We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Gables Hotel(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
219
9
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
219
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulie alexhomemade shortbreadwarm welcomeevening meals arehome made cakescooked to perfectionrooms are spotlessly cleanon arrivalgreat hostslittle touchesfull englishnorth bayother guestslovely roomdining roomcomfy bedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Stayed as a couple but due to a work commitment I stayed the night alone & partner joined me for breakfast. The room/home was wonderful. so friendly & lots of local information. Our room was small & beautiful. Bathroom was amazing. So that leaves the breakfast which has to be the best ive ever experienced & home made cake was heaven. A must for couples. Thankyou for a lovely nights rest. xxx

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chrissie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

A warm and friendly welcome from Julie & Alex, along with a lovely cuppa and homemade shortbread biscuits, we were shown to a high standard room clean bathroom and bed linen, tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent breakfasts were served, with superb evening menu's. This Hotel is well worth a visit,we will certainly return to this homely & comfortable Hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor, premier room excellent
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Can't fault this hotel at all. Coffee and home made shortbread on our arrival and a warm welcome from Julie, the owner. Spotlessly clean, lovely room, nice bed, and power shower in a modern bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent and prompt. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were impressed by the little touches that made our stay so special, and we would recommend this hotel to others and hopefully we will return ourselves in the future. Also, it is only a 5 minute walk to promenade and beach, so it is well situated.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tom w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Julie with tea and delicious homemade shortbread, I knew we were going to experience something special. Our room, number 4 at the front of the hotel, had everything we could have desired. Twin beds were extremely comfortable, there was plenty of wardrobe space, a fully stocked hospitality tray ( top quality products) and beaurifully soft and absorbent white towels. Our Ensuite shower room was perfect, with a lovely power shower and some very nice complimentary toiletries. It was pristine.
I really appreciated the attention to detail - the rooms are tastefully furnished and decorated and absolutely spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was a delight. I couldn't have asked for anything better, there was a wide selection of high quality cereals, lovely fresh fruit including strawberries, thick yoghurt, chilled juices, homemade lemon curd, preserves and marmalade, even the most delicious chocolate orange cake! And then the cooked breakfast to follow- absolutely mouthwatering best quality bacon and locally sourced sausage. Best of all, the poached egg I requested was cooked to perfection. I only wish I could cook them so perfectly at home! Plenty of choices on the breakfast menu, even our toast was made with some very nice bread!
As if this was not enough, there was such a pleasant and friendly atmosphere at breakfast time in the dining room. We were seated at a table for 2, and our cooked breakfast order was taken and served by one of Julie and Alex's sons, who was at home from Uni. What a pleasant young man - he had a naturally friendly and relaxed nature. Nothing was too much trouble.
On the morning of our departure, we enquiried about ordering a taxi to Scarborough station, and to our surprise we were offered a lift by Alex. He declined any payment and said he was happy to help. We just cannot thank Julie and Alex enough for making our stay so very comfortable. All it remains to say is that you will not regret booking at The Alexander, this is a top class establishment but not in the least bit stuffy or formal, there is a lovely relaxing ambience and you will experience great customer service. And no, I am not on commission!!

Room Tip: Twin room number 4, very comfortable beds and great power shower.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank poorbuthappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Wow is all we can say to that amazing review.... we've had the Alexander for 17 years and we love that our customers still love what's special about it. Hope to see you both again .
Regards
Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

My first visit to the Alexander and it exceeded all of my expectations.
My room was spotlessly clean with lots of nice touches. The care and attention to detail shown by Alex and Julie is outstanding.
The quality of the food served at breakfast and in the evening is of an extremely high standard.
I will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kevb652016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tes389, Owner at Alexander Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Awh, it was lovely to meet you to, I'm glad you felt welcome....see you soon
Regards
Julie and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews