We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wrea Head Hall(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Gables Hotel(Scarborough)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
220
9
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
220
9
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjulie alexhomemade shortbreadwarm welcomeevening meals arehome made cakescooked to perfectionrooms are spotlessly cleanon arrivalgreat hostslittle touchesfull englishnorth bayother guestslovely roomdining roomcomfy bedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

had a fantastic time at the Alexander hotel.Alex and Julie were wonderful hosts.nothing was too much trouble for them.the hotel was immaculately clean and the breakfast was delicious!We have stopped in many hotels in the U.K and this is by far the very best of them all.A gem!thanks Alex and Julie.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank jessie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We've stayed with Julie & Alex several times before and have always had a perfect stay. Warm welcome and EVERTHING is first class. At each visit there have always been yet further improvements even to facilities that many hotels would have run with until they dropped (off)!
So clean and sparkling everywhere but guests still feel totally at ease in this home-from-home. With Alex's enthusiastic cooking we can never understand why guests choose just B&B option.
All rooms have widescreen HD TV and some have an additional comfy sitting areas. Rather than just booking on line it's better to talk to Julie herself so she can describe exactly what she has available.
No need to drop a bullseye point for location as the Alex is near to excellent Peasholme park and rejuvenated North bay with frequent promenade transport through to South bay & spa.
Scarborough's hidden gem for perfect accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at the Alexander Hotel, warm friendly welcome, the rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and are exceptionally clean. We would recommend having an evening meal as this was very nice indeed as was breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. Well done Alex and Julie.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Alexander Hotel does just what it says on the box!
It started when we arrived and were greeted with tea and home made shortbread. This also gave the opportunity to meet the other guests.
Our room was very clean, well decorated and spacious. It had all the amenities we needed.
The food was excellent and the table service even better. The lounge and bar was a great meeting place with Julie and Alex joining in the conversation from time to time.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and this hotel has just achieved it's Gold Star Award!! Well deserved.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

Upon entering this attractive hotel we were greeted with such a warm welcome with fresh coffee and home made shortbread. We were absolutely stunned when wewere shown our room, it was amazing!! it had been completely revamped along with several other rooms and the standard was just incredible!! We had the privelidge of being in the hotel before a lot of the other guests arrived and was shown the other rooms which had also been revamped and we would have been hardpressed to pick a favourite. ~We were staying in the luxury room and it certainly lived upto its title!! We were also proud to hear that the hotel inspector had been the week prior and awarded thehotel the first gold award in Scarborough!! The hotel certainly deserved it. Our room had a lovely walk in wardrobe and a superb seating area wuith brown leather chairs which was very relaxinhg and good to have an area apart from the bed in which to sit and read and just take in a tea or coffee. Every single thing has been thought out ndown to decor and accessoreis, the shower room was beautiful and screamed out cleanliness and was so spacious, truly wonderful. The location of the hotel is superb and close to all ameniuties especially Peasholme Park and many local attractions. There are many local pubs to which we attended most evening and had a truly wonderful 4 days away!!! There is nothing in this hotethat i could pick fault with, Jule and Alex who run the show are just amazing people, a real pleasure to be around and you certtainly do leave as a friend!! We left today and booked again for a few momths down the line and am already looking forward to it.. Anyone reading ths review i urge you to treat yourself and experience a real taste of Yorkshire!! First Class in every way!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogarthollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews