We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW !!!!”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #68 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW !!!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First class accommodation, food and hospitality. Room small but well equipped with everything you may need and great to get a bath as well as shower. Alex, your gorgeous puddings deserve to be enveloped in your beautiful custard not floating on a lake, thank you for the bowls !!!! Thanks too to Julie for your lovely Easter treats.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caspas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the lovely review. Best Wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
158
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from a four night stay at The Alexander on Scarboroughs North Bay.Always a warm welcome from Alex and Julie with coffee and shortbread.Excellent food for breakfast and dinner and first class accommodation make The Alexander a special place to stay. Back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for the great review, as one of our many repeat guest its good to know that you still love coming to us. Best Wishes Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Alexander for their opening weekend and all I can say is if you are looking for first class accommodation and food in a friendly,family run hotel, look no further! Alex and Julie make everyone welcome at The Alexander,whether you are new visitors or returners and it is easy to see why many, like ourselves do return again and again. The rooms are spotlessly clean and really comfortable with all the facilities you would expect from 5 star accommodation. Prices vary depending on the size of room you want. The food as always was superb and although this was a special weekend with a dinner party on Saturday night, the breakfasts and evening meals you get in the season are second to non.
Finally, The Alexander certainly doesn't deserve to be at 19 on Trip Advisor. Give it a try and I'm sure you will see what I mean. Already looking forward to our next visit later this year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zipwirequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyskierYorkshire, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
A great weekend had by all, good food,good friends and Scarborough in sunshine.
Alex and I are refreshed and ready for the 2014 summer season, looking forward to welcoming new and repeat guest. Thanks for a great review see you soon.
Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We and our friends spent a wonderful 4 night stay at the Alexander last summer. We would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this quiet hotel to anyone. Whilst this was our first visit to the hotel it quickly became clear in talking to the other guests that most of them were regular visitors who had been returning for years. That in itself speaks volumes! The rooms were very comfortable and decorated to a good standard with all the expected facilities ensuite. Julie and Alex and their family made us feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Alex's home cooking was to die for! Thanks for a lovely time and good luck for the future - you deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of the Alexander. Hope to see you all again this summer.
we start our 2014 season from the 13th of April, to book please call or email this will always be the best price and we can help with room choice and dietary needs to make your stay a memorable one. Looking forward to meeting and greeting you all this summer.
Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My parents have stayed here numerous times and would fully recommend the Alexander. They took me along for a weekend break and I could not fault it. Alex and Julie were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and were quiet. We had dinner there every evening - and I can quite simple say Alex's cooking is fantastic. I informed them I was dairy and yeast intolerant before I arrived and for the first time Alex cooked me food in such a way that I was able to eat food I hadn't eaten since I found out I was intolerant. I would recommend the Alexander to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Scarborough, myself and parents would not stay anywhere else but the Alexander hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you both this year, Scarborough and North Yorkshire are the in places to stay in 2014 with many wonderful things happening including the Tour de France, Jessie J and Status Quo and other great artist performing at the open air theatre 5 mins from The Alexander. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Julie was so welcoming and helpful. I was travelling alone and Julie helped to make this a wonderful memorable holiday. I would not hesitate to return again. The home cooked food was exceptional. A lovely holiday, thank you.
This review was written for Molly from Dronfield.

Room Tip: My room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Alexander Molly, we enjoyed introducing you to all our regular guest. Regards Julie and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have stayed a number of times with Julie and Alex, including this year for our anniversary in September. You couldn't ask for a more welcoming couple. Their hotel is 5*. Spotless and outstandingly appointed rooms, fabulous breakfasts and delicious dinners prepared by Alex. Here's hoping we can make it back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We love to make happy memories for our guest. Thank you for the review Just to say we are now taking booking for 2014 but our ONLINE SYSTEM will be down till the 4th of January as we are changing provider please call us we are happy to take telephone bookings. Regards Julie And Alex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#110 of 183 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#9 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#114 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing