We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Duchess Pub

The Duchess Pub
Ranked #192 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: US$3 - US$19
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A friendly family pub, serving delicious home cooked food from just £2.50. 2 Meals for £10 Weds-Sat and Sunday Carvery 12-3pm. Kids eat free with each full paying adult. Any occasion catered for including weddings, birthdays, christenings, funerals etc. Ample parking available with beer garden and play area.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After reading the fantastic reviews of the Duchess my wife and I decided to pay a lunchtime visit and I'm so pleased that we did. We were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff on duty. Our food was excellent - large portions, great quality and superb value for money. This gem of a pub deserves all the praise it is given and I highly recommend it. We will be returning - very quickly!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    10
    4
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HULL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We came here for Sunday lunch yesterday and it was brilliant. The meat was perfect. The Yorkshire puddings massive and fresh . Lovely fresh veg. Staff were friendly and very smart. Great meal. Definitely be back......soon. !!!
Thank you

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere and nice staff :)”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Visited a few times when holidaying here, now live locally and like this as our local pub. Cheap and cheerful - nice for holidays and good to call in on your way home from work whether its a bar meal you're after or full Sunday carvery. Fully recommend it to travellers and locals alike. Yes there is a housing estate nearby(hence our local) but you can always look out onto the garden area if you prefer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to eat.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went to The Duchess after reading great reviews on tripadvisor whilst on a family holiday to Scarborough in October. The setting is a traditional pub and the staff were both friendly and welcoming.
The food was fantastic and as we ordered full price adult meals our two young boys got their food for free. Therefore it was also great value for money. Overall,we have nothing but praise for everyone at The Duchess and have no hesitation in recommending it as a wonderful place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
2 reviews
“Disappointing, after so many rave reviews...”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We live in Scarborough, and were looking for somewhere to take guests for a Sunday carvery, after Tripadvisor's rave reviews we settled on here.

On the plus side, staff were pleasant and friendly, and the roast beef itself was fine. Plus side ends. Perhaps it was our fault for arriving only an hour before the food stopped? All veg had clearly been there for some time, and was cold. Roast potatoes were leathery and hard, and Yorkshire puddings blackened as well as cold.

We will certainly never try this place again - not even for the scenic view of some housing estate back gardens... Eaters beware!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubberleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi D, Owner at The Duchess Pub, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Sorry to hear your experience with us was disappointing. I can assure you, our veg and roast potatoes are replenished regularly throughout the day to ensure they are fresh for all our customers whether they are the first or last. Our Yorkshire puddings are done to order and are homemade. We do have a row of houses that back onto the pub from the conservatory put unfortunately we cannot do anything about that. Apologies once again, we do hope you try us again, perhaps during the week for one of our plated meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duchess Pub also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Duchess Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing