lovely restful stay. Would highly recommend to any body.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
So glad we made your move to beautiful Scarborough a little less stressful, we hope you will be very happy in your new home and glad you enjoyed ours. Remember if you need anything we are only a phone call away! Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Had a great time last week at the alexander
Fantastic food dont think i have had better anywhere room superb in every way
very friendly hosts could not fault it even the weather was incredible red hot in march looking forward to next time

Room Tip: number 3 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you for the lovely review , try our best to make every stay special we look forward to meeting you again. , Remember we always give a discount on our online price if you telehone us direct. Have a lovely summer. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Lovely hotel. Julie and Alex very friendly, helpful hosts. Spotless accommodation, excellent food and nothing too much trouble. Stay here-you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppins276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Manager at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Big thankyou for your great review its good to know how much you all enjoy your holidays with us, we would love it if you became our friends on Facebook so you can keep up to date with whats going on in Scarborough and the hotel ( Alexander Scarborough) is what you need to tap in lovely photos of the the waves today!!! Best Wishes Julie and Alex xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#108 of 182 in Scarborough
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#110 of 182 in Scarborough
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#10 of 182 in Scarborough
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing