We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute treasure”

South Cliff Italian Gardens
Ranked #12 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just the spot to read your newspaper or a favourite book In surroundings which are sublime. It is tranquil and beautiful and a lovely contrast to the excitement of the beach.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    72
    11
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jessbloss
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“worth the walk”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

love it here, its so tranquil, you could anywhere in the world,
kids occupied themselves by catching tadpoles in the pond. great way to relax and feed the squirrels

Helpful?
2 Thank jessbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Tranquility and beauty”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just a great place to be if you enjoy classical gardens. One of many in Scarborough, this runs down form the Esplanade on the South Cliff and merits a protracted visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Mansion House Hotel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here and loved it so much I will be back soon the area is wonderful free parking and not just that its so easy to get to beach loved it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cate519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Every time we visit Scarborough we walk down through the Italian gardens and no matter what time of year we go they always look beautiful and maintained. If you have never checked them out please do. As mentioned in other reviews it can be steep in places but you can always get the cliff railway back up again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed South Cliff Italian Gardens also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to South Cliff Italian Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing