We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab fish and chips”
Review of Lifeboat Fishbar

Lifeboat Fishbar
Ranked #72 of 355 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Visited with the kids for tea and was really impressed. Fish was fresh and beautifully cooked, service was friendly and the place was spotlessly clean. Huge improvement on Winkin Willies the previous night!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrisons74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    19
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect fish and chips”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

was staying nearby and had to walk past it to get to the sea front....on our first night we decided to get fish and chips on the front and were soooo disappointed with what we got we chucked it away away and decided to get a take away from the lifeboat on the way back to our accomadation and we were NOT dissapointed and went on to visit a few more times as was was just a 1 minute walk away, altho tucked away this really is the best chippy in scarborough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After the disappointment of the Golden Grid the other night I followed the advice of Tripadvisor reviewers and visited the Lifeboat Fishbar and I'm glad I did. Small shop, just off the sea front with half a dozen tables in the back. I had the Haddock special at £7.60. Decent sized piece of haddock, freshly cooked (perfectly) in a light batter, chips and mushy peas, pot of tea and a slice of bread and butter. Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, prompt service. Do yourself a favour and pay a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Fish and chips ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Went here twice in three days as the quality of the fish was so good. The second time was rather spoiled as a very large family came in to eat who had no volume control! Cannot be marked down though as the dining area is small so this cannot be avoided but don't let this put you off. Also staff very helpful with young child with us

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Fish and Chips in Scarborough”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Just behind the seafront is the Lifeboat fish and Chip Cafe. Takeaway with a small cafe. The fish, which is prepared to order, is the freshest you will ever find. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Not open in winter. The shop and cafe are spotlessly clean and display a food rating of '5'. Forget the 'chip bars' on the main sea front with their greasy options this little establishment is far superior. Well done Lifeboat!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard and Cole... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lifeboat Fishbar also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Lifeboat Fishbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing