We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality at a reasonable price”
Review of Lifeboat Fishbar

Lifeboat Fishbar
Ranked #54 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Quality at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had fish n chips twice. Fish cooked to order and was really fresh and succulent. Chips were crisp and tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Lincoln-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    21
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty chips, friendly staff :)”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited Scarborough on Fathers day (15th june), and as it was sunday, places we would have usually gone to were shut so popped in here to try

only got 2 portions of chips on trays, £1.50 each, not bad price for the chips, not an enormous portion size but fair enough

Would visit again but not in a desperate urge
Would recommend to people looking for a smaller fish and chip shop rather than the larger busier places, this place could get busy but whenever i have seen it, it isn't.

Nice enough place but not outstanding

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best on the East coast!!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This is the place to go if you want "proper seaside fish and chips". Forget queuing on the seafront for greasy, tasteless, overpriced fish; go here for a real treat. The staff are all friendly, the atmosphere is lovely, the prices are more than reasonable, and the food is divine. Me and my friend always have the special meal deal which comes with fish, chips, mushy peas, bread and butter and a drink (all, I might add, for just £7.20) and have never even disappointed. The chips are so nice, the mushy peas really are mushy peas, the fish always taste so fresh and the batter is stunning. I'm not really a huge fan of chip shop food but I would never turn this place down. It's beautiful. Definitely try it out for yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cberesford84 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled on this fish and chip shop by chance, glad we did! We opted for the take-away option and was greeted by really friendly staff. The fish was really tasty and the chips were just how chips should be! I would definitely recommend. Might try sitting in the resturant next time we make a visit. In my opinion they're the best fish and chips I have had in my many trips to Scarborough! :)

Helpful?
2 Thank Delly1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Shhh Don't tell everyone !!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This glorious fish bar leaves you with a real dilemma. The food is excellent quality, as is the service and the cleanliness of the shop and cafe. However if you share the secret everyone will know and then we'll simply just have to share!!!!
Just a few strides away from the main seafront stretch, that is packed with people queuing for ages at the apparently most popular fish and chips shops, is this little gem. Just because the queues are big on the seafront shops doesn't mean it is quality.
Go on be a devil turn up the street and treat yourself.
Our grown-up children are now taking there partners here and we are taking our friends to enjoy the experience.
You can eat inside if you want but it just wouldn't be fish and chips if you didn't eat it on your knee sat on a bench near the harbour with seagulls waiting in anticipation.
We love it here !!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lifeboat Fishbar also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Lifeboat Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing