We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Scarborough”
Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #59 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2010

just stayed three nights at the Alexander hotel what a great time we had , the hotel is a beautiful gem in scarborough. Julie and Alex are marvellous hosts and the food is truly amazing.Rooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean . The hotel is in a great location ,nice and quiet but a short walk to peasholm park and north bay. We look forward to returning . Thanks Alex and Julie.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

The hotel is ideally situated in Burniston Road and is near to the amenities of the quieter North Bay, close to Peasholm Park, the recently superb refurbishment of the outdoor theatre and the beach just a few minutes walk. It also has its own off road parking to the front and sides of the establishment.

On arrival we were greeted by the owners Julie and Alex, and made to feel very welcome as valued guests, and not just as a commodity like some of the larger establishments. Our luxury room with en suite was large and decorated to an extremely high standard with modern furniture, including a 37” digital flat screen TV, with the beautifully co-ordinated soft furnishings finishing off the room. Double glazed windows blocked out what little traffic noise there was at night time, and the sumptuous king sized bed gave us a perfect night’s sleep.

There was plenty of choice available for breakfast, and the full English was cooked to perfection, with excellent service. Unfortunately we weren’t able to sample the evening meal on our arrival day, so I would recommend that future guests call a day or two beforehand, however, if the cooked breakfast is indicative of the evening meal, I’m sure we wouldn’t have been disappointed.

What was very clear from our stay at the Alexander is that the proprietors take extreme pride in their Hotel as it was excellently presented and scrupulously clean. I would definitely recommend The Alexander Hotel, for a weekend or an even longer stay, either way I feel it is only a matter of time before we return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandDBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Lovely clean hotel run by very friendly enthusiastic couple booked to go again most welcoming

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcbr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I don't think I can add much to the positive reviews submitted by previous guests other than to say I fully endorse their opinions and if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Scarborough then go ahead and book and then relax in the certain knowledge that you will be more than satisfied with this delightfully run family establishment .
If we ever stay in Scarborough again this would be the place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

had a fantastic time at the Alexander hotel.Alex and Julie were wonderful hosts.nothing was too much trouble for them.the hotel was immaculately clean and the breakfast was delicious!We have stopped in many hotels in the U.K and this is by far the very best of them all.A gem!thanks Alex and Julie.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank jessie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We've stayed with Julie & Alex several times before and have always had a perfect stay. Warm welcome and EVERTHING is first class. At each visit there have always been yet further improvements even to facilities that many hotels would have run with until they dropped (off)!
So clean and sparkling everywhere but guests still feel totally at ease in this home-from-home. With Alex's enthusiastic cooking we can never understand why guests choose just B&B option.
All rooms have widescreen HD TV and some have an additional comfy sitting areas. Rather than just booking on line it's better to talk to Julie herself so she can describe exactly what she has available.
No need to drop a bullseye point for location as the Alex is near to excellent Peasholme park and rejuvenated North bay with frequent promenade transport through to South bay & spa.
Scarborough's hidden gem for perfect accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaguarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We had an enjoyable stay at the Alexander Hotel, warm friendly welcome, the rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and are exceptionally clean. We would recommend having an evening meal as this was very nice indeed as was breakfast. We will definitely stay here again. Well done Alex and Julie.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 26 in Scarborough
448 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#105 of 184 in Scarborough
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#33 of 184 in Scarborough
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#51 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryndle Court Hotel
Ryndle Court Hotel
#83 of 184 in Scarborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Address: 33 Burniston Road, Scarborough YO12 6PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £93 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexander is a Gold award accommodation, Exclusively for Adults 100% non-smoking, purpose-built Scarborough hotel close to the sea, all the North Bay attractions and the North York moors. With a resident professional chef, a cocktail bar, modern centrally heated rooms, en suite facilities, TV, tea and coffee, a warm welcome and all the comforts of home await you. Commended by the English Tourism Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing