We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solid Rock Cafe

Solid Rock Cafe
Ranked #43 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem of a cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife, children and grandchildren were on holiday in North Yorkshire during early April and had a day in Scarborough which in itself was very pleasant. The best find of the day was discovering Solid Rock Café. This is a beautiful and homely café with a great selection of home cooking and baking with something for all ages. The service was friendly and efficient and little extras like providing small toys to amuse my grandsons whilst waiting were appreciated. The food was well presented and tasty with the potato rosti with bacon and egg deserving of a special mention. There is also a wonderful selection of cakes and traybakes, perfect to finish with a nice cup of coffee. I would not hesitate to return or recommend to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dexbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful cafe with great atmosphere as well as food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Found this cafe purely by chance on a trip to Scarborough town centre. What a lovely tea room with friendly service, and wonderful choices on the lunchtime menu board. The food and drinks were very tasty and served with great hospitality. We particularly appreciated the white chocolate mice that came with the hot drinks!! Would most certainly recommend this cafe to anyone wanting a superb light lunch or snack. Wonderful homemade food on offer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank PebblesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Homemade food served with genuine love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Solid Rock Cafe is in Eastborough, Scarborough, and serves homemade food of the highest order. Being someone who can't eat gluten does mean I have to be careful in my choices, but I can thoroughly recommend the potato rosti with bacon and poached egg (usually served with mushrooms, but I can't eat those either!). It is a real comfort-food dish, ideal after a walk along the beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank BronteBabe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had breakfast there, not quite in season so it was quiet.

Smooth efficient service, and tasty food.

Particularly liked the fact that the 'bap' that my sausage was on was lightly toasted which meant it kept nice and warm whilst I ate my toast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ghambleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit of a tardis :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Solid Rock Cafe doesn't look much from outside, but extends over three floors.

The friendly staff offer straight-forward freshly made food at reasonable prices done well with service in a clean, pleasant atmosphere.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DustyDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solid Rock Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Solid Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing