We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, better staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe

Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe
Ranked #54 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$7
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Boddy's Cafe in the heart of Scarborough on Bar Street in the pedestrian area. The cafe has been open since 1984 but the Boddy Family have been catering since 1962 just celebrating 50 years in the business.Boddys uses only local suppliers for all there food and everything bar bread and teacakes are made on the premises which we think is quite rare these days.We pride ourselves on our fast efficient and friendly service.Why not come and sample some of our home made food and cakes all served in great surroundings.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, better staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Amazing experience. After going, you'll regret all the times you went to the Costa up the road. Try it out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maspalomas, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee shop in Scarborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Found originally by accident. Best coffee shop in Scarborough. Friendly, excellent service. Clean, plenty of tables even when busy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Medic1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Vrey pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stumbled on this place by accident. Pleased to say we were very pleased that we did find it. The variety of cakes on offer was terrific and the ones we chose were certainly up to standard. This together with helpful and friendly staff, just the job

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JungerSchwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the corporates...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We found this just around the corner from Costa which was packed and were only using the takeaway cups... Their dishwasher had broke...

So on to Boddy's which was a very pleasant surprise. For a start it's a nice place to eat and many people were there for some time just chatting. Secondly they have great cakes - both a good choice and size too. The tea came in a good size pot too (more often than not you get just a cupful).

Staff were attentive and seemed upbeat so this is a place we will return to when next in Scarborough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Fresh Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Nice clean surroundings. Good variety of food on show and comprehensive menu selection. We chose the quiche and salad, tea, a coffee and carrot cake to finish. Tasted excellent. And good value for money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Darrell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing