We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mcbusted!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough Open Air Theatre

Scarborough Open Air Theatre
Ranked #11 of 80 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scarborough's Open Air Theatre is the largest in Europe, with the original being built by Scarborough Corporation in the 1930s. Since the open air theatre was re-launched in 2010 by Her Majesty the Queen, after a £3.5M refurbishment. Over the last few years, Scarborough Open Air Theatre has played host to some of the biggest names in the music industry, including Elton John, Jessie J, Boyzone, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, JLS, Status Quo and McFly to name a few. For all the latest information regarding this fantastic venue, including upcoming shows, please visit our website, like us on Facebook (OpenAirTheatre) and follow us on Twitter (ScarboroughOAT).
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“mcbusted!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we really enjoyed our evening here, had a great view. shame it wasnt a full house. i do have to say tho that the angle of the seating that any one with vertigo should stay well away

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank satansmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    96
    28
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MCBUSTED!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great show at the OAT last night, just a shame more people weren't there to make it a full house but it's their loss!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Visited this venue between 2010-2012 it is a lovely music venue to visit,unlike any other.

I got there just before first support act appeared on the opening night of 2014 summer season Jessie J was on,it was very near to full house for this concert which was very impressive

Concert finished about 10.20 pm,i did not use the bars as quite expensive but i did buy food from the whitby scampi shack which serves some delicious food,i had the plaice goujons and chips.

I shall be returning to the venue for the legends of pop gig,rick astley,bananarama,jason donovan etc.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank misterwoo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Jessie J across the moat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

different music venue. well organised and arranged. sun was in our eyes because of stage site but had a great evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kos, Greece
2 reviews
“Excellent venue all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited here this weekend and have now bought tickets for a concert. This venue is unlike any other and must be a great asset to the town. We came to see Status Quo last year and are doing the same again this year.
The whole experience from start to finish was great, with a great atmosphere, great views from anywhere and great food and drinks to be bought. We have noticed that the bars have been built bigger again this year, we stopped for a drink this weekend, it was one of the freshest pints I have had in a long time.
Cant wait till the concert.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough Open Air Theatre also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough Open Air Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing